We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“heaven on an island”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
All our holiday homes have great views over Cuan Sound, this is Heather's. Birches
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
All our holiday homes have great views over Cuan Sound, this is Heather's.
Birches
Inside Gunnera
Yachts passing by Sunnybrae
The Bridge over the Atlantic on Seil
Port Mary on luing
Friendly dolphins
Our pontoon is available for guests who bring their own boat
Flipper!
Orchid
Our Bothy has laundry facilities, films to watch, ready made meals, barbeque foods etc etc
Otter on our foreshore
Dolphins in Cuan Sound
Seal
Dining area of Heron
Gunnera has a great location, as do all our holiday homes
MV Belnahua - the Luing ferry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
walkietal...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“heaven on an island”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

heaven is what this island is, my 1'st time here with my partner and we both had the the best time, the hospitality was second 2 none, the locals were all helpful and friendly, the caravan we were in was like home from home, and the views were out ov this world, we saw seals, herons, dolphins, and that was just out side our caravan, thank you 4 a wonderful stay and i do hope we will be back again real soon,xxxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sotlandsh...
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“peace and quiet, a wonderful haven for relaxation”
Reviewed 14 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd trip to Sunnybrae and we were pleased to see that nothing had changed since our last visit. We stayed in caravan 5 which has the most stunning views across Cuan Sound. The peace and tranquility are second to none and the views are breath-taking. We saw seals and otters this year which really pleased the kids. We also saw many birds including herons and geese. Mike, the owner, made us feel welcome and was always around if we needed anything. The site is well situated and as there are only 7 caravans it is very quiet. The children enjoyed skimming stones and trying their hand at fishing, sadly unsuccessfully on the fish front! Considering that my son is 14 and my daughter is 12 the simple things in life really worked well for them as they didn't pick up their mobile phones for the entire week! The weather was kind to us but it was cold at night. Beds were very comfy and cosy and the van was clean and tidy and quite spacious. Although there is a tv we barely had it turned on as we went back to basics with board games and card games. Sunnybrae is a place to relax and spend quality time with your loved ones before you head home to reality. We loved exploring the island and its history, and the car ferry is always a pleasure to ride! Thank you Mike and your Team for a lovely relaxing holiday. Before I forget, a great place to eat is the Tigh an Truish beside the Bridge over the Atlantic. Food is great and not expensive and the views are beautiful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haventabl...
Perthshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical place, total chill-out experience”
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited Luing twice, and our youngest daughter with her family once, and can honestly say there is something magical about this place. Right on the water's edge, the views, the scenery, the peace and quiet, Sunnybrae itself, all add up to the perfect break.

Best to stock up with supplies in Oban with its range of supermarkets and shops.
As Sunnybrae is within a couple of minutes walk from the ferry slip you can save a fair bit of money by parking your car for free at the North Cuan terminal and travelling over to Luing as a foot passenger. Bikes are available for hire at the site.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbun...
Nass Camp
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Sunnybrae - Our favourite holiday destination!”
Reviewed 3 November 2011 for a stay in May 2011

I found Sunnybrae by accident a couple years ago... and have returned every summer since. The dolphins, otters, and seals are always around, the caravans are awesome (# 3 is the best!!), the Bothey is filled with DVDs, books, games for the kids and crab lines that we use right from the slipway a few steps from our front door. Mike is a great host, we arrived while he was out, and we let ourselves in. He came down in the evening and made sure we were settled in and then we had total privacy the rest of the week! Also, there's nothing like a fresh egg for breakfast, they're available from the free-range hens in the garden for 1.20 for 6! What a bargain! We're coming back again next year, and the year after that. We love Sunnybrae, it's our home away from home without the stress of a long commute (we live in Glasgow, it's 3 hours by car) Highly reccommeded for anyone who likes to fish, dive, walk or read in the sunshine. New picnic tables in 2011 greatly appreciated and used every day. Dogs welcome, kids love it. So do the parents! The ferry schedule is abit of a limitation, but being on an island is such a great experience we don't mind the inconvenience one teensy bit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbyian
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“total peace”
Reviewed 5 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

we booked this for a relaxing week away and that's exactly what we got . Oban is close by with a tescos and a coop , and lots of places to eat . The caravans on the site are clean and well spaced ,each has a table and benchs. The sea is crystal clear and all the locals we spoke to were very welcoming and friendly .We would recommend this site to anyone

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprint955
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical place”
Reviewed 8 May 2010 for a stay in July 2009
1
person found this review helpful

We visited for the first time last summer and had a wonderful holiday. I always vowed never to go on the same holiday twice (and I've visited many countries around the world) but we've booked again for this coming summer. It really is such a peaceful place and the fact that it's an island (although only a 2 minute ferry crossing) does make it feel wonderfully isolated. The combination of scenery and wildlife is stunning and last summer we were lucky to get great weather too. Here's hoping for a repeat in 2010.

Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulipflo
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best !”
Reviewed 30 April 2009 for a stay in September 2008
2
people found this review helpful

This will be our 3rd visit and like Viv19 you want to keep it to yourself but you just have to spread the word ! it's peaceful, scenic, spectacular. Mike & Rosy are exceptional hosts and Rosy's blog .. read it ! The Seals, Otters, occasional Whales ...the Luing cattle..
The Ferry over to Seil, nip across to Easdale the views are brilliant and awesome. The boats/yachts gliding past the caravans... I could go on....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;