We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
291
42
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
42
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small decanter of sherry anna simon guest house perfect hosts warm welcome cd player few minutes walk breakfast was delicious lovely couple wonderful view on arrival biscuits stayed nights bed was very comfortable fresh flowers porridge town centre
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 342 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017

We found the owners very pleasant and the gardens and grounds beautiful. Close enough to town but steep hill.

Off street parking, but need to be pointed out that entry to accommodation is down steps at back if property. We are a middle aged couple and had to make several trips to unload suitcases, other bags etc, down the steps (no rails), then up the stairs to our bedroom. The owner couldn't help us as he had hurt his back. Unfortunately no ground floor rooms were available.

Our room was dated and unfortunately the bed and pillows were uncomfortable. Room was very warm and stuffy but we couldn't leave window open at night because of outside noise.

Fresh flowers in room and rooms made up each day.

After being out for a day, we came back late afternoon to find master key in our door with room unlocked - it was explained that they had to go and buy toilet paper and were going back into room soon, but even so, I think that's pretty irresponsible.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovechocolatecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017

We stayed one night at the Old Manse at the beginning of a trip to the Highlands and Islands. Simon greeted us and could not have been more welcoming. Our room was lovely, with a spectacular view of the harbor below. We were leaving early to drive to Fort William to catch a train to Mallaig (also highly recommended!) and Simon was kind enough to leave us breakfast (delicious pastries) the night before. We loved the Old Manse and you will too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank econprof_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at The Old Manse. Simon and Anna are superb hosts.They make you feel very at home and comfortable and nothing is too much trouble. Cannot fault the accomodation and surroundings. Breakfast time is a dream...Anna cooks up such a delicious array of food...spoilt for choice ..and Simon is the perfect host, providing a relaxing and very jolly atmosphere to start your day! Would not hesitate in recommending a stay at The Old Manse.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patterblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We only stayed 2 nights in this beautiful old house! I wish I had taken some photos from the garden but it was raining and I ran out of time! We had adjoining rooms with 1 bathroom. On hind sight I should have booked 2 rooms. Regardless, the rooms and bathroom are clean which is the most important. The location is good as we could just walk to the town centre. Oban is beautiful. Again I wish I had time to explore the town! Simon and Anna, our hosts are wonderful. Breakfast was good set in a beautiful dining room over looking the garden.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of September and had a lovely stay. The hosts were very friendly and offered fresh coffee on arrival.
The room was lovely and comfortable and clean but the bathroom was a little on the small size.
Breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
The views from the property were stunning just a shame our room overlooked the car park but I suppose someone has to.
It was in a perfect location just a short walk from the town which was down hill so just be prepared to walk back up hill.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lesleybudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews