We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“new year bliss”

Review of Ludgate House

Ludgate House in the sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ludgate House in the sun
All you could need in a kitchen Plenty seating in the dining kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Ludgate House in the sun
All you could need in a kitchen
Plenty seating in the dining kitchen
Cosy logburner and comfy sofas
Peebles award winning High Street
Quality furniture and luxurious bedding
Our second king sized room, with divan
A room for your little angels!
Batahroom with electric shower
Outdoor eating with BBQ
Sunny walled garden
View across the Tweed to the church
Cross Church, round the corner
Neidpath Castle beside the Tweed
Visit the four Abbeys - this is Melrose
Stunning local secenry
Traquair House is ten minutes away
Christmas at Ludgate House
Local scenery
Lyne Kirk
Churchyard at Romano Bridge
Floor Castle, a fabulous day out!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wilf C
Blairgowrie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“new year bliss”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We found ludgate house the best cottage we have ever stayed in. Alison made our New Year so special, the cottage even had a full size christmas tree up, chocs, wine and other treats were all there on our arrival, The cottage is so tastefully decorated you immediately feel at home. Every comfort is catered for. The cottage is ideally located just round the corner from the high street and all ameneties. Alison was a great person to deal with, very helpful and welcoming. What more can I say, book up and have a fab time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: not long enough stay
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAB048
Mandurah, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ludgate is more than you could wish for”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We knew from previous reviews this would be a good place to stay but had no idea just how wonderful it would be. To say this place has everything including perfect hosts is an understatement. The vases of fresh flowers, the scrumptious goodies scattered through the living area - even a choice of birthday candles for a visiting guest. Alison, Bob and Poppy made us so welcome and we're sure Oliver would have too. This place has been fitted out by someone who really enjoys making people feel special. Thank you! It would be worth a trip back from Australia just to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything including the great location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam h
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“"FABULOUS"”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Hubby and I stayed at Ludgate House in September and we were kindly met by the lovely Alison, who showed us around this fabulous house. Alison really has put some love and care into decorating this house and obviously has great taste. The house is extremely well equipped and we wanted for nothing. It really is a lovely home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole house
Liked least: not a single thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toffeeman...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay in Peebles.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We received a really warm welcome from Alison as we arrived once again at Ludgate House. The house is furnished to a very high standard and is so comfortable - a wonderful place to relax in. Everything has been provided by the owners to ensure that guests really enjoy their stay.
Being so handy for Peebles town centre with its wide variety of shops, restaurants and bars we hardly used the car all week. The Tweed Walk via Neidpath Castle is only a short distance away and offers lovely views of the surrounding countryside and is not too strenuous on the legs. Plenty of other walks in the area and the Botanic Gardens at Dawyk - only about 8 miles away - are definitely worth a visit.
Hopefully we will return to Peebles in the future and would definitely stay at Ludgate House - it's like home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of accommodation, quality of the furnishings and the central location.
Liked least: No wireless broadband.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMiller77
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word - Fantastic”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We rented this truly amazing property for a week when visiting family for a wedding in the local town of Peebles (which is a stunning, quaint and picturesque town) The house was nothing short of 5 Star accommodation, with the little touches that made our arrival ever so more enjoyable. The little ones loved their own room and the toys and children's activities supplied. We are already trying to find reasons to return and experience this wonderful house once again.
Janet, Richard and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Log fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna W
Pickering, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic retreat”
Reviewed June 14, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The house was beautiful and homely. Lots of artwork and personal touchs. A lot of time and energy had obviously gone into the decor and design of the house. The enclosed garden was very safe for our young children and they had a wonderful time. Peebles was a pretty town wit lovely river walks and we are looking to going back for another holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure and safe for the children. Beautiful interiors
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You won't find a nicer home from home in Peebles”
Reviewed May 27, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Ludgate House is simply stunning. With having a young family we try and rent properties rather than stay in hotels where ever we stay home or abroad. This affords us the freedom we would have at home and Ludgate House rates very highly on our list of rentals. We WILL definitely be returning to Ludgate House. It all starts with the excellent warm welcome of the owners and the property is truly stunning. It is lacking nothing in terms of its content and the homely touches make you feel more than at home for however long you choose to stay. The rooms are all very well equipped and spacious and the beds are as comfy as you'll find. It is tastefully decorated and the little touches of fresh flowers and local produce show you how much the owners welcome you. The host of children’s toys and DVD's available allow the children to settle in as if at home. You will quickly find that this is not your standard rental property in terms of the fixtures and fittings. The property is a little gem and a true find and judging by the comments in the 'visitors' book our sentiments are shared by many..............Now go and see for yourself and visit Ludgate House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home comforts and relaxing feel
Liked least: No wi-fi/internet access and minimal mobile phone signal at the property
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing