We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great week few pointers”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Mill House

The Mill House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mill House
Lounge with picture window overlooking the river Kitchen with French doors overlooking the river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The Mill House
Lounge with picture window overlooking the river
Kitchen with French doors overlooking the river
Sunset over the Tweed from the garden
Master Family Bedroom Kingsize Bed (+2)
Kingsize Bedroom 2 with Cot
Ground Floor Double Bedroom
Playroom / Sofa Bedroom
Garden Furniture
View from the Patio
Close up of The Mill House
Tweed Valley from Cadrona Forrest
Mill House Stone
Weather Vane
Evening in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lisalawre...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great week few pointers ”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our party had a fab week. We found there was plenty hot water. Couple of things not so good. Towels supplied were rather small so unless your child sized I would recommend taking your own. The wifi was terrible!! It only worked when you were in the kitchen. Even move to the stairwell and you lost the connection. When we arrived the "maintenance man" was there and mentioned that the swings had been damaged the week before and he would come back midweek to fix them. Never saw him again and had 2 very disappointed children with us who couldn't use them. The general appearance is lovely if you look closely yes it could do with a lick of paint and a few patio slabs could be secured down. The 3rd floor bathroom cold water tap in the sink didn't work and was very frustrating for teeth cleaning. The toilet seat in the 3rd floor bathroom is very loose also when the toilet is flushed allow at least 20 minutes for it to fill to be flushed again. The lighting in the middle floor shower room is terrible and very dim. We had a poor sighted person with us and the had great difficulty using this shower room due to the light. The down stairs toilet when flushed was like a foghorn going off and could be heard throughout the house. We had great weather except for one day but had no where outside to hang our washing out. Would we stay again? YES we would.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BecciF2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be a beautiful holiday let - shame it didn't deliver!”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We rented this house as a family base for the week prior to my wedding. After a rather challenging week prior to arrival (I broke my leg) we were all excited to finally get to the house. On first sight it is spectular and in a beautiful location. The disappointment started when we opened the front door, the entrance hall flour was dirty and there is evidently a damp problem in the down stairs toilet and hall. Again on first sight the kitchen is beautiful, it's just a shame we had to wash every piece of crockery and cookware prior to use (greasy, dirty and lipstick marks etc). Not what we needed after a long drive. As we ventured upstairs we were faced with shody paintwork and peeling wallpaper, along with dust pictures and cobwebs. Whilst the bathrooms were clean their dated suites were not helped by the mismatch of thread bare towels and bath mats. The living room offers a beautiful view its just a shame the cushions look tattie. Bedrooms well where to start, the downstairs double room off the kitchen is beautiful but feels rather damp, this is probably because of the heating issues. The third double room is large enough but the rug is very worn. The children's room with bunk beds is basic today the least with a metal frames bed that is very creaky and a basic cheap chest of drawer there is nothing matching in the room.
Overall the house was disappointing, one of our reasons for booking was there was no fuel restrictions, the rules had changed since we booked and the landlord controls the heating himself. Upon arriving the house was freezing and things didn't improve, with snow on the ground in a large house I would expect more than 0730-0900. 1200-1300, 1800-2300. After sitting for 48hrs in a cold house all with extra jumpers on we called the landlord to alter the timings, this took a lot of persuasion. He was not helpful when we suggested his property was cold and not particularly clean. Hot water, that's another issue with the house. There are two showers in the house one is electric the other is run off the boiler water tank. The tank only holds enough water to run two full bowls of water for the dishes so not enough to have a shower. The electric shower is over a bath not ideal if you have poor mobility and is on the third floor. The pressure to this shower is minimal and not sufficient. With two children under three in the property life was not fun when there wasn't enough hot water to run them. Bath.
In short this property was disappointing.
Bad points:
Cold - limited heating.
Limited hot water.
Poor shower/bath facilities.
Tired and threadbare towels and bath maths.
Dirty crockery and cookware.
Damp problems.
Worn and tired rugs and cushions.
Mix match of furniture and pictures.
Tired rooms with peeling wall paper.
Carpets tired and stained.

Good points:
Beautiful location
Soft bedding
Good selection of children's toys indoor and out.

We have stayed in many different holiday homes and this is the first one I have ever been disappointed with.

We wouldn't use this holiday let again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, well equipped but needs a lot more heat and water!”
Reviewed March 5, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful setting, lovely old building, fantastic well equipped play-room. Best equipped kitchen of anywhere we have ever stayed. Only criticism is similar to that mentioned by others; We didn't have anywhere near adequate hot water and the house was mostly uncomfortably cold (kids room registered 15'c on our baby monitor). Heating and water are controlled remotely by the owner. We did call to negotiate more heat and water but even with the increased settings we still didn't have enough hot water for the 4 adults in the group to each have hot showers each day (the 4 young kids shared a shallow bath each evening). We were then billed for extra fuel use. This would be a lovely place to stay in the summer; in February, with limited heating, it was chilly! There is an electric shower, so in theory there should always be hot water but we found this shower to be temperamental and had very poor pressure. If the shower was fixed (or fitted with a pump) and guests could control their own heat and hot water settings (even if we had to pay a coin meter) then I would rate this as a 5* holiday home. Would recommend it but would advise negotiating your fuel requirements in advance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: scenery, kitchen & play room
Liked least: Being cold and unable to have a hot shower every day.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJD73
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peebles Invasion”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Three generations of our family converged on Peebles for our annual weekend away.
We have visited different areas of Scotland over the years, always after checking Tripadvisor reviews.
It would be fair to say that the most recent from Claire B is a fair assessment of the property and location as things stand, so no need to add to that. We would have to agree also that the heating/hot water issue is something that ought to be addressed sooner rather than later. Bearing in mind that access to the property is not until 4.00pm, I think it reasonable to expect that the house be warm on arrival. On a bitterly cold winter's day, there was no discernible heat in any of the radiators until well after 4.30pm, which left us sitting in our overcoats till rooms were at an acceptable level.
We also had three young children in our party,so it was important that there was hot water on tap for toileting/nappy throughout the day, rather than on occasion.
Having said that we had a great time, and would be glad to return to this marvellous property, but only perhaps when temperatures are more favourable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness/location
Liked least: Heating/Hot water concerns
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing location. Lovely house. Needs some changes”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A group of 8 family members stayed at The Mill House for 4 nights. Booking was very easy and the owner was very good at answering an queries that we had.
The house is just as featured on the photographs. Sat right on the Rover Tweed and only a couple of miles into Peebles it was an excellent location.
Cars can be parked down the drive in a large parking area and step take you up to the main door that leads you into the kitchen.

Ground floor:
A small entrance hall to remove boots and a toilet.
The kitchen is lovely. Large and amazingly well equipped with absolutely everything you could ever need - bread machine, slow cooker, microwave, baking equipment etc. there's also a utility room with a 2nd fridge freezer, washing machine, tumble drier, iron, ironing board as well as spare light bulbs, batteries, BBQ charcoal etc!
The kitchen table easily say 8 of us and also had extending leaves for more if needed. The French windows in the kitchen were lovely allowing fresh air in and access straight into the patio where we stood watching salmon jumping.
One bedroom with a double bed Is situated just off the kitchen and is very cosy.

1st Floor
The living room is located on the 1st floor with a large window overlooking the river which was lovely. There are 3 sofas which offered plenty of room for the 8 of us. The room is very cosy with cushions and throws. There's a hi-fi in here and CD's to listen to (we didn't use this but it was a nice touch).
The TV is dated and relies on a free view box which was a a bit of a pain but it served a purpose.
We all enjoyed watching one of the DVD's provided - again a really nice touch.
Unfortunately there was no fire/wood burning stove.

The play room was great. There was a double sofa bed which the children slept on and found it to be comfortable enough. They had their own TV and DVD with loads of DVD's to watch - fabulous.
There was an abundance of games and books to keep them occupied too - what a great idea!

The shower room on this floor definitely needed updated. A pink bathroom suite and a room with no ventilation made this a very stuffy, smelly, dated bathroom - such a shame.

The top floor
The top floor has 2 double bedrooms and a room with a bunk bed.
The room with the bunk bed was small and bare. It served a purpose but I think it would be a far nicer room with a single bed, bedside table and lamp.

Both double rooms (king size beds) are very nice with very comfortable pillows and duvets. Nice furniture in both rooms but only one has hanging for clothes (which is just a clothes rail)
Both of these rooms have lovely views over the river.

The bathroom again could do with being updated. It was a beige suite - bath, sink, toilet and an over-bath electric shower. The shower was very bad with a very 'weak flow of water' and the head wouldn't stay up the riser pole, so anyone over five feet has to duck under it to use!
Again this room was very stuffy.

The lack of ventilation in both bathrooms made the upstairs of the house smell musty/damp.

Overall this is an amazing property, and apart from the bathrooms our main gripe was regarding the hot water and heating:
The hot water and heating are controlled by the owner remotely;
The heating doesn't kick in util the pre-set time of I think 5pm. Returning from a day out or spending a day in the house all we wanted was a warm house or put a fire on which we had neither!

The hot water was much the same:
it was pre-set to come on via a small hot water tank at 7:30 - 9am and again 5-6pm.
So outwith these times there's no hot water
- to wash your hands if you get up through the night
- for bedtime washes
- for a bath (even though there's one in the property
- if one has a bath then there's no further water for anyone else!
- if you wash larger dishes from in the sink there's not enough water for more than one person to then have a shower in the middle bathroom or for anyone to have a bath

The owner suggested using the electric shower in the morning but some had to use the middle floor bathroom as the shower wouldn't rise up over 5' staying up in the top floor bathroom! (That said there wasn't enough hot water in the tank for them both to shower in the middle floor bathroom either!)

All in all, height of season people are paying a lot of money for this rental and yet they have no control over the temperature of the house, and hot water is rationed!
I must say that when I spoke to the owner about it he was very pleasant, and did say that he could alter the times that the hot water came on but I wasn't able to control it myself. I had to think what times we might use it most but felt that we could only adjust the times to give us an hour or Two in the morning then again in the evening.

I would suggest that guests should be able to control it themselves, or even have a cap on the temperature... or better still to install a combi-builder for plenty of hot water. This is a property for 10 people yet enough hot water for 2!

Outside
We didnt use the gardens much due to the time if year, however they are very nice with lots of grass and right beside the river.
There's only a small childrens swing frame in the garden (no 'house' as featured in the pictures) and no outdoor furniture due to the time of year.
The Tweed is right alongside the house, and my husband organised a couple of days fishing on there; catching 1 salmon and 2 brown trout which he was very pleased with!

Kailzie gardens are a short walk away - the tea room serves delicious home made food. We only had afternoon tea but it was delicious (sat In Front of an open fire).

My daughter had a riding lesson at kailzie stables and went on a hack the next day. The owner was lovely and even asked my daughter if she wanted to stay to help out/muck out the horses which she loved.

Peebles is very nice with some nice gift shops, butcher, fishmonger, grocers and lovely off licence/wine shop (my dad and husband had a lovely ad hoc half hour in here being educated on whisky's and sampling some too!)

All in all, apart from the bathrooms and the hot water/heating situation, this is an amazing holiday rental that I would definitely recommend and return to.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for large groups, lovely views & location is perfect for biking”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely big house which sleeps 10 easily. Great reception rooms, especially kitchen which is cosy and well equipped. Bathrooms are a bit dated and showers were temperamental, but house was clean and warmed up quickly for such an old property. River views are spectacular and the location is perfect for families who enjoy the outdoors. Peebles has so much to offer for cyclists, walkers, shoppers and those who love eating out. Would recommend Glentress for all of the above!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden
Liked least: Bathrooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
828mandy
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'Amazing'”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My family and I have just returned from a week long stay at 'The Mill' and were so sorry we had to leave what i can only describe as an idilic retreat. The Mill was a truly amazing place to stay and we were only sorry we didn't book longer. The Kitchen was a fantastic part of the house which we used mostly through out the stay. We had the patio doors open constantly due to having fantastic weather the whole week. The rooms were extremely clean to a very high standard and the beds and bedding extremely comfortable and fresh. Only a couple of slight niggles, there was no hanging space for clothes other than 2 small clothes rails, 1 in master bedroom and 1 in toy room, so for those who didn't have one, basically lived out of a suitcase. The showers were not very powerful or very hot, that being said it was stated in the white book about the settings for the showers which we adhered to but it was enough for us to use. The views from the living room were amazing and the noise of the passing tweed was certainly welcome whilst sitting on the patio after a long walk. Plenty of places to visit. Endless walks through the 7 staines, bike trails, loverly gardens and even the 'Go Ape' is a must, a brilliant afternoon for all the family. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed every minuet of our time spent at 'The Mill' and Peebles and would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone. I will certainly be looking at booking again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tranquility of the surroundings and setting
Liked least: having to leave to come home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing