We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
124
20
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
20
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews including hairdryer helpful couple stay there again wonderful stay spacious room locally sourced produce friendly and helpful owners big comfy bed guest house breakfast was delicious one night off street parking wonderful hosts tea tray yogurt train station minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 144 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Very comfortableaccommodation.
Beautiful breakfast with a very good choice.
The owners went the extra mile for us driving us to a restaurant after we arrived.
Also for
a fellow guest for medical treatment.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Derek and Rena are really lovely people and they made us feel at home, it was a pleasure to share their beautiful home for a short time. Our bedroom was very comfortable and the breakfasts were superb

Stayed: October 2016
Thank patwall2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2016

I've stayed in 3 £50 a night B&B's recently, varying from the dismal in Argyllshire, to okay in Oban to this really top-notch place in Dumfries. Anyone setting up a B&B should visit Hamilton house to see how it can be done. Lovely large bedroom, everything laid out well, and once again a top-notch breakfast. Got all those little things which travellers need like hooks in the bathroom, chairs to sit in, etc . My only complaint is that room lighting makes it very difficult to read either in bed or in the chair. The best lit room is the bathroom ............., but this seems to be pretty common with many B&Bs , but at least hotels have woken up to the fact.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hugh106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016

We were visiting family in Dumfries and were welcomed by the ever accommodating Derek and the hostess-with-the-mostess Rena. Derek was a wealth of information, and Rena always had time for an interesting chat while serving the absolutely filling and delicious breakfast. The rooms were cavernous, bright and spotless, and the bathrooms were immaculate with top quality towels. It was within walking distance of everything we needed, and we will most definitely return when we are next in Dumfries!

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank Nunya-from-NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2016

We stayed just the one night on our way to the Highlands, and sound Hamilton house to be perfect for a short stay. The accommodation is first rate, very clean and with an excellent breakfast. The room we stayed in was spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. All in all, our stay was very good.

Room Tip: Nothing negative to stay. Guests won't be disappointed
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steveharris52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews