We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
124
20
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
20
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews including hairdryer helpful couple minute walk from town stay there again locally sourced produce wonderful stay friendly and helpful owners one night modern bathroom big comfy bed guest house breakfast was delicious wonderful hosts off street parking tea tray warm welcome yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 144 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful weekend away in this b&b. The owner was there to greet us and show us our room which was lovely and warm. It was spacious with a huge, comfy bed. The tea tray was well stocked and was pleased to see decaf tea there too. The shower was spacious. The only issue we had was there was only one small shower gel supplied which is only enough for one person so my husband had to use a bar of soap. Bath sheets would have been better but on this, it is only my personal taste.
The breakfast was very tasty and can’t be faulted at all. The poached eggs were perfect. We had a lovely stay here and I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sandancer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

Really nice guest house spotlessly clean with comfy beds and good sized rooms .

Owners are friendly and helpful

Breakfast is really good . Free range eggs and proper butchers sausages .

Would recommend this guest house to anyone visiting the area
You will not be disappointed

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank garydG6647OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2018

What a lovely BB - the owners were very friendly and welcoming, so helpful and even gave us a lift, a nice touch ! brilliant location a 10 min walk to town, train station even nearer. Parking is available at the back. Top marks for the breakfast, very tasty and well presented.
The rooms are big and have everything you need. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

Room tip: We stayed in a room at the front and had no problem with traffic noise
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karenflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

We stayed at Hamilton House with friends and we could not fault it any way it was excellent.
Very friendly and helpful owners who really made their guests welcome.
You are really made to feel at home, the rooms are pristine the breakfast is one of the best we have had.
There is a lounge area adjacent to the breakfast dining area.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if in the area, in fact we we may have to think of an excuse to return to the area to do so.

Room tip: As far as I understand all the rooms are similar and good
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 253phillipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed at Hamilton House for one night. Could not fault anything. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. Owners could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable going as far as offering to drive us to a nearby restaurant despite having a family function. Going to Dumfries this is the place to stay

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank thebrit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews