We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$70
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivendell B&B(Dumfries)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southpark House(Locharbriggs)
US$88
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveller rating
278
319
141
66
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
278
319
141
66
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiesreivers restaurantswimming pooltribute nightsteam room and saunaelvis tributetrouser presskippersbreakfast was buffet stylegreat weekendgolf tripcourse mealtown centrenight porterboth nightsbit datedweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 853 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Nice Hotel in a good location. Evening Meal was very enjoyable but breakfast very ordinary. The Air Conditioning in the dining room wasn't turned on for some reason so the room temperature for Breakfast/Dinner was very hot. Bar service was slow and early evening only one bar open even though there was a large screen on downstairs for the World Cup the bar was staffed!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FFBKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We stayed here for three nights in June, paying £395 for a superior double on a bed and breakfast basis. Our room was spacious and comfortable, if a little masculine, and both it and the bathroom were clean and in good condition. The hotel has 90-odd bedrooms and appears to rely quite heavily on coach trade: shortly after we booked in, three different coach parties arrived, as Dumfries is on the Burns trail. It is convenient for the train station (a 5 min walk) but slightly on the edge of town for restaurants and other attractions. The centre of Dumfries, however, is quite compact, and a 15 min walk will take you practically anywhere. Reception will arrange a taxi, and they are fairly cheap. We never paid more than £5, including tip.The hotel has a car park at the rear.

There is a small bar on the ground floor, but it was not much used by guests.

Breakfast, in a comfortable dining room, was of the buffet variety, but staff were efficient and helpful and the standard of the food consistently good. The coach parties all seemed to breakfast early, and at 9:00 am we had the room almost to ourselves, with no visible diminution in service or quality.

Dumfries has a number of good quality restaurants, and we ate out each evening. It is a charming little town with an attractive riverside (do visit the museum on the other side of the river - it has a camera obscura which will amaze you) and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your excellent feedback as you highlighted the hotel is very busy with tourists and I was pleased to find that standards of customer service were maintained even at the busiest times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night after celebrating our wedding in the Solway Suite in the hotel. Everything was perfect. The staff, especially Janet & Sophie were so helpful and helped make our wedding the best day ever. Food delicious and the room we stayed in was lovely. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a perfect intimate family wedding

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Diane, I was pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent wedding in the hotel.
I'm sure that Janet and Sophie will be delighted to have been specially mentioned and to hear your wedding was the "best day ever"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

Only booked into this hotel as we were attending a friend’s wedding & the rest of the party were staying here. It’s like a warren inside when you try & find any of the other rooms, bit of a hike from the car park with luggage, & although our room was small & dated it was clean & sufficient for our needs. I phoned during the week prior to the Saturday to enquire if we could get access to our room around 12 so we could relax after our journey. I was told 1pm would be the earliest we could book in & if we wanted earlier access it would cost extra ? As it happened we arrived at 12.30 & our room was ready ? I had breakfast on the Sunday morning before leaving & it was disappointing, we didn’t have a lot of time & the buffet type breakfast only works if somebody keeps restocking the supplies which didn’t happen. I am unable to recommend this hotel as it doesn’t take much to arrange to have the room you have booked to be cleaned a little early to assist guests without charging extra !

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ochayehamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Nice large hotel with a gew creaky floor boards, they have 2 private spaces to park the coach around the back. The lovely lady at reception needs a speacial mention as she was so proffessional and amazing with all the guests, her name is vaida and she was so great. Hope she gets a pay rise as i feel she went over and above the call of duty, i could over hear her as i was sat watching football world cup in the reception area. THANK YOU all for making our stay plesent.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ennapatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thank you for your excellent feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. I was particularly pleased to hear how Vaida went over and above the call of duty to ensure you had an enjoyable stay and I'm sure she'll be delighted to read the contents of your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews