We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,163)
Filter reviews
1,163 results
Traveller rating
499
398
147
74
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
398
147
74
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aston hotel crichton church university campus easterbrook hall executive room modern extension hotel is situated beautiful grounds lovely location buffet style old building restaurant staff sat nav the ground floor reception staff first class dining room
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,163 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

Just had a rewards night here
Stunning surroundings
Very helpful and friendly staff
Only prob was room was like a fridge
We had to get a portable heater
On check out i heard a number of complaints about heating also
We had room service and the food was great value
Could of been even better value as they forgot to add it to my invoice for room,but being an honest Scotsman i told them there error
Should get some extra points as a thanks for this?
Would def stay here again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lfcmad2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Set in beautiful grounds this hotel is perfect for a stop over. The room was spacious and the bathroom modern.
We didn't have dinner but the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.
Being on the edge of town it is easy to get back on to the A75 without having to go through the centre.

Room Tip: on the ground floor we were still very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Just stayed at this hotel for a stopover on the way to Loch Lomand, very friendly and efficient check in by Alex, made us feel very welcome, large spotlessly clean rooms, good evening meal, followed by great buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Executive rooms well worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CSW234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

Holiday Inn Dumfries is probably pretty typical of this brand apart from the setting the hotel is partly a historical building but sadly with a horrible modern extension.
The rooms are quite small I found our twin room(2 guys) the beds set as a double with no space between them not really a twin. I didn't bother to complain just moved the beds apart as far as possible and that was no more than 50cm
Apart from that room was pleasant enough nice shower room
Breakfast was good the staff were just ok and the service pretty impersonal

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank VIncent210949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Hi VIncent210949!

Thanks for going out to your way to share your experience and choosing to stay at our hotel. Although your stay was satisfactory on most part, we regret to learn about your dismay on the expanse of our rooms.

We are committed to bring true hospitality to life, everyday. That said, your comments are passed on to our hotel management as a material in our continued enhancements.

Again, thanks for the feedback, and we hope to see you soon so we can provide you with an improved experience.

Many thanks,

Gian M
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

A last minute booking but what a great find. The receptionist was very friendly as were the staff in the restaurant. The room was fantastic - large and clean and great views over Crichton park - a superb place for pre-dinner walk. Peaceful and great to overnight in.

However, the food was overpriced and not the best. The burger was well overdone and had to be sent back. Given that - the staff were responsive and didn't hesitate to re-do and the second version was much better. The head lady was very good in following up on it as well. The breakfast was very good.

I would stay there again but possibly eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tuftykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews