We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house and very welcoming”
Review of Rivendell B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rivendell B&B
Ranked #10 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and were very pleased. The room (number 5) was very large with a beautiful wooden 4 poster bed. The house was full of Art Deco features which were beautifully displayed. Excellent breakfast, chosen the night before so you couldn't change your mind on the morning. The house was a little too far from Dumfries town itself to be able to walk in, probably ok if it's nice weather, but it wasn't!

Plenty of parking for the car.

Towels changed daily.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAMMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

Rivendell was our first stop on a driving tour of Scotland and Bruce set a high standard for his peers. The property is picturesque, the rooms spacious and spotless and the food of a high standard. Although we arrived without a booking,Bruce was a gracious host. He shared a welcome drink with us on arrival and he sent us off with concise and easy to follow directions for our journey north. He even understands Australian humour!

Sandra, New South Wales, Australia

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We called the B&B from down the road about 6.00pm and were lucky enough to secure accommodation as the property was otherwise fully booked. Our room was large, spacious and well-equipped - the ensuite bathroom even had a bath tub! The owner was happy to provide information and give directions to the services we required (ie. bank, dinner venue & laundry to wash our clothes). He even gave us travel directions to our next town, including a pub along the route that he recommended for lunch. The property was a large B&B with multiple rooms and operated more like a small, private hotel - the spacious and well-appointed rooms enabled us to enjoy our stay in comfort and privacy. Breakfast was ordered in advanced and served promptly at our own individual table. The served breakfast was of high quality. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rtm7276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I apologize to Bruce for taking this long to write our review! We rented out the whole B&B for our wedding party the nights before our wedding. Bruce was great about getting back to me with all the "pre-wedding" questions and answers, and accomodating all my extra requests - even letting us move around the breakfast tables for a makeshift hair and make-up salon!

Breakfasts were delicous, we especially loved the mushrooms and the eggs were perfect (bright yellow - how they are supposed to be)! We walked into town easily as a group and enjoyed the bars and pubs of Dumfries.

I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed only 1 night as we were going to visit friends further north. We arrived a bit later than planned and the door was locked. We telephoned the number Bruce had left on the door and he kindly told us how to work the keypad and we could let ourselves in as he was doing his shopping when we phoned. The room was large but the decor was dark and the furniture was dark wood so it seemed the whole room was dark and had to put lights on. The bed was so comfortable and good selections of tea/herbal and normal coffees and hot chocolate. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was delicious. We would defininately recommend the Rivendell and would definately like to return some day. Well done Bruce.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms at the back look onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annbobSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

good welcome from bruce, checked in @13.00hrs, lovely en suite room,super deco and spotless, good selection of tea n coffees, very comfortable bed, breakfast was freshly cooked, served quickly, great idea to make your choice of breakfast the night before, and nothing seemed to be a problem, would recommend this b&b, worth it,s 4* rating, we will defonitely be going back again, jim young

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmybyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The house is beautiful, the service is friendly and welcoming, the rooms are huge with lovely furniture and are well equipped. Excellent value for money. My boyfriend and I have stayed twice at Rivendell and will definately be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,079 reviews
3.3 km away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
329 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
9.4 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
1.1 km away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#18 of 52 in Dumfries
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell B&B

Address: 105 Edinburgh Road, Dumfries DG1 1JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $82 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome and comfortable stay is guaranteed at this striking Charles Rennie Macintosh inspired Arts and Crafts Mansion situated in mature, award winning grounds close to Dumfries town centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to the highest standards. Drying facilities and secure storage is available for cyclists, golfers and walkers. We have free Wi-Fi connection and multi channel digital television in all of our bedrooms. We also have a large secure car park. We are easy to locate and an ideal base for touring the historic and scenic Dumfries and Galloway Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Rivendell B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell B&B Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing