We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent in every way - all cottages should be...”
other travellers have booked this property
Shorepark Cottage on the edge of Glencaple village sleeps 1 to 6 people.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shorepark Cottage on the edge of Glencaple village sleeps 1 to 6 people.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Shorepark Cottage on the edge of Glencaple village sleeps 1 to 6 people.
Snug Bedroom
Sunset on the river nith
Nautical Bedroom
View from the window seat
Sunset over Criffel from Shorepark
The old part of the cottage dates back to the 1800's
En-suite bedroom
Bathroom
Garden View of River and Criffel
Woodburner with Tartan Armchair
Kitchen/Dining Area
Dining Area with view of River Nith
Front Patio Area
Lounge View of Criffel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JaneS2489
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way - all cottages should be like this”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a 4 day break with my husband and daughter and found the accommodation to be fantastic. Obviously there's the view - never mind the weather it is just lovely. The cottage is very high spec........and high tech. My daughter loved the Wi-Fi and Netflix in every room, it's a wonder we ever got her out! We tried the local pub and coffee shop which were both very good and the shop is very handy too. There's lots of information in the cottage about local things to do or you could always ask Dave and Kathleen. Altogether we had a great time and have already recommended it to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for the great review. Really pleased you all had a enjoyable break at Shorepark. You were all the perfect guests. Please come back and have another relaxing break. Kathleen and Dave.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy N
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great cottage, sublime location, excellent hosts”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We enjoyed a family weekend, followed by an extended business stay with colleagues. The kids loved the cottage, the views were wonderful, we loved the garden and the property was equipped to a very high standard.

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed as we were shown around the cottage, we appreciated the milk in the fridge and the cold beers on arrival.

We walked up the street and had dinner one night in the pub (The Nith Hotel) which was family friendly.

The hosts kindly suggested some beaches for us to visit and we plumbed for Powillimount Beach, approx 10 miles away along the coast, a deserted shell beach, which we loved!

We would definitely stay again. it was warm, comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2016
Thank you for coming to stay at Shorepark. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review. We look forward to your return.
Kathleen and Dave.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW0151
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning property with fantastic views”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Shore park holiday cottage has been beautifully finished to a high standard throughout. The underfloor heating keeps the property very comfortable and the wood burners add extra warmth and coziness in the cooler months.
The owners have thought of everything to ensure a relaxed and enjoyable stay and the welcoming touches add to what is already first class accommodation.
The view from the living room window is spectacular even in poor weather and you never tire of looking at it.
Set in a peaceful location within a few minutes walk of a local shop, tea room and hotel (both serving lovely food) Shore Park is within easy reach of Dumfries.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Thank you for staying at Shorepark
It was a pleasure to accommodate your family.
Come back soon.
Kathleen and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T
Thurso, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A very friendly welcome to a beautifully renovated cottage. This is a fantastic holiday cottage in the most picturesque and tranquil of settings.
If you are looking to escape and unwind in very comfortable, serene and scenic surroundings, then look no further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is immaculate and the setting is idillic.
Liked least: No issues at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you James it was a pleasure hosting you all.
Kathleen and Dave.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz L
Newton Mearns
1 review
“Beautiful luxurious home! ”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely stay here in April.
A beautiful home, finished to such a high standard, extremely clean with modern decor. Amazing views... and the wood burner and underfloor heating an added bonus!
Owners were extremely helpful and welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Thanks Liz. It was a pleasure hosting you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsey M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful luxury cottage”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in this cottage for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! The cottage is done out to the highest standards, it's beautifully furnished, has underfloor heating, a modern kitchen, luxury products in the bathroom and every room is cosy and comfortable. We spent hours sitting in the living room enjoying the beautiful view across the Nith. This was by far the nicest self catering place I've ever stayed in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thanks Lynsey it was great having you. Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniPenn...
2 reviews
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Shorepark for New Year 2015 and what a stay it was! We were welcomed to the cottage by David & Kathleen were so warmly.
The cottage is immaculate in condition and we found no fault at all. The cottage had all the kitchen utensils and supplies that you would need and is not short of storage space.
Each room is decorated very tastefully and makes you feel very at home and at ease. The bathrooms are of luxury hotel standard and had lovely products supplied.
We arrived in the dark so the spectacular view was waiting for us the next morning. The full length windows frame the view and make it picture postcard.
The cost per night of the cottage is fantastic value for money. It's a luxury cottage at a very reasonable price. David & Kathleen should be so proud of their achievement and have a great eye for interior design.
We can't recommend Shorepark highly enough. We have already booked to go again as we feel in love with the cottage. The

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
Thank you so much. Looking forward to meeting you at the end of the year.
Dave and Kathleen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing