We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by smokers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gretna Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gretna Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Let down by smokers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, the rooms are rustic and clean, the food is very good with polite staff who genuinely care about your experience.
However, they need to amend their smoking areas. The two main front doors are basically a collection point for smokers, as soon as a door is opened, the stench of smoke wafts in....not good. Enjoying a drink or a meal is spoiled by this, I wouldn't return simply for this reason! Shame really, we really liked the actual hotel, and would return if this issue was sorted.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank snowysfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    268
    175
    97
    117
See reviews for
185
460
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed for one night at the Gretna Hall Hotel last weekend when I had to go up to Gretna to collect paperwork for our impending marriage.The hotel is very old but very charming, the rooms are clean and well furnished the staff very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. I got this room at a very good rate and it was certainly worth the money and more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed at Gretna Hall about 4 years ago and enjoyed it then.This time even better they have a deal on a Sunday night which is worth twice the cost you pay.The hotel has been updated the lounges are now much better,roooms clean and tidyfurniture a little dated but you must remember it is 3* and you are paying 3*prices.Food very good as are the staff Nothing to much trouble.The gretna shopping outlet is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanRWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Arrived first impressions were good until we were given our room!! Room was dark very small windows were black with damp and didn't shut properly, radiator wasn't workin bathroom was very old and needed a good clean as well as updating. Walls were black and mouldy as well as furniture in the rooms! This was a cheap break but not one to be recommended. Food however was good!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gretna Green hotels

Ham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend of 16-18 March and received a great deal for dinner, bed and breakfast. Have stayed here many times before. From check in to check out all the staff were very friendly. We were given a warm welcome and could not fault the service provided.
We were given room 123 on the first floor. The room was clean with the usual facitilites provided. The bed and the pillows were first class - really comfy. The breakfast was excellent especially the haggis. At dinner the food was very good and I really enjoyed the menu on the Saturday evening - did struggle with choice on the Friday but thats just down to personal taste. Overall a very good stay.
Now for the not too good. Room 123 was a bit on the small size but my main concern was the state of the window which I felt was unsafe to open. It really needs some serious attention as it has completely rotted through.
However, this would not stop me staying here again in fact I have booked for another weekend in May.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor at the front of the hotel with door leading onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We decided to book the Gretna Hall hotel as an overnight stop on our way from the Scottish Highlands back to South Wales. If we had been stopping for more than one night I would have asked for a room change, The window looked out onto a wall about 8 feet away giving us virtually no natural light (and certainly no view) and the shower over the bath was more of a 'light drizzle' than a shower. The room was generally clean and tidy with the usual facilities, complimentary toileteries, refreshment tray and a flat screen TV and the beds were comfy. Dinner was very good with a reasonable menu and breakfast was buffet style with an excellent selection to choose from. This is probably a hotel that I would use again, but I would make sure that I specified the type of room I required.

Room Tip: Be specific about the type of room you require when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

My husband and I had a one night stop at the Gretna Hall Hotel. We enjoyed our stay, having been before we new what to expect but decided to have the D.B.B option this time, we were not disappointed the food was excellent all fresh and cooked perfectly I had the venison (could not fault it at all.) we retired to the bar and sat by the window looking out onto the beautiful view over the lake district fells so relaxing and peaceful considering you are not far from the M6.
The hotel has a charm about it a little tired in places but clean.The rooms are adequate for a short stay in need of a makeover but still a good stop off point.We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobylou1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.3 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.0 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Hall

Property: Gretna Hall
Address: Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gretna Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gretna Hall Hotel is an ideal setting for your leisure break thanks to its great location, charm and character. Originally built in 1710 as a manor house, our hotel, set in 10 acres of beautiful gardens offers all the character of a substantial historical building with all the facilities you would expect from a leading contemporary hotel. We cater for weddings, family celebrations, business meetings and overnight stays and a very warm welcome awaits you at Gretna Hall Hotel whatever your reason for visiting us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gretna Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Hall Green
Gretna Hall Hotel Green
Gretna Hall Gretna Green, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing