We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect venue, ideally situated”
other travellers have booked this property
The West Wing - South facing Sea View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The West Wing - South facing Sea View
The Dining Hall Fireplace The Dining Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The West Wing - South facing Sea View
The Dining Hall Fireplace
The Dining Hall
The Kitchen - well equipped for large parties !
Views from the Master Bedroom Suite
The Kids Room with adult size bunks
The sunken garden
The Knockbrex House
Views from the Lounge
the Garden
The Walled Garden - sheltered & secure play area
Coastal views
Galloway Forest
Local walks
Sailing in Kirkcudbright Bay
Kirkcudbright Harbour - fresh fish daily!
Historic Kirkcudbright - The Artists Town
Lots of Castles to explore!
Dark Skies - amazing star gazing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
888dcb888
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect venue, ideally situated”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Me, my wife and our friends visited The West Wing over a long weekend from Thursday to Sunday and we couldn't have chosen a better location for our countryside getaway. The building itself is absolutely stunning, with ample parking, outside seating, wood shed and BBQ. The standard of cleanliness and living provisions are top notch. Internet, Sky TV but most importantly incredible views included as standard. A short walk from some of the world's most unspoiled and picturesque beaches there is plenty for hikers, cyclists and wildlife enthusiasts to get their teeth into. Star gazing, walk to ice cream farm and kayaking were particular highlights. I couldn't rate this beautiful venue more highly and the only downside was that we didn't stay longer. Till next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Liked least: Light drizzle one afternoon
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWenz
1 review
“What a view!”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

West Wing met all our expectations. We were 3 adults and 3 children and the house had space for us all to spread out. We spent a fantastic week cycling, beach combing, walking and cuddled up watching TV when the weather closed in! A home from home!
The house is well equipped and the log burning stove is really efficient and easy to light. We enjoyed afternoon drinks outside in the sun and the sea view was great from every room.
But the best thing was the beds. All of us had great nights sleep and didn't want to get up!
Thank you. We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizM875
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at the West Wing! It was perfect for our group - spacious, comfortable and very peaceful. Everything is of a very high standard. We loved our time there and had conversations of returning at a different time of year. The house is well thought-through in terms of lay out and preparation for guests to arrive - for example, the fire was all set to be lit, and the grill pans already lined with tin foil! Only downside is not being able to cross the front green to access the beach directly, but this was more than compensated for by the rest of the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace N
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace, tranquilty, cleanliness & beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband & I enjoyed a week's holiday here after our daughter's wedding in July. It was exactly what we needed, the house is excellent both for couples & families,lots of space, stunning bedrooms, loads of children's games & toys, large kitchen & dining room, lovely views especially from the upstairs lounge & 3 of the bedrooms. There are lovely gardens to sit in & the nearby towns of Kirkcudbright, Castle Douglas & Gatehouse of Fleet are all worth a visit & good golf courses to play especially Brighouse Bay which is on the coast with stunning views. We had beautiful weather apart from one day when it rained. A car is essential & not suitable for disabled access but can truly recommend this superb property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was the fourth year in a row myself and 3 colleagues spent a week here.

Everything is of a very is of a high standard, the views are excellent and everything you could want is provided.

It comes highly recommended from me, you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Earlston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in comfort!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A lovely holiday house with everything you would hope for. Lots of kitchen utensils, a smashing stove, really comfy beds and powerful showers. It even passes Nicola's sofa test - if it rains you won't mind slopping around on buddha bags and sofas. It's just over the hill from Cream of Galloway so very well positioned for families. Beach is a short walk and the shoreline is interesting with a daft "toy fort" just out of sight. One disadvantage..the kids can't play on the grass to the front of the house. One advantage..neither can anyone else's kids!!! In May the bluebells in the verges were really spectacular, even in the drizzel. I would love to see the house in sunshine to make use of the sunken garden. A real wee sun trap. We hope to be back soon.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing