We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”

Forgan's Broughty Ferry
Ranked #51 of 424 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Description: A modern restaurant with a traditional Scottish heart. We're passionate about tasty seasonal food, fine local produce and super friendly service.
Restaurant details
Description: A modern restaurant with a traditional Scottish heart. We're passionate about tasty seasonal food, fine local produce and super friendly service.
Reviewed May 19, 2018

A local venue for us and a lunchtime visit. Very friendly and attentive staff with a range of indoor and outdoor (great weather today) seating. Lovely range of foods to choose from and the atmosphere throughout was calm and relaxed. Definitely will be coming back.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kmcconville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
events285, Manager at Forgan's Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

Hi kmcconville,

Many thanks for your recent review, myself and the team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your first visit with us! I'm glad you were able to make the most of the sunny weather and you enjoyed your meal and our service! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not-too-distant future!

Many thanks again,

Claire

Sales & Events Co-Ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 565 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

Totally and utterly shocked at my £9 white wine spritzer last night! £8.25 for white wine and £0.75 for the splash of soda!!!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank PREDDY974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
events285, Manager at Forgan's Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Hi Pippa R,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your recent visit didn't meet your expectations, and I will be sure to pass on your feedback regarding our drinks pricing to our Beverage Team for further consideration. We do hope you'll visit us again in future.

Kind Regards,

Claire

Sales & Events Co-Ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

This Was Beyond Perfect. Wonderful surroundings, food, atmosphere, staff & Entertanment. A real Gem.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank murray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
events285, Manager at Forgan's Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Hi murray m,

Many thanks for your review, myself and the team are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time with us and enjoyed every aspect of your visit! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Many thanks again,

Claire

Sales & Events Co-Ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

The restaurant is hidden behind a nondescript laneway type entrance. The entrance area is a bar which is good for pre-dinner drinks or just drinks. Restaurant is further in and deceptively large with a very un-scottish décor, quite hip really. It is a busy place and consequentially it's a bit noisy. Service fast and friendly. Good menu range and serves quite reasonable. fair to middling wine list and prices a bit on high side, however, highly recommended for a fun night out

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dudley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
events285, Manager at Forgan's Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Hi Dudley S,

Many thanks for your recent review, we are delighted to hear you would highly recommend us and you enjoyed your evening here! We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!

Many thanks again,

Claire

Sales & Events Co-Ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

Forgan's is a very uniquely decorated restaurant with a bar area. It has bothies available which can be closed off from the main restaurant for a more private dining experience. The menu has a good choice and the food is tasty and beautifully presented. It is on the more expensive side and some of the dishes are not sufficient quantity for the price charged. The staff are friendly but our drinks order took some time in coming. Live music was just starting as we left which was handy as talking over the sound would be difficult.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
events285, Manager at Forgan's Broughty Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Hi kevin b,

Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and found plenty of choice on our menu! I will raise the feedback points you have made here for further discussion at our next management meeting, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Many thanks again,

Claire

Sales & Events Co-Ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forgan's Broughty Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Forgan's Broughty Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing