We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from Dundee city centre and about 5-10 minutes walk from the cultural quarter and lots of decent pubs and restaurants. The waterfront project which is ongoing will make this area very desireable in the near future, with the new leisure facilities and the Victoria and Albert Museum nearby, so the hotel is ideally placed for entertainment. Dundee city has improved vastly over the last 10 years or so and I believe cleaner and friendlier than other Scottish cities, but as it is a bit smaller .
Hotel exterior is modern but similar to a lot of modern buildings that are going up these days. Interior is fresh and bright and has a link to Gellatly St. car park to the rear which provides reasonable value secure parking, which is a lot cheaper than in other cities such as Edinburgh. Rooms are basic and freshly decorated, although our room did have some pink mould in the shower and also the coffee cups were not clean and I had to wash them. There were no comments cards in the room. For a fairly new hotel, there were quite a few marks on the walls and carpets. Check-in was quick and the lady on reception was very friendly and efficient. The room we had overlooked the front of the hotel and although the road outside is very busy all the time, the windows were good and kept the noise out, although the room got hot so we had to keep the window open for a bit. The bed was soft but comfortable, with good linen. The shower was powerful and there was shower gel and soap provided. The breakfast buffet had a small variety but it was ok. A lot of stuff ran out when I went down for breakfast, and it didn't look as if it was being checked often enough, but for the price it was ok. Reception had a vending machine for snacks and an ice machine. Unfortunately I couldn't request a double room when I booked directly with the hotel, which is a bit poor if you ask me, but I requested one in the comments box and I was given a double, so that was ok. So all in all a good budget hotel perfect for a sightseeing break or weekend in Dundee.

Room Tip: I stayed in a back room before and it looked over Gellatly Street multi story car park. I had the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DnJDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    251
    138
    55
    30
See reviews for
98
186
38
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee with a group of friends in October and had an excellent nights stay at this hotel.
On arrival the staff were very friendly, the blonde girl on reception was very helpful, and advised us on good nightclubs to go in Dundee, which proved great advice!
The location was fantastic, right in the heart of the city centre and a 5 minutes walk from the bus station. I would recommend the City Harbour Chinese buffet across the road from the hotel, it was fantastic!
The room was very clean and well decorated. We stayed in a 4 persons room which we initially thought would make it cramped, but it was no at all.
The night we stayed we had some trouble with other people staying in the hotel. We phoned reception and within a minute the night manager had resolved the situation. This therefore made us feel really safe staying in the hotel. Due to the trouble we had, the hotel let us check out later than 11am free of charge.

Overall this hotel provided the perfects night stay, great location, helpful staff and just a great overall experience, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mad_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I usually love Holiday Inn Express as you know you're going to get value for money, but this one has the worst, spongiest beds I have ever encountered anywhere, surprising as it's a fairly new hotel - looks like they skimped on the mattresses! Perhaps if you're alone or in twin beds they're fine, but my husband & I hardly got a wink of sleep as every time one of us moved the other was dislodged ( and before anyone asks, we're very average size and build!) We asked after the first night if we could change rooms, but the receptionist told us that all the beds were the same. If we hadn't had a busy day ahead we would have checked out, but we put up with a second sleepless night and left yawning the next day. A real shame, because we visit Dundee 4 or 5 times a year and this is very central with very nice staff - but that's not much use if you can't sleep, so we won't stay again. Back to the Travelodge on the Kingsway for us!

Room Tip: Don't expect to sleep comfortably in a double bed with someone else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaybabeArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

we use holiday inn express regularly mainly gateshead and glasgow and love the simplicity of the whole experience, from check in to check out it is all very user friendly.we arrived at this hotel around 7pm on friday 16 dec 2011 check in was very slick and friendly as we have come to expect,unfortunately the receptionist was let down by his female colleague when on being asked what time the bar closed replied 11pm unless we were staying in the hotel which i thought was rather obvious as she had just seen us check in,when i explained we were she then informed us it would be down to the night porters discretion,when i asked what measurement he used to decide she informed me it was" if he was busy or not " ,given the time of year and the financial climate i found this reply breathtaking and would urge whoever is responsible for this person to sort it out before she does any real damage this is a quality product please dont let the odd bad apple spoil it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two nights first weekend of December with my family, services was very good and all the staff were very helpful, kudos and keep it up, they made our stay worth while. Very clean the only thing is the room didn't have a fridge but other than that good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokuz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

You know exactly what you are going to get with an Express, and this place delivers: OK sized room; clean bathroom; hot powerful shower; decent breakfast. A recommended choice when visiting Dundee.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair_07506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick on Tweed, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

i stayed here with my mum and step dad bank holiday august , the price was great for the time of year ,rooms were good so was the breakfast but sadly my mum took ill but the staff went out of their way to do everything they could to help from ringin for a doctor to phonin an ambulance when she got worse the poor lad that was on duty the monday we left even gave us his lunch box incase my mum was sick on car journey home ,i wish i had taken time to get the staffs names but at time things were a bit hectic but to them all i would like to say a huge thankyou unfortunatly the lunch box went in the bin but hopefully we will be back to stay again ,keep up the good work

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.2 km away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
6.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
7.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Address: 41 Dock Street, Dundee DD1 3DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dundee 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Dundee is a stylish hotel offering an inclusive Express Start breakfast with hot options. Within the hotel there is free wireless internet access throughout. All 95 bedrooms offer freeview television, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer and power shower. Holiday Inn Express Dundee is perfectly located in the heart of Dundee City Centre just a 5 minute walk from both Discovery Point & RRS Discovery and HM Frigate Unicorn. For sports fans Holiday Inn Express Dundee is within easy reach of the Dundee International Sports Centre as well as Dundee United Football Club and Dundee Football Club. The hotel is perfectly situated for the Train Station and Bus Station and only a 5 minute taxi journey to Dundee Airport. For the keen golfers the Holiday Inn Express Dundee is well situated for Open Championship golf courses such as St Andrews and Carnoustie. The hotel has 2 great value meeting rooms which are modern, informal and ideal for presentations, interviews and training. Everything you need is included from audio visual and projection equipment to stationery. Buffet lunch and snacks can be arranged at an additional cost. Parking is available in the nearby Gellatly Street Council Car Park with an access bridge direct to reception from level 3 of the car park. Parking is free between 6 pm and 8 am with charges applicable outwith these times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Hotel Dundee
Dundee Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing