We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
40
37
12
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
37
12
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reading room games room shared bathroom no lift stone stairs caird hall city centre location is excellent railway station a great stay good size internet towels facilities fridge
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 99 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2017

I stayed in the double room upstairs, ensuite.
I didn't use the kitchen nor did I even see it.
So I didn't fully immerse myself in the hostel way of life - but it was comfortable for the price.
The location was fantastic - right on the high street.
I was there for 1 night, prior to the Dundee marathon - the hostel were kind enough to look after my bag while I ran. After the race - I picked up by stuff and went to the hotel.
The staff are friendly.
Just remember to bring your own towel. £5 cash refundable for the keycard.
Also, be prepared to climb stairs - there are quite a lot of stairs (no lift).

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

The location is great in the city center. The hostel is an interesting structure. It has plenty of space to cook, read, relax, etc. The staff, however, are useless and do not seem to know what they are doing nor seem to know the area very well. They could not help me very well with where I wanted to go. They also charge a high key deposit that they did not give back to me. I would not go back unless they hired more professional staff.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank FranzKafk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2017

Spent 2 nights in a single room - really pleased I spent the extra and not went into a dorm. My fellow travellers were, to put it bluntly, ignorant! But the Hostel has a great central location and all the facilities one needs. A lot of stairs so need to bear that in mind if one has heavy bags, did not bother me. Guy behind reception was Okay and helpful. Kitchen was always untidy with blocked sinks and nowhere to keep anything as all the cupboards, fridge etc were full. If I smiled, spoke or anything to any of the fellow travellers they either ignored me or looked at me as if I was an alien. Come on we don't all travel in groups!.
Would I go back defo on my own a single room not much more than a dorm, with someone else yes a dorm. But please sort the kitchen out, tidy it up and unblock those sinks.
A Hostel well worth the money and to visit, the ground floor is quirky the top half is newer, just bear in mind no lift and a lot of stairs.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
1  Thank Kairlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

I was in this hostel the last week. I'm from Barcelona but actually I'm living in Edinburgh and I'm traveling as much as I can to all Uk. From all the hostels that I was in this last 20 months this is the best.
The staff was really helpful and approachable all the time (I would like to mention Piotr, Miko and Miriam). They were lovely. I had a problem with my camara's charger and Miko and Piotr got me his and I could took pictures.. thank you so much for your help guys!. Miriam told me a lot of recommendations to do in Dundee and in Stonehaven.. and I had an amazing days.

The rooms are really clean and the mattress comfortable.
The localization was perfect, next to the bus stations and in the city center.
Also this hostel has a readingroom, gameroom, more then one leavingroom, sofas, TV with subtitles, the kitchen has a lot of accesories and all clean (I was really lucky that I was with roomates ...)

Yes, for the customer service and for all that the hostel has ... 5 stars!

I Rreally recommend this!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

Cheap, great value for money, £40 for 2 nights in my own room. Shared bathroom facilities but at that price you cannot complain. Am sure I will be back there again. Bring ur own towel as they dnt seem to supply them. Secure lock at bottom door, friendly staff and a security card to get in and out your room.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews