We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, entertaining host!”
Review of Cullaig Guesthouse

Cullaig Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cullaig Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 22 Dundee B&B and Inns
British Columbia
2 reviews
“Charming, entertaining host!”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cullaig Guesthouse in Dundee! This was largely due to Chris, the charming and most entertaining host. It was obvious that he genuinely cares about his guests and people in general. And what a cook! Breakfasts were extremely good and we were so glad we booked an evening meal prepared by this talented guy! This turned out to be a great idea as we had no vehicle - the hill is fine for walking down but could be a bit challenging going back up to the guesthouse on a full stomach! The meal Chris prepared for us was far better than anything we would have found in the town - and a huge portion. How I managed to finish my "mountain of mashed potatoes" I will never know! We also appreciated the suggestions he made for places to go - especially the local bus trip we took to St. Andrews and to Broughty Ferry for that fantastic icecream!
My talent for finding supberb bed and breakfasts came through once again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrayridgeTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I stayed at the Cullaig guesthouse for 3 nights in May 2011. The location is fairly central in a quiet area, with a nice view downhill towards the shore. The rooms are in excellent condition, and scrupulously clean. The meals use high-quality ingredients, with a wide choice. But what really made an impression on me was the standard of service, and the personal touch supplied by the host (Chris) who also does all the cooking. It makes a real difference when your host is someone who genuinely likes people! I would certainly go back again, and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: It's uphill: drive/taxi if carrying luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkWellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Comfortable, clean. Parking in the lane behind. Very friendly hosts who spent a lot of time at breakfast narrating stories and local info. We felt that we understood Dundee quickly. Great breakfast, included porridge, rarely available in other places in Scotland in October. Easy to get to main roads out of town.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Hospitality of the best. Breakfast exactly as you like including my muesli/porrige mixture.
Quiet haven to return to in the evening after what was always a stressful day. Thanks for everything, Chris and Marie.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz4538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Shouldn’t really do this because don’t want Cullaig Guest House to be fully booked when I need it, but Chris and Marie deserve it. I and my colleagues work in Dundee on a regular basis and this is always our first choice. Always a warm and friendly welcome, clean and comfortable rooms and a breakfast to die for! Just returned from a weeks stay and going back shortly. New carpets will be fitted by then so will have to take my slippers. Home from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobtheGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Decore was dated but clean. Bed was comfortable with crisp linen and the owners are everything you would want in hosts. Breakfast was good and ample. Quiet location high up, so some rooms have views of the Tay. Superb value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarbearonthinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Stayed here for three nights on business in June 2010. It was very peaceful and clean. Shared bathroom, but this was not a problem. Room at the top of the house with a pleasant view up the river. The breakfast was excellent - cooked to order and very tasty. The owners were particularly welcoming and friendly. I would stay here again and recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cletus550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.4 km away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.3 km away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#21 of 28 in Dundee
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
1.3 km away
Best Western Queens Hotel
1.3 km away
Malmaison Dundee
Malmaison Dundee
#3 of 28 in Dundee
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullaig Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullaig Guesthouse

Property: Cullaig Guesthouse
Address: 1 Rosemount Terrace | Upper Constitution Street, Dundee DD3 6JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm, friendly Victorian Townhouse is situated in a quiet residential area within 10 minutes walk of Dundee city centre. Cullaig is Scottish Tourist Board 3 Star rated and offers a warm welcome to all those who come to Dundee, whether for work or to enjoy the many tourist attractions of the ‘City of Discovery’. We are proud of our hospitality and many of our visitors return again and again.Out guest house is child friendly and we can offer the use of a high chair, travel cot (please reserve at time of booking), and child menu. We are happy to provide an evening meal and/or packed lunch on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cullaig Guesthouse Dundee, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing