We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good facilities for work”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of West Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Park
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Really good facilities for work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Was here in early March for work. Reasonable location, not too far from station and easy to find from out of town. Lots of parking places on the day that I was here. Staff on reception were friendly, well organised and competent. Rooms were airy, with pleasant outlook and had lots of of natural light.
Good coffee supplied. Lunch served in two rooms both spacious and bright. Food was great, huge bowls of wonderful fresh salad. Hot option as well that looked good. Puddings looked gorgeous, individual cheesecakes or sticky toffee pud. I'm gluten free so asked if I could have fruit and another couple of people joined me. A freshly prepared delicious fruit salad appeared with a little white jug. I tried not to sigh thinking that it was cream ( more forbidden fruit) but no, a delicious strawberry puree. Mmmm... Great staff.
Didn't stay overnight so can't comment.
Good place to do work.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. The team here at West Park work really hard to deliver a great service with great homemade food. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit, If you are back again in the summer months the accommodation we have on site is 3 star Campus accommodation, prices from £30pn. enquiries@westpark.co.uk

Kind Regards
Christine Milne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    28
    18
    12
See reviews for
11
35
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

and the Fairy Godmother said.... you shall go to the Westpark Hogmanay ball...I'd tell her what to do with the £65 a head tickets. Thre was no vegetarian starter, no non alcoholic welcoming drink, so if you are a vegetarian or don't drink alcohol, that was tough. The bar service was terrible - too many functions going on. The whole evening cheapo . Our party of 12 got split and put at different tables. Never come across that in 15 years of going to dinner dances. But the worst had to be the Glenside Celeidh band... They seemed to only know five dances and they played them round and round all night with great long gaps inbetween. If you are thinking of going to the Westpark Hogmanay bal....don't.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with your Hogmanay event. Although many of our guests thoroughly enjoyed the event we do value your feedback. As you are aware we have responded to yourself and your parties comments and appreciated the opportunity to do so.
Kind regards
Christine Milne General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Dundee
Level Contributor
257 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Mrs Benny and I booked with friends for the party night @ the Sidlaw suite for Hogmanay. Here's my review;

We were met with champagne at the front door and made our way to the main function suite which was very well decorated and laid out.

There were no finger rolls on our table but the friendly (mainly young students?) staff sorted that out.

It was to be fair a limited menu with just chicken broth soup and prawn cocktail (70's style in a wine glass) to a veggie main course or roast beef which was thickly cut but fairly tasty, then either clootie dumplings with custard (Mrs Benny had this and the custard was very watery and not too tasty) or a cheese selection followed by tea or coffee.

It was a Hogmanay party night and the DJ was quite good getting the mixed crowd on the dance floor from early doors.

Just before the bells the staff brought a choice of sparkling wine or whiskey and the night finished off well. There was no trouble, staff were friendly (thought it might be difficult to get served at bar but no problems), there was a fair mix of people, kids, families, couples and larg groups.

Overall it was good night, and you do have a choice of this disco night a hoolie or a ball at different prices.
start,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Hogmanay event. The night was a great success and we have already taken bookings for Hogmanay 2013. Hope to see you there!
Kind regards
Christine Milne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

and in a word it was awful. One - when we booked for 12 no-one said the we would NOT be sitting together. No we were at two tables. Then there was no choice if you were a vegetarian..In facty there was nothing if you were a vegetarian. Just atarve for your money. But hey we still all thought we would stick with it until they brought on the band. For 65 pound each we endured two dashing white sergeants, three gay gordons, the military two step, and if we had stripped the willow any more, there would have been no bark left on the tree. In 15 years of going to dinner dances I have never been at anything like this. Awful in this day and age does not begin to cover it.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank marion q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review onTrip Advisor. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your Hogmanay event. We have since communicated futher on the matters raised and i thank you for allowing me the opportunity to respond. Christine Milne General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Staff very unhelpful, food is the worst i've tasted! From the three courses I had, I only finished the starter, tasted the main and didnt touch the dessert. Would not recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with your meal. I would have welcomed the opportunity to have remedied this on the night however appreciate the feedback you left. At West Park we are renowned for our excellent staff and the quality of our food, I apologise if you felt the standards delivered to yourself on the night of your event were less than expected.
Kind regards
Christine Milne General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Clearly this is student accommodation and had we known that we would have chosen somewhere else. The information on the website does not make this clear and it should.

We were only there for two nights and the room was a model of post Stalinist utility, with a bed that was hard and frankly uncomfortable. The breakfast was in the same style, rather bleak and dull. You could certainly fill up on it but would you actually want to? We did not.

The accommodation blocks are large and laid out like the housing blocks in "A Clockwork Orange" with the actual rooms being of the monastic cell variety.

Having said all that because it is true, I think if you are 20 something you would shrug it off and be glad that you were not paying more, not care about the stairs and carrying large suitcases up several flights. If you are well over 50, you might just want to give this one a miss.

Travel Safe :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel-Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. West Park accommodation is campus accommodation. I am sorry if you felt you had been mislead, we do advertise as campus accommodation and our prices are reflective of this. We hold a 3 Star Campus Visit Scotland rating. Many of our guests return every year as we offer excellent value for money. However I do appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards
Christine Milne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the West Park for a four-day stay.

It is obviously student accommodation that is used as a hotel in the summer months when the students are away, but it is very clean, modern and comfortable. There is ample car parking and the rooms are perfectly adequate, with a nice, wee LCD TV, tea and coffee-making facilities and a wet-room bathroom.

The price was unbeatable and it seems to be located in a nice part of Dundee, just a half-hour walk from the city centre.

No problems at all and we would happily come back and stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abarthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
2.3 km away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#21 of 30 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
2.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
The Fort Hotel
The Fort Hotel
#22 of 30 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Shaftesbury Lodge
Shaftesbury Lodge
#3 of 22 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Park

Property: West Park
Address: 4 West Park Villas 319 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Park 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your West Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Park Hotel Dundee
West Park Dundee, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing