We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveller rating
563
675
195
43
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
675
195
43
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal mile great location hi express free breakfast the sofa bed central location minute walk yogurt high street train station reception staff arthur's seat short stay rooms are small wi fi holyrood palace main attractions
Filter
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A very friendly welcome , comfortable room and a home from home feel. Very convenient situation for tourists. Walking to museums etc is easy and taxis are readily available if needed. This is exactly where to stay if good value is also what you want.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pleasedScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We thank you for your lovely comments which are the best reward we can receive from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you in the future should you wish to stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2013

clean, well organised, friendly staff. From our arrival, staff excellent offered free tea or coffee whilst waiting for the room as had arrived early. Excellent situation with on street parking, free on a Sunday till 08:30 on Monday. A five minute walk from the Grassmarket and the Royal; Mile, ideally situated for restaurants, bars, museums, the sights. Staff extremely helpful with information. why pay a fortune when you can have outsanding service and value. Also free wi-fi and use of gym facilities available at a nominal fee.

Room Tip: There is an official car park a couple of minutes walk from the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay – our entire team work hard to ensure that guests enjoy a trouble free relaxing visit and it genuinely gives everyone a huge lift when they get to read reviews like this. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2013

this place is a two minute stroll from the top end of the royal mile being an excellent location. rooms were very clean and spacious with a relaxing lounge area on the ground floor. breakfast was pretty decent and free so we could not complain.
a special mention must go to the our receptionist "amy" who gave us a warm welcome and always had a big smile on her face, nothing was too much trouble for her, she went out of her way to make sure we knew where we were going. she is a credit to the company. thanks amy !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reilly1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed over Hogmanay and had a great experience. The location is perfect to sight-see in Edinburgh. It's a five minute walk from Waverley rail station, and it is five to ten minutes walk from most of the major Edinburgh attractions. It's also very close to all the major bus routes in the city centre.

The staff were very friendly throughout our entire stay. The room was nice as well, however it would be cramped with more than two people. The free internet had good coverage, but was pretty slow. The bathroom was very clean with plenty of hot water for showers. The free breakfast was very good with lots of options to choose from, both hot and cold.

Overall, for the price and the location, this is an excellent hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am glad you enjoyed Hogmanay in Edinburgh. Our free breakfast is a great way to start any day and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hubby and I stayed 2 nights early January for a 'getaway' break. Location was great for access to all attractions - 10 minute walk for most - and very handy for good pubs & restaurants. (No. 35 bus 2 minutes round corner on Royal Mile gets you to Royal Yacht Britannia) Public areas very clean and well-kept. Room very comfy and spacious, clean comfortable bed and nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. Dining room comfortable and very good breakfasts - plenty of choice both hot and continental. Staff very friendly & helpful (Amy on reception particularly). Bar tariff very high - £7.40 for a beer and a half! Apart from that no complaints at all - to be recommended.

Room Tip: No problems with our room - high number room, away from front street
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed our free breakfast. We are very lucky to be located so centrally, within close walking distance to all of Edinburgh’s main attractions. Our front desk team is on hand 24hours a day and are always happy to help with directions or recommendations. I hope you stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews