We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“57Carol”
Review of Ramsay's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramsay's B&B
Ranked #13 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“57Carol”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

All the reviews are correct, this is a superb B&B. Sharon went the 'extra mile' for us by booking on-line our reservations to see the pandas at Edinburgh zoo when we had not taken our own laptop with us. This B&B has the homely touch with superb breakfasts and comfortable bedrooms. There is a bus stop conveniently just around the corner to take you to the Princes Street area if you cannot manage the walk and numerous restaurants and pubs for evening meals. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    29
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
98
305
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Delighted to find this fantastic B&B through Tripadvisor. Spotless room with great attention to detail. Sharon and Norrie were warm and welcoming and full of lots of helpful tips about where to go and what to do. Breakfast was absolutely superb - plentiful, fresh and cooked to perfection. We had been slightly concerned we might be a little off the beaten path but the location is great and also surrounded by some really nice restaurants. Would definitely recommend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magzw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We've just returned from a very snowy cold trip to Edinburgh, but couldn't have had a warmer welcome from Sharon and Norrie. Ramsay's is an excellent B&B spotless, beautiful rooms, good location with good places to eat close by. Breakfast was very generous and well cooked with quality products. Sharon gave us a detailed map and advice where to go etc. and even looked after our luggage for us the next day, enabling us to look around further. Look no further for quality and value for money with a super couple. Going at Easter was risky but we went for my Husband's Birthday, and enjoyed it despite the snow! Living in Sheffield we are a long way away but would certainly go back if we return to Edinburgh again from Elaine and Richard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here 3 nights and couldn't have asked for a more lovely place to stay, or lovelier hosts. As college students on our spring break, we were considering the cheap-but-total-crapshoot hostel option, but then we read all the stellar reviews for this b&b and just couldn't resist. Oh my goodness, it was the best decision ever. The room was, of course, very comfortable and stylishly decorated (ipod speaker alarm was a great touch), the delicious breakfast kept us going all day.. but perhaps most importantly, Sharon and Norrie are such sweethearts. On the day of our departure we were leaving crazy-early to catch a Ryanair flight, so we couldn't have breakfast, but Sharon left lunches for us to take to the airport. That was a big "aw, can she be our Scottish mother, please?" moment. Loved Edinburgh, loved them, what more can I say?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We selected this B & B based on previous reviews and the fact that it was located in a busy area with lots of cafes and restaurants close by. It lived up to what we expected and more. Sharon and Norrie made us feel extremely welcome and gave us lots of advice about where to go and what to do. They are very friendly and make you feel very much at ease. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of full Scottish or fresh fruit and yoghurt plus the usual cereals, juice and toast. Certainly substantial enough to set you up for the day. The room was spotless and very comfortable, had everything including free wi fi, tv, coffee and tea. We stayed for three days and had a wonderful time, we would certainly recommend it to anyone reading this review and look forward returning on our next visit. Elaine and Maureen

Room Tip: Not needed, we were happy with the room we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanky_Lass_065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in this lovely B&B for 2 nights, and truly enjoyed it. Sharon and Norrie were really helpful and kind, the breakfast delicious, the room very modern, clean and stylish. It is also well located, close to all attractions and with lots of restaurants nearby. We definitely recommend staying in this B&B! Thank you Sharon and Norrie :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowerpo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have been to this B&B several times. Honestly, if I travel to Europe I will always visit Edinburgh to stay at Ramsay´s. Norrie and Sharon are the best hosts apart from excellent human beings. I took a group this time in january and they prepared the whole place for us, paying attention to every single detail. Cleanliness is excellent, breakafast is superb, location is ideal and hosts can´t be better.
The place is beautifully decorated.
I strongly recommend you to stay there. You will receive help with attraction, places where to eat, etc.
Nearby you will find the best pubs and it is a step away from John Lewis for those interesd in shopping. By the way Edinburg is perfect to go shopping.
All in all, hope you enjoy this place as much as I do every time I stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same- comfortable and you will feel better than home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroTemperley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#16 of 392 in Edinburgh
686 reviews
Kew House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsay's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsay's B&B

Property: Ramsay's B&B
Address: 25 East London Street, Edinburgh EH7 4BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramsay's B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramsay's high quality bed and breakfast is ideally situated to take advantage of Edinburgh's many local attractions. It is located on the eastern edge of Edinburgh's New Town, close to Princess street and Edinburgh castle, and in walking distance to both the train and bus stations. Our spacious townhouse offers bright contemporary en-suite bedrooms, each with hospitality tray, LCD TV, hairdryer and free wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ramsay's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramsay`s Bed And Breakfast
Ramsay`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ramsay's B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing