We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first choice next time we're in Edinburgh.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Browns Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #64 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My first choice next time we're in Edinburgh.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Don’t judge a book by its cover, Browns doesn’t have much to offer simply by looking at the front door BUT go inside. The rooms are very well appointed and very comfortable. The bed and all the furniture looked new and the on suite was fine. The whole place was spotlessly clean and the room being at the back of the property was quiet. A good choice for breakfast, all cooked fresh. Marrion and her husband are very friendly and made us most welcome and because there are only 4 bedrooms it’s like staying with family. Its about a twenty minute walk to Princes Street and about 35 minutes easy walk to the Royal Yacht, so in a good location with lots of good places to eat on hand. If you’re in a car the only downside is the on street parking but that said we managed to get almost outside and the car didn’t move from arriving to going home. This will be my first option when looking for somewhere to stay in Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 980John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
123
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

First time to Scotland. We have travelled the world and stayed at many different places and felt the need to highlight the welcome we recieved was first class nothing was ever to much trouble. Marion is a lady with class her husband is also a delightful man.
The standard of the room is wonderful the attention to detail is also exceptional.
Cleanliness and the little extra's like soaps and bathroom facilities are all of a high standard which make ones's stay more comfortable.
Nice to see the tea making facilities all inclusive of good quality teas/coffee/Hot Chocloate including good crockery. Breakfast perfectly cooked. Marion Thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene24652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Great place, small walk into town 5-10 minutes,
Marion and Norrie very friendly people, nothing was too much trouble
Rooms of a great size clean and tidy, a nice range of tea and coffee in the rooms

Room Tip: rooms on the front of the house are on main road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights during the tattoo/fringe on recommendation from my parents.

The location is fantastic, it is literally a 10 minute walk to Princess Street with plenty of restaurants and pubs along Leith Walk. We ate at Vitorria's Italian restaurant across the road from the B&B, which I would highly recommend. The parking outside was free over the weekend, another plus!

The room itself was very clean and modern with an en-suite and a good sized shower. The bed was very comfy and the room was modern. I woke up a few times due to the noise coming from outside, but the B&B is located on a busy road in Edinburgh, so this can only be expected. The room had an LCD TV, alarm clock, kettle with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and sweets, biscuits and wine glasses were also left in the room. The breakfasts were filling and I enjoyed chatting to the owners in the morning, very friendly hosts. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anneb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was the cleanest & neatest place we stayed in two weeks of traveling around Ireland & UK-- and we stayed in 11 places. Marion and her husband was very nice and welcoming. There was "extras" like cotton balls, tissues, etc, besides Wii-Fi. The location is also great for walking to the attractions. We had to leave very early for the airport, so Marion offered to make us breakfast-to-go. The next morning, outside our door, was a bag of food, which we ate at the airport: sandwiches, drinks, fruit, granola bars. It was perfect!

Room Tip: Might ask not to be in the front room-- street is noisy with window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gloriaj2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
legoland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

In my family cleanliness is one of the most important features. This B&B is perfect.
Marion keeps it tidy,cozy and comfortable without that asepctic look of some places.
The stay was wonderful: great breakfast with a lot of choices;
great company cause while Marion was teaching my mother the 4base step of scottish dance, her husband was giving us so many informations about eating (great!) and special spots;
near to the center, just really a short walk;
the bed was comfortable too;
free wi-fi, tv and the stuff for making yourself a cup of coffee/tea in the room;
and CLEAN.
We'll go back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yumiyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Great location! Walking distance to anywhere in the heart of the city. We did not have a car and easily walked everywhere we wanted to go. We stayed 3 nights in room 2, a well-appointed suite with many little extra touches - from the dish of candy, to the coffee/tea/hot chocolate, to the first aid kit in the bathroom. The bed was quite comfortable and there was plenty of drawer space in the room, along with a good size armoire and a very nice desk. Plenty of outlets for charging electronics. But best of all was the warm welcome by Marion and the great breakfasts and conversations. We also got great directions to wherever we wanted to go. Marion truly goes above and beyond to ensure that nothing is overlooked for her guests.

Room Tip: We can only comment on room 2 - it's in the back with a window overlooking a courtyard. Relativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mommy8589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#12 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bonnie's Guesthouse
#80 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Property: Browns Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing