We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$859
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$120
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$512
US$494
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
US$234
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
215
28
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
28
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgreat hostsfull scottish breakfastsewing kitleith walkhome from homehaggisthe bed was extremely comfortableexcellent breakfastlocation is greatthree night stayshower gelwalking distanceroyal milecity centreminute walktea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

First time to Scotland. We have travelled the world and stayed at many different places and felt the need to highlight the welcome we recieved was first class nothing was ever to much trouble. Marion is a lady with class her husband is also a delightful man.
The standard of the room is wonderful the attention to detail is also exceptional.
Cleanliness and the little extra's like soaps and bathroom facilities are all of a high standard which make ones's stay more comfortable.
Nice to see the tea making facilities all inclusive of good quality teas/coffee/Hot Chocloate including good crockery. Breakfast perfectly cooked. Marion Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene24652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Great place, small walk into town 5-10 minutes,
Marion and Norrie very friendly people, nothing was too much trouble
Rooms of a great size clean and tidy, a nice range of tea and coffee in the rooms

Room Tip: rooms on the front of the house are on main road,
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Myself and my husband stayed here for 2 nights during the tattoo/fringe on recommendation from my parents.

The location is fantastic, it is literally a 10 minute walk to Princess Street with plenty of restaurants and pubs along Leith Walk. We ate at Vitorria's Italian restaurant across the road from the B&B, which I would highly recommend. The parking outside was free over the weekend, another plus!

The room itself was very clean and modern with an en-suite and a good sized shower. The bed was very comfy and the room was modern. I woke up a few times due to the noise coming from outside, but the B&B is located on a busy road in Edinburgh, so this can only be expected. The room had an LCD TV, alarm clock, kettle with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and sweets, biscuits and wine glasses were also left in the room. The breakfasts were filling and I enjoyed chatting to the owners in the morning, very friendly hosts. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was the cleanest & neatest place we stayed in two weeks of traveling around Ireland & UK-- and we stayed in 11 places. Marion and her husband was very nice and welcoming. There was "extras" like cotton balls, tissues, etc, besides Wii-Fi. The location is also great for walking to the attractions. We had to leave very early for the airport, so Marion offered to make us breakfast-to-go. The next morning, outside our door, was a bag of food, which we ate at the airport: sandwiches, drinks, fruit, granola bars. It was perfect!

Room Tip: Might ask not to be in the front room-- street is noisy with window open
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gloriaj2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

In my family cleanliness is one of the most important features. This B&B is perfect.
Marion keeps it tidy,cozy and comfortable without that asepctic look of some places.
The stay was wonderful: great breakfast with a lot of choices;
great company cause while Marion was teaching my mother the 4base step of scottish dance, her husband was giving us so many informations about eating (great!) and special spots;
near to the center, just really a short walk;
the bed was comfortable too;
free wi-fi, tv and the stuff for making yourself a cup of coffee/tea in the room;
and CLEAN.
We'll go back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yumiyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews