We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #62 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“3 days in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed 3 days by Brown B&B. it is located in a very good place very near the city centre and the port. Marion and Norman, the owners, were helpful in giving advices and very kind. The breakfast is super. the en-suite room was warm and very quiet. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
124
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weiden, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Together with some friends of ours we spent some wonderful days in Edinburgh in February 2012. The accommodation at Brown´s B&B was perfect, just fantastic. The Browns are extremely friendly people, who did simply everything for us. One of the highlights of our stay were the daily "breakfast-chats", during which we really learned a lot about Scotland, the people living there and their special kind of humour - a thousand thanks for that. Breakfast, by the way, is excellent (my personal favourite, believe it or not, was the home-made haggis). And the en-suite rooms are very, very nice and spotless. In addition to that, the guest house is ideally situated for all of Edinburgh´s major tourist attractions. To sum it up in a nutshell: Brown´s B&B can definitely be recommended for a stay in Scotland´s capital! And we will definitely come back as soon as possible. Thank you very much again for everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at Browns B&B, superb
Rooms are well appointed and spotless, we were made to feel very welcome by our host Marion
Breakfast was excellent with a good selection.
Ideally situated for all of Edinburgh's main attractions.
would not hesitate to book again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a lovely one-night stay at this B&B. Marion and her husband are incredibly kind, and really helpful. Our room was very nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast was absolutely great!
It's located close to the center (20 min walk max).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline_Aalbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This was the first time we have ever stayed in a bed and breakfast and it was wonderful. Norman and Marion, the owners, make you feel like family. The room was beautiful and the bathroom even has a heated towel rack. Everything was very clean and comfortable. I felt like I was at home. Marion even set us up to go on a tour of the Highlands and the tour bus picked us up right across the street. Very close to anywhere you would like to go in Edinburgh. I enjoyed the walks around town....all roads lead to Brown's Bed and Breakfast. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone traveling to Edinburgh and if you aren't planning to travel to Edinburgh I would make a special trip and stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPhilipswithoneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Clearly clean. Good breakfast. Helpful owners. Good facilities, good recent renovation. Altogether comfortable

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent two nights in a double en-suite room, homely, clean and with a big shower. And a so comfortable bed! The bedroom is provided with all the stuff for the bath and the tea/coffee making facilities and playing cards too! The bedroom was full of attention to details. We ate a full Scottish breakfast, hearty and delicious!
Warm welcome and nice owners: Marion is a very kind person and gave us many helpful suggestions!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldebaran86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#12 of 392 in Edinburgh
552 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 392 in Edinburgh
502 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#40 of 392 in Edinburgh
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#16 of 392 in Edinburgh
687 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 392 in Edinburgh
760 reviews
94DR
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Property: Browns Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing