We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old pub”
Review of The Sheep Heid Inn

The Sheep Heid Inn
Ranked #899 of 2,804 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$10 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: The perfect destination for lunch, dinner, or drinks, this contemporary pub, bar, and restaurant will allow you to dine in style, no matter what the occasion. Offering a fantastic menu featuring a wide choice of starters, mains, light bites, sharing platters, and devilish desserts, even the toughest food critics will be suitably impressed. We’ve even got a lovely outdoor garden space that’s perfect for a spot of al fresco dining on a sunny day. After all, there really is no better feeling than enjoying a refreshing drink, in a sun-drenched beer garden during the summer months. We are also a child friendly establishment, so please feel free to bring your little ones along – they’ll love our dedicated children’s menu!
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Our group of six enjoyed a leisurely dinner at this, the oldest pub in Scotland. Dishes that were especially popular: 1) the BOX-BAKED CAMEMBERT topped with omega seed sprinkle, cranberry & sloe gin chutney and warm dough sticks was extremely tasty - even our 7 year old liked it. 2) the other really great dish was the KING PRAWN, CRAB & CHORIZO LINGUINE ) with white wine, tomatoes, garlic & chilli.

Everything else was good to very good and our wait staff (3 different people were very nice and helpful

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wandering963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Sheep Heid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Michael W, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Sheep Heid Inn! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

Arrived Friday lunchtime after a lovely walk via Hollyrood Park to find a very busy pub with lots of people eating and drinking. Pleasant location and pub - beer was good but didn't eat as on our way elsewhere. Would recommend visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank suebell262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Sheep Heid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Booked for Easter Sunday lunch- What a bad descion!
The poor roast beef was cremated and the accompanying roast potatoes and vegetables very tired.
A visit to the ladies room proved just as disappointing - no soap and no loo rolls in 3 of the loos.
Plus there was a draft in the dining area so had to keep our coats on.
I know it’s a busy weekend but that’s not unexpected!
All in all not a happy experience, so will have to research into a walk to an alternative pub lunch destination.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Sophisicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Sheep Heid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Sophisicat, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Historically old pub in beautiful setting and great walk from the city centre...with this it’s worth the visit despite the current limitations of the food..

Lunch was ok....beef a bit tough and kitchens clearly at max production rate..service terrible but staff completely charming but over stretched and unprofessional.

If they calmed down a bit and didn’t try to take on so many diners it would benefit all...our drinks arrived 10 minutes after our food and we had to ask for everything several times..but..all done in good spirits and we left happy..

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Spamsunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Sheep Heid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback.
If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 0131 661 7974 to speak to our manager directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

We walked from the royal mile here for a nice pub lunch today. We walked for roughly 1.5hrs, over Arthur’s seat and we were in need of a big lunch! We saw on the website they served food from 12-6 so assumed all would be fine! We got there at 1pm and were told the kitchen was only serving food to reservations, but not walk-ins, until at least 3pm, due to a large buffet which needed prepared. This was soo disappointing! We had a table in the bar but were told we couldn’t be served food simply because we hadn’t booked a table, whereas people sitting literally next to us who had booked could order food! We were starving and had walked so far to get here! The place was chaotic, staff were all over the place and no one would help us. In the end we ended up leaving and had to walk AGES to the next nearest place for food. Very bad planning on the pub’s part! If you can host a big event that requires a buffet then make sure you’ve got enough resource to keep the rest of the venue running, especially when there is nothing else nearby! Disappointing!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank kat90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Sheep Heid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve.
Thank you providing this information so we can improve upon our services.
The Sheep Heid Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sheep Heid Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Sheep Heid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing