We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Terrific Hospitality”
Review of Brothaigh House

Brothaigh House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brothaigh House
Ranked #318 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had been recommended this B&B by friends and were not disappointed.
It is close enough to the city centre to be convenient but far enough away to be quiet. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good.
We had a very early departure and Graham very kindly prepared a substantial "take away' breakfast for our trip to the airport. He couldn't have been more helpful in arranging taxis and checking flight times.
The only drawback that we could comment on was that car parking was in adjacent streets.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrymore23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

The hospitality, including the pet dog was great!

We will revisit Scotland, not only because of the country, but because of our experiences with the family than runs this Bed and Breakfast Accomodation.

Thank you Graham and Carole for taking us in and helping us to be a part of you.

Deryck and Karen

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deryck_omar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

stayed for rugby weekend , great hospitality very clean rooms very good breakfast . This was our second visit, wouldn't stay anywhere else. Good value .Easy access to Edinburgh. bus stop outside hotel.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank donsleague1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

My husband and I stayed for 11 nights. We found everything to our satisfaction. This B & B is only 1.5 miles from Princes Street and was an easy walk and very safe even after dark. There was a bus stop across the road and one two doors down the road and there appeared to be a bus every minute or so. We had a warm welcome from Graham on our arrival and he was extremely helpful and courteous at all times and nothing was ever to much trouble. The breakfasts were excellent and we left the breakfast table satisfied everytime. The accommodation was very clean and our room was to the back and was very quiet. We would be happy to stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The rooms were very comfortable. The owners were extremely kind!
A warm receveiment and daily jokes...make your stay really enjoyable.
The food was tasty; we tried all the scotish delights (for breakfast)
Good tea service.

We went on foot every day, to Royal Mile from the B&B.
It was a fantastic walk! However, if you prefer, you can choose different buses to go to the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javiencasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

A large Victorian house now hotel that will be hard to beat in Edinburgh. Located on a the bus line and just minutes from the towne center was the draw to the Newington neighborhood. I’m glad it did.
Rates are reasonable, the hostess and host Carole and Graham are naturally charming and assure a warm welcome for the traveler. The morning breakfast takes the title as “all around best” during my two weeks in Scotland. The stay here was for 7 nights, each day nicer than the last.
Every morning since arriving home I miss waking to the smell of breakfast cooking followed by Graham’s cheery “Good Morning”.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We have stayed at Brothaigh House frequently and have found the services to be exemplary. The hosts are absolutely marvelous and the breakfast was yummy! My only fault is that we couldn't stay any longer!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevendjbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,051 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,642 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,088 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brothaigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brothaigh House

Address: 18 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Brothaigh House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing