We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Terrific Hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brothaigh House

Brothaigh House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brothaigh House
Ranked #323 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, Terrific Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had been recommended this B&B by friends and were not disappointed.
It is close enough to the city centre to be convenient but far enough away to be quiet. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good.
We had a very early departure and Graham very kindly prepared a substantial "take away' breakfast for our trip to the airport. He couldn't have been more helpful in arranging taxis and checking flight times.
The only drawback that we could comment on was that car parking was in adjacent streets.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrymore23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

The hospitality, including the pet dog was great!

We will revisit Scotland, not only because of the country, but because of our experiences with the family than runs this Bed and Breakfast Accomodation.

Thank you Graham and Carole for taking us in and helping us to be a part of you.

Deryck and Karen

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deryck_omar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

stayed for rugby weekend , great hospitality very clean rooms very good breakfast . This was our second visit, wouldn't stay anywhere else. Good value .Easy access to Edinburgh. bus stop outside hotel.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank donsleague1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

My husband and I stayed for 11 nights. We found everything to our satisfaction. This B & B is only 1.5 miles from Princes Street and was an easy walk and very safe even after dark. There was a bus stop across the road and one two doors down the road and there appeared to be a bus every minute or so. We had a warm welcome from Graham on our arrival and he was extremely helpful and courteous at all times and nothing was ever to much trouble. The breakfasts were excellent and we left the breakfast table satisfied everytime. The accommodation was very clean and our room was to the back and was very quiet. We would be happy to stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

The rooms were very comfortable. The owners were extremely kind!
A warm receveiment and daily jokes...make your stay really enjoyable.
The food was tasty; we tried all the scotish delights (for breakfast)
Good tea service.

We went on foot every day, to Royal Mile from the B&B.
It was a fantastic walk! However, if you prefer, you can choose different buses to go to the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javiencasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

A large Victorian house now hotel that will be hard to beat in Edinburgh. Located on a the bus line and just minutes from the towne center was the draw to the Newington neighborhood. I’m glad it did.
Rates are reasonable, the hostess and host Carole and Graham are naturally charming and assure a warm welcome for the traveler. The morning breakfast takes the title as “all around best” during my two weeks in Scotland. The stay here was for 7 nights, each day nicer than the last.
Every morning since arriving home I miss waking to the smell of breakfast cooking followed by Graham’s cheery “Good Morning”.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

We have stayed at Brothaigh House frequently and have found the services to be exemplary. The hosts are absolutely marvelous and the breakfast was yummy! My only fault is that we couldn't stay any longer!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevendjbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 km away
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 km away
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
#151 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 km away
Kingsley Guest House
Kingsley Guest House
#135 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Alba House
Alba House
#47 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 km away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#94 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.4 km away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#2 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brothaigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brothaigh House

Property: Brothaigh House
Address: 18 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Brothaigh House 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Brothaigh House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing