We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern and stylish hotel - loved the swimming pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Apex has a good range of hotes in the UK, and you get what you pay for, good quality roms and perfect locations. We stayed in a large room with a double bed and a sofa bed where our 3 year old slept very well, even with the room facing the street. The pool was a good place for all to relax and play, and the breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trollemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,573 - 3,579 of 4,714 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for one night in December 2011, I booked the hotel though lastminute.com and it cost me only £50! Room was very spacious, light and clean. We were very happy with free wifi, teas, coffee and biscuits.
Hotel is in Edinburgh city centre. The only minus was that our room didn't have nice view.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maris2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We really enjoyed staying here, the room was fantastic and the hotel location is great for exploring the city. Would love to go back soon!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank AnabellesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Only stayed for one night but really enjoyed it. Impressive facilities, polite staff and the restaurant is excellent too.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel was very central so we wer'nt far away from anything. The staff were very friendly, helpful and Knowledgable. The comunal areas were clean, comfterable and relaxing and the breakfast is fantasic. We stayed in a city double room wich had plenty of space and a huge comfy bed! Also a large bathroom with seperate shower and bath. I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was my first visit to this hotel and was very impressed. The service from the staff was excellent and very discrete.
Our room was like a mini-suite. It was clean with a huge bed that was very comfy and a very spacious bathroom with separate over-sized bath and separate shower.
Breakfast was included and didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I only stayed for one night, but I was impressed by the Apex Waterloo. I often stay in five star hotels, and although the Apex Waterloo is classified as four star, it was far better than some of the five star hotels I have stayed in. That may well have to do with the staff who are efficient, and genuinly interested in you having a good time - not only as regards to your stay at the hotel, but in the beatiful city of Edinburgh as a whole. They know the city, and seem to love and be proud of the city.

My room was on the second floor and looked partially out onto a small cobbled street. It was quiet, spacious, very clean and had everything I needed for my one night stay. The TV has an excellent selection of channels, even the bathroom was well-designed and spacious. The bar area is relaxing, airy and very inviting.

Location? In the middle of it all, but far enough away to be quiet. It took me under 5 minutes to walk from the airport bus (which stops by Waverley Station in the city centre) to the hotel's front door. Including a long wait for the green man to start flashing at the road junction. That tells you how central it is.

Thoroughly recommended, and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vardomannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,737 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $143 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Edinburgh’s best spots at the east end of Princes Street, Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is within walking distance of the famous Edinburgh Castle and is just a few minutes’ walk from Calton Hill. George Street and The Royal Mile are also close by in this compact city centre. The classic Georgian architecture complemented by contemporary interiors make this hotel unique. Each bedroom is spacious and includes a 42” TV, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, bath and/or walk-in shower and Elemis toiletries. As a guest, you’ll also get complimentary use of the leisure facilities. An indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Technogym make the perfect place to relax or escape from the stresses of everyday life. Time for more? Pamper yourself with an Elemis treatment at PURE Spa & Beauty. You can choose from a wide selection of restaurants and bars throughout the city during your stay, many of which are close by in the George Street area. If you’re looking for a traditional Scottish dish and a cosy bar away from the bustle of the town, look no further than Elliot’s Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing