We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very depressing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shandwick Hotel & Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shandwick Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #139 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very depressing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Clean, convenient, that's the only good things about it. Very depressing, seems to be more like a homeless hostel. The one staff person was doing his best but it was his first night (I expect they have a high staff turnover). Holes in the sheets. No sign on the door - no sign even once inside. Feels like a speakeasy, only without any people. Very weird.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pingle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
3
22
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

I wasn't expecting much when I booked a few days at the Shandwick, especially after some of the negative reviews. However, I have to say that we really enjoyed our stay. We had a suite/apartment which consisted of a kitchen, separate bathroom (with tub!) and then an enormous room that contained two double beds, closet, tv, and lounge chairs...and there was still room to host a party - I kid you not, the room was very spacious indeed. It looked out over the street, but that wasn't a problem as the noise was minimal. With high ceilings and enormous windows, I was enchanted with the character of the room. Heating is excellent (it was often close to 10 below outside) and I felt safe. However, in the interests of honesty, I have to tell you that if you are looking for modern, fresh and immaculate, then this is not for you. The Shandwick offers budget accommodation (we paid about $80 a night), so if you are looking for LOTS of room, don't mind the surrounds looking a bit worn and tired (the furniture is a bit higgedly-piddedly), then this place is for you. Please note that the Shadwick does not have an elevator. We had a suite on the first floor, so it was easy to get to. I can't comment on their single rooms or what else they have on offer, but we were happy with the suite we were in, and the stairs weren't too difficult to navigate (the staircase is very wide and generous).

The Shandwick is within easy walking distance of the main train station. We caught the bus from the airport (which practically stops outside the hotel!) and caught it back (the stop is on the other side of the street), so it was incredibly convenient. By the way, buses in Edinburgh have free wi-fi. Plus, there are heaps of shops just outside the door - supermarkets, pharmacy, pubs, etc, so you don't have too go far for a bit to eat. Be warned, though, the Shadwick doesn't have a huge sign out the front, so you'll have to keep your eyes peeled (there is a sign, but it's small). If you go to the train station, there's an information bureau where you can get tourist information. The tourist bureau also have stand alone computers with printing facilities available.

I really enjoyed staying at the Shandwick. Although it was worn around the edges, it provided spacious, clean, warm and secure self-contained accommodation that would be ideal for budget travellers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyAussieCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level Contributor
376 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

If you are going to Edinburgh, want to stay close to city center and are not too plump in your pocket, this hotel is for you. It is well-situated, clean, not noisy and excellent communication from the airport. Service is very pleasant as well. There are only two small "buts": some rooms face nothing but wall some 5 cm from the window and it is difficult to spot the hotel even if you stand just in front of it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

I was very pleased with my stay at the Shandwick. I am from the United States, and stayed there in September, 2010.

I had a single room with a shared bath - that I had prepaid for on Expedia. But, there was no one on my wing, so no one else ever used the bathroom while I was there. The room was completely adequate, clean, and private - with a small flat screen television. The bath had a beautiful cast iron tub, which I used for a nice long soak. There was no shower curtain. But, I didn't need one - and loved that tub!

You are only a few minutes away from all the shops, the National Gallery, and everything you want to see. There are good, inexpensive food options in the neighborhood - which is not at all scary. This is a great location for Edinburgh, with the public bus to the Airport right across the street (for three pounds).

I felt that the staff was extremely helpful with all of my requests. If you don't need any facilities, and are looking for a basic and affordable place to stay - you can book with confidence.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GetaDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We ended up a day early in Edinburgh and booked a twin private (with bathroom) last minute for 50 pounds. Although a bit hard to find, as was great value for money for that price if just looking for a good place to say an huge roomy apartment with bedroom, living room (nice couch, not much to watch on the tv though) and separate bathroom. The interior was a bit dated, but nothing worry about. The bed wasn't the most comfortable. But then again for 50 pounds it was a bargain compared to the hostel we stayed in on the other nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Be0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. The room was actually not too bad - large, clean, had a tv and kettle. But shared bathroom meant not even a sink in the bedroom! And it turns out there was no shower in the shared bathroom, just a hand-held thing that didn't even work. Plus no soap in the toilets. They did provide nice clean towels though. Shame I couldn't put them to use.
The man at the check-in seemed drunk, though in a friendly way. Still, I prefer my hotel staff sober.
The bed was pretty uncomfortable, but I was so tired it didn't matter. And there was no traffic noise despite the hotel being right in the centre of town. Though when people walked along the corridor it sounded like a heard of elephants.
Wished I'd paid a bit extra to stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Stayed her in mid May, very large room, dirt cheap and good location, very close to all the sights and plenty of restaurants, pubs and bars. It does get very noisy at night as there is a pub underneath and a lap-dancing club a few doors down!
May not be could for families because of this but unbeatable value.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajSB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#100 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
West End
Destiny Scotland - The Malt House Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandwick Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandwick Hotel & Apartments

Property: Shandwick Hotel & Apartments
Address: 24 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh Edinburgh, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Shandwick Hotel And Apartments
Shandwick Hotel & Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing