We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #27 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The hotel is superbly situated just off the Royal Mile. It is modern, clean and welcoming. The staff are fantastic remembering our names and stuff we were doing etc along with helping us make plans / book cabs / check out menus etc.
Breakfast was lovely - very fresh with all the items constantly being replenished. I discovered Eggs Benedict - to die for!
Our room included a complimentary mini bar and films - there was a problem with the films when we were there, but as we saw these as a bit of a luxury it really wasn't a problem.

Would recommend this hotel with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmithsonianUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,095 - 2,101 of 2,900 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

Back in March received an invite from my youngest daughter to a birthday treat in Edinburgh. The well trained daughter had done her homework and booked the Hotel Missoni and we arrived in hellish weather to be greeted by wonderfully helpful staff. The men in Missoni kilts looked great and on finding that our room wasn't ready for us we decided to have lunch and visit the castle - we were immediately offered umbrellas to use whilst out and a good recommendation for lunch.
Had a coffee in the bar before we left and this was an oasis of laid back calm. Booked the restaurant for the evening as we didn't want to go out in the wet wild weather.
After a fun afternoon in Edinburgh booked a treatment in the spa which is compact but luxurious and the treatment was excellent.
Dinner was excellent and the service was fantastic. The room was beautiful with everything you could need provided free. If I could have taken the bathroom home I would have done as it was stunning.
Excellent laid back hotel - one of the best I have stayed in. Not pretentious just real comfort and excellent, helpful staff who looked like they enjoyed working there.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Hounslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed here a great deal last year on business. Only recent thought to write a review. I clearly dont need to as the hotel looks to be doing extremely well. Oh well, I thought it was a great way to thank the great staff here. They always looked after me with a good drink in the bar after work and always had something to talk about especially Bex and her friends. The rooms were interestingly decorated, great for a short period stay but being there for months on end, the colours became sometimes too much. My fault for staying too long. Everything about the place is great, only negative is there was no pool. Oh well, you win some and you lose some. Breakfast is amazing, great selection and top quality.

I would recommend this hotel to everybody and anyone. Thanks again to the great staff who just made it that little bit better.

Try out an Old Fashioned. I still try everywhere in the world to find a better one. I cant

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best. They have better windows with views and more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We had never been to Edinburgh so decided it would be the destination for our first wedding anniversary. We were greeted warmly as soon as we pulled up outside the Missoni by a man in a missoni kilt. All the staff were very helpful and very friendly anything we needed to know about Edinburgh they knew.
My husband and i also enjoyed their onsite spa where we both enjoyed massages both of us were very happy with the service we received.
Our room a Missoni room was gorgeous and the complementary mini bar was a welcome relief after walking the Royal Mile which was right on our door stop. We loved every minute at this gorgeous hotel and didn't want to leave. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our Missoni room no bath but a massive shower. We found our room very quiet on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Very grumpy woman meets daughter in Edinburgh on very busy day. Brainwave occurs, "How about the Missoni for a coffee?". Enter foyer and suddenly, all is well! Quiet, soothing, stylish. Shown to luxurious banquette by pleasant young woman. Lovely daughter had club sandwich with PERFECT chips and mother and daughter have pink prosecco. Order is resored. Heaven(especially for daughter with second elegant flute of rosato!)
Grazie mille! xxxx

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It was my birthday so I treated myself to a night at the Missoni in Edinburgh. The staff were amazing - treated us like we were special and even put a tart in my room to help me celebrate my 29th. The room was comfortable, luxe, and had SO much character! The hotel is so perfectly located and I couldn't have asked for more!

Room Tip: They checked us in three hours early - we didn't get to chose our room but I imagine every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

all the reviews were correct in steering us to the Missoni...from kilted Dan at the door to all staff the service was brilliant......location on royal mile had us close to our bus tour, castle, and good eateries,....highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonardo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,922 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,875 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $238 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing