We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pretty much perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty much perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Like the majority of reviewers I couldn't fault this lovely hotel. The location couldn't be more central and staff couldn't be friendlier. Our room (just a standard double) was gorgeously decorated and all the little touches make a big difference - big fluffy Missoni dressing gowns and slippers, a proper Nespresso coffee machine in the room, free non-alcoholic mini bar, and tons of free on-demand movies. The bathroom was also beautiful. I'd definitely recommend the cocktails in the bar - inventive and delicious. Breakfast was also great, lots of choice and pretty good value. Absolutely recommend staying here. And if you're looking for a great Scottish meal - try Dubh Prais restaurant for dinner, just down the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    614
    197
    60
    37
See reviews for
267
1,443
93
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My partner took me to Edinburgh for my 40th birthday and we stayed in the Hotel Missoni and ate in the restaurant. The hotel was excellent very modern and clean, our room was very nicely decorated and very comfortable with a beautiful bathrooom. The hotel staff were amazing very very frienfdly and could not do enough for nothing was a problem to them they even found me a i-phone charger as i had forgotten mine. Highly recommend this very modern hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A great, modern and fashionable hotel right in the heart of Edinburgh. Great design. Stayed one night on business and would return again and again. Spacious room (worth paying for the upgrade) with excellent facilities - lovely comfy bed, great rainfall shower and B&O TV. View from room was spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2809GPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the missoni for 3nights last weekend, from walking up to the door to leaving 3days later the staff were nothing short of brilliant. Every staff member was helpful and knowledgeable about the hotel and Edinburgh. We asked for a quite room which we got, we were warned that the quietest rooms don't have a view which is fine by us, as it was we looked on to the rear of some very old very interesting high street buildings so don't be put off by the no view claim.
My wife had a massage at the spa which she said was excellent and the masseuse was very professional and friendly. We had an afternoon of cocktails at the bar and again the staff were well informed and pleasent.
The rom was spacious with a good bed, the pillows were not to my liking but one quick call to reception and 5 minutes later some different firmer pillows arrived. The shower is great and every thing was sparkling clean.
The only negative observation ,not criticism, is the tv was too far away from the bed. The solution would be bigger tv or move it closer. It's really difficult to read any text on the tv and you have to turn it up quite loud to hear it but who goes to Edinburgh to watch tv right.
We love Edinburgh and we love this hotel I know the management read these reviews so thank you for a great stay keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for the things you want e.g. Quiet or a view and you find you get what you ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

A top hotel that sets itself apart from the crowd with the attitude and attentiveness of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble - with a really genuine feel to it - they really do stand out from the crowd by some way - I have never experienced such high quality service in any hotel - and that includes most of the top hotels in Scotland. Not sure I ever will! Thoroughly recommend it - they also have sweets for you in the lobby - what more can you ask for! Also worth having a couple of drinks in the cocktail bar which is the epitome of modern chic. First class all round.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed one night at the Missoni Hotel in Edinburgh. It is very convenient to explore the city as it is located on the Royal Mile. The staff is efficient without an attitude, very friendly. The room was lovely and well appointed with beautiful Missoni linens and toiletries. The mini bar is complimentary!! I loved the bar. I was there with my 21 year old son and we sat at the bar and watched Aaron the bartender work his magic. The bartenders were very creative and fun. The only problem I had was at breakfast when I had to ask 3 times for coffee! Breakfast was overpriced. I would stay here again but go somewhere else for breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbright229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Wow! What an amazing place! Not only is the hotel beautiful and unlike anything I have ever seen the staff was UNBELIEVABLE!!!! They would do just about anything to make our stay comfortable. Including helping us send a rather large box back to the states. And they seemed so happy to do so. The room was very comfortable and included many different ammenities. Even free soda in the room, which seems to be hard to find in Europe. The restaurant and the staff there were wonderful as well! If ever visiting Edinburgh I highly recommend Hotel Missoni! It is located right in the center of all the attractions. Two thumbs up for the Missoni!!!!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established as one of Scotland’s most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary internet, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing