We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location in the tourist heart of Edinburgh”
other traveller has booked this property
first bedroom with a kingsize double
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
first bedroom with a kingsize double
lounge and kitchen area second bedroom with super king bed that can be split into twins.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
first bedroom with a kingsize double
lounge and kitchen area
second bedroom with super king bed that can be split into twins.
bath and shower room
floor plan
lounge and kitchen area
hallway window over looking Ladystairs Close
view from apartment windows
first bedroom with a kingsize double
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Travellin...
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location in the tourist heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

As a family with teenagers, it is difficult to find holiday accommodation that provides us with enough space to keep everyone happy. This flat was a good choice for us. The rooms are large, with high ceilings and good views. I particularly enjoyed the view of the writers' museum from the window seat at the back of the flat. The bathroom has a separate shower and bathtub and is spacious and private. There is also a washing machine and dishwasher, television and dvd player - it really is a home away from home and such a nice break from hotels. The wifi worked really well. The main drawback is the huge flight of stairs leading up to the flat. I wouldn't advise this rental for anyone who has difficulty with steps. Also, the kitchen could have done with a few extra plates and bowls to minimize dishwashing. Overall we had an excellent and enjoyable stay and I would like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Liked least: The steps
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Very please to hear that Bank St contributed to a successful trip to Edinburgh. Thank you for finding the time to provide the feedback. We will address the issues you have raised regarding crockery. Regards, Glenn ESC
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian M
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Central Location (Stairs)”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Prior to the weekend staying at 13 Bank Street there was a little bit of email tennis regarding confirming of timings etc. This was rather frustrating as I was working away and still waiting for friends that were staying with us to confirm details and did not have the time at work to sort out personal things.

The accommodation was very central and the accommodation was clean and tidy also there was milk, coffee and tea provided which was a really nice touch. The stairs up to the flat was a killer when carrying cases.

The windows did not close properly in our bedroom and bearing in mind this is a busy traffic area the noise was frustrating, (I should have reported at the time but could not see how this was going to be resolved prior to us leaving). It is a great location and feel a bit in between if I would use it again! I found it kinda annoying that I had to take the rubbish up the street onto the royal mile and down a side ally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dumping the rubbish and stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waynedurh...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Very good apartment,spacious,ideal location,close to the station and major tourist attractions.
need to have a few more utencils in the kitchen,like frying pans and non stick dishes for quick cooking for breakfast

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the apartment being on the top floor,after a long day out coming back a climbing to the top floor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Always good to know Bank St contributed to a successful stay. We will review the items you have listed. Regards, Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location, Lovely appt.”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked this for a week at the Fringe. It is right in the middle of the city and an easy walk to anywhere in the centre. It is well maintained and there is everything you need there for a self catering stay. The rooms are a good size and the beds comfy. We needed some information regarding the exact address a couple of weeks before the stay and got a very prompt reply to our query - at 9pm on a Sunday night! I guess the best thing I can say is we would look at booking this appt. again when we return to Edinburgh.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feliciano...
Tomares, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Poor Management”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The experience in this appartment was no so good.

Very centrally located, but they don´t advise you, that is a 3rd floor WITHOUT LIFT!!! If you travel with young childrens is not recommended for it.

The management was a disaster. You have to pay 15GBP if you arrive later than 7 pm (ok, is their policy and you accept). The person who must give us the keys, arrived 40 minutes later than us. I asked her if coming later, the fee should have been paid, and she threatened us with don't give us the keys if she did not pay him the 15 gbp, so I paid her.

She was an intermediary and not a worker of the company.

I wrote you an email to the company to see if it made me a refund of that fee, and they told me no, that that fee is paid for being late and was not possible.

When I left the apartment, I received an email saying that as they did not find the keys, they would have to load the copy of both keys in the security deposit.

6 minutes later, and when they found the keys that I left them nothing more enter where the "intermediary" had told me, sent me another e-mail, saying they would not charge a security deposit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Management
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
It is very regretful that this guest felt that the slight confusion at the start of your booking was completely detrimental to their stay at the Bank St property. Due to the nature of your late arrival the usual person who meets guest to provide access was not available and the lady who replaced this person had forgot to collect the keys, it was this that caused the 40 minute delay. The lady did apologise when she arrived but the guest was very angry by this stage. I am very sorry about that experience. She also just followed the instruction that arrival s after 19:00 incur a 15 pound late arrival fee and did not have the authority to waive it, however it is disappointing that the guest has not mentioned that this fee was eventually returned to them . Again I am sorry for the inconvenience this delay caused.

The property is on the third floor and is clearly marked on the property ESC website description page in the overview section. There is no mention of lift in the description page which would indicate there is not one.

We received communication from the guest that when they departed they had simply posted the keys through the letter box. It was therefore reasonable to expect to find the keys on the floor as soon as the door was opened by the ESC representative, as they were not, a message was sent asking where they where? As this guest has described a few minutes later during the inspection the keys were actually found elsewhere in the property and a message was sent stating this. I dont think this action can be deemed unreasonable or inconvenient when we had been provided with the wrong information.

Unfortunately I do feel the initial confusion and delay at the start of this persons booking set their mind and from there it was a only going to be a negative experience at Bank St, unlike most of the previous guests who have had a positive one, which is what ESC always strives for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHP168
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location to everywhere!”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband, adult son and I had great expectations for our trip to Edinburgh. We were not disappointed . We were met by Dave, who immediately became my friend when he offered to carry my luggage up the flights of stairs. After traveling for what seemed like days, I truly appreciated his kindness. We never needed anything , due to the fact this apartment had it all. As stated , the location was in the middle of Royal Mile. Great walking distance to the castle, Arthur's Seat, New Town. Having wifi was also a plus. I would recommend to friends and would gladly stay here again. (Hopefully sooner than later)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panjabiga...
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great location, great value!”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Whilst the initial impression courtesy of the stairwell is not great, this is a really nice apartment. As a family of 5, we always have difficulty staying at hotels. This was a fantastic option, with space to spread out and relax. The location is great and one can pretty much walk everywhere, and there are plenty of bars and restaurants close by. The only slight downside is that the windows are a bit draughty which in itself is not a problem as the heating is very effective; however, street noise does tend to permeate through even with the shutters closed, although this did not prevent any of us from sleeping!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing