We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay while in Edinburgh at the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room/Dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room/Dining
Entrance Living Room/Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
188 reviews
Living Room/Dining
Entrance
Living Room/Dining
Living Room/Dining
Living Room/Dining
Living Room/Dining
Living Room/Dining
Living Room/Dining
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room double sofa bed shown pulled out
Double Sofabed Opened
Hallway
Bathroom showing bath
Bathroom showing shower
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Lobby
Street
Street
Front door to our New Town Central Apartment
our central apartment
View from front door looking towards St Andrews Sq and the airport tram
view from top of Dublin St
Street
Entrance Hallway
Lounge area
Comfortable leather sofabed
Kitchen area
enclosed private back garden for outside eating
Military Tattoo at the festival
night time view of castle from Princes street
St Giles cathedral from the Royal mile
The Mound in the snow
Castle on a winters night
The Old Town
Princes St Gardens
Arthurs seat
Edinburgh Nights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 188 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
NicolePhi...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay while in Edinburgh at the Fringe!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Three of us (2 adults and 1 teen) were in Edinburgh for the Fringe in early August. This was a perfect place for the three of us to stay. The apartment is in easy walking distance from all the shows we went to - no more than 15 or 20 minutes from everything we did. We were happy to be close but a little bit out of the center of everything so that when we went home at night the neighborhood was calm and quiet. Within a block or two of the apartment are cafes, restaurants, shops -- really anything you would need -- and the neighborhood felt very comfortable to walk around at any hour. This is a basement apartment, one floor below street level. There are windows to the street. The kitchen had enough equipment to make breakfast and whatever else we wanted. The bedroom was comfortable for two and my son slept in the living room on the fold out couch. It is simple but comfortable and clean. Fiona, the apartment owner, was extremely helpful and professional. I totally recommend this place for a couple or small family -- and -- Edinburgh for Fringe was the greatest!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very convenient to all sights and in a great neighborhood.
Liked least: A pet peeve, but wish the sheets and bedding were 100% cotton.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review. Festival time is exceedingly busy and exciting and we are pleased that the apartment proved a great base for your activities and relaxation.
Thanks
Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DandDYork
York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, central apartment”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Another great stay at this property. Fiona provided everything we needed for a comfortable stay including all we needed for a cuppa & snack on arrival. The apartment is very centrally located just a few minutes from Princes Street and Waverley station, yet in a very peaceful neighbourhood. The bed is really comfortable & we slept very well, and the shower is super efficient. Can't recommend it enough - we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the little extras that made it home from home.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
Always nice to have guests return and even better that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mschmitt2...
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartment Rental in the Heart of New Town”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent 8 nights with my wife and daughter in this well appointed rental. Fiona and Alan greeted us upon arrival and could not have been more helpful. We walked everywhere in Old and New Town from the apartment. The apartment has all enmities you need including WiFi. Plenty of touring information is made available in the apartment to assist you. Our plans included three day trips out to the country using local touring companies; so after 8 days we had seen much of Edinburgh and various parts of the country.
We would highly recommend this apartment for visitors to Edinburgh.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review we do appreciate it. So pleased that you found the apartment such a good location to get around Edinburgh and out for your day trips.We hope you take good memories home of your visit to Scotland.

Thanks Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lottaln
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We, 2 adults and 2 children, stayed for 4 nights. Great apartment and a great location close to buses, trams and shopping streets. We had a warm welcome from Fiona who gave us lots of informations about the city, the area and the apartment.
The apartment was fully equipped, with anything you could possibly need, and also very clean. We would definetly consider staying here again.
The only downside was a barking and howling dog who started its serenade around 6am every morning, which was a bit disturbing for those of us who are light sleepers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review it is appreciated. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the apartment and its location but disappointed to hear about a dog making noise so early in the morning. We will certainly be following this up and please accept our apologies.
Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo L
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Had everything you need in a great location”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Alan and Fiona were wonderful in helping us get set up with this rental. They responded promptly to emails. The rental was very clean and included snacks. The location was very central, which made it very convenient to walk to the sites we wanted to see. This place is everything you want from a home away from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review it is truely appreciated. We are glad that you found the apartment to your liking and a good base to explore the city from.
Thanks Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZJenUK
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent apartment - exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Everything about this apartment, we found excellent. Communication with Fiona was clear, prompt and help. The apartment was in the perfect location for us, close to the main station and Princess street but also very quiet. Basement apartment but as others mention, still plenty of light and barely notice that you are underground. Very clean facilities with everything we could think of being provided plus lovely little extras. Having milk provided for our arrival and a selection of snacks was very welcome! Folders with tourist leaflets and restaurant suggestions were helpful. Wifi worked very well and modern appliances (clear instructions provided too). If we go back to Edinburgh we will be sure to stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, clean and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review it is very much appreciated. We are delighted that the apartment and amenities suited your needs so well and we would be pleased to welcome you again on a future visit.
Thanks Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shona010
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best little gem in Edinburgh,with everything you could want for a perfect stay"”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our second stay at Dublin St and it felt like "coming home to family" Once again the place was impeccable and everything you could need was there. A small carton of milk, some cookies and tea and coffee to welcome us. Fiona greeted us with her lovely smile and was ready to make recommendations and share some history of the area. This time we had great weather and took advantage of the little "secret garden" behind the apartment. It was a delight to sit out there in the late evening sun. The only thing to make it better would be if we could stay longer.We hope to stay for a week the next time!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accessability to Edinburgh and the personal touches.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Delighted to welcome you back nothing pleases us more than to see guests return. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed some sunshine, which is not always the case in Scotland.
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review it is appreciated.
Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing