We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in good location”
Review of Duthus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Duthus Lodge
Ranked #100 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2017

The lady who runs this place is delightful, friendly and helpful. Our room was fine, a wee bit cold but it was a freezing night outside. The room was well appointed but the shower room, although adequate could do with a wee upgrade. Good qualit6 linen and nice fluffy towels though. Excellent breakfast!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ScotlandEartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

From booking the communication with the hotel was great, we were greeted warmly on arrival and given an informative tour of the room and facilities. The room was clean, bright, and decorated lovely. The bed was comfortable, the view from the window we had was of the garden which was nice. Plenty of space in the room, the bathroom was small but clean and nice. there is a bus stop a few yards from the building with regular busses to the centre, parking was on the street which is free at weekends. the area is lovely and quiet as its just on the edge of the centre but not too far to walk. We will definitely be back here and have already recommended to friends and family.

Room Tip: we had room 6 which was a warm room but lovely view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank blotalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Received a warm welcome from the very friendly owner - nothing too much trouble. Room was lovely - clean, modern and cosy and well equipped. lovely bathroom (with nice toiletries!) and really comfy bed - had great night sleep! Topped off next morning with fabulous Scottish breakfast - best I've had! Would definitely recommend

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Our first stay when we arrived in Edinburgh. The house has so much interesting history. The room was just perfect, cozy and extremely clean. For breakfast I had "Haggis" which I loved, Mary (our Host) made our meals, outstanding. Tony (our Host) was very helpful with directions, explaining where things where. My only thing was their 3% surcharge on credit cards, not mentioned on their site. In all, awesome Mary and Tony.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here whilst attending a fitness event in Edinburgh with colleagues. We received a fabulous warm welcome from Lana she was so warm and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The lodge is beautiful and decorated to a really high standard with plenty of home comforts. Amazing breakfast served with a smile. Can't recommend highly enough. Well worth a visit and suitable for business or leisure, couples/friends. An absolute gem

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank karuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

I think the relieve manager may have been duty during our stay (?) but she was excellent. Possibly the comfiest bed I have ever slept in and the linen used was of the highest quality and just so so so comfy! I had a small room with a beaux window, so not much light but it was very cosy. Great size TVs with Netflix and you tube etc. hi tech! We didn't have breakfast, but for me it was great NOT to have breakfast. We stayed at 15 other places which included cooked breakfast, so it was really nice not to have to pay the extra and just grab an apple on the way out to town.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jessparker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We really enjoyed staying at Duthus Lodge for 5 nights. A beautiful historical house with modern rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, tasty traditional English breakfast, cookies, coffee / tea, a kettle, bottles of water, clean towels every day....but the best of all was the owner and his dog. =) It was our first time to visit Edinburgh and we were very lucky to find this place. We would love to visit the city and stay there again! Thanks for everything, Murdo!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ako622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#69 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,167 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abercorn Guest House
#25 of 395 in Edinburgh
484 reviews
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#20 of 395 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 395 in Edinburgh
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duthus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duthus Lodge

Address: 5 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $112 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duthus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Duthus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duthus Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing