We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location, Beautiful Flat!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sittingroom 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sittingroom 2
edinburghcastle4 Sittingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Sittingroom 2
edinburghcastle4
Sittingroom
highstreet
Bedroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
palmdoggS...
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Beautiful Flat!”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

With so many flats to look through for staying in Edinburgh, we wanted something close to the train station and the St. Andrews Sq. bus station. What a perfect choice. Upon arrival, we realized the location was even better than expected. Bus Station only a 10 min walk and the train station was only down a few flights of stairs in Advocates Close and across the street! The flat is right on the Royal mile, a few minutes walk to the Edinburgh Castle and pretty much any tourist bus stop to take you around the city! The flat had everything we needed and Derek did a great job of meeting us on arrival based on our schedule and giving us great information of the surrounding landscape! Parking is a bit of a walk, but only 15 minutes and it makes a huge difference as on street parking is not as available as some might say it is. Next time I head to Edinburgh I am looking here first.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks Derek.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yggdrasil...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent location, everything you need”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is the Advocates Close apartment, and my favourite place to stay in Edinburgh. The only time I don't stay here is if it's booked out. There is street noise during busy hours in the lounge as you would expect being so central, but bedroom is quiet. It certainly doesn't affect my stays here.

All amenities, clean, bright, excellent location on the Royal Mile.

Thanks for another excellent stay in Edinburgh Pillowstops :)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, security and dependability of owners
Liked least: I honestly can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yggdrasil...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Repeat stay, highly recommended”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Pillowstops and it's owners are the kind of place and people you wonder whether to review, as you just might not be able to book again next time! I missed out last trip, as they were fully booked, so this was my second stay, and will be booking again for next year.

Busy, central location on the Royal Mile, well appointed, easy to reach everything in the centre of Edinburgh. Not a quiet location, but bedroom has extra glazing so is quiet. I like the security too.

WIFI is excellent, everything required is in this apartment, and it's clean, modern and light, love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location, ease of stay, comfort
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daskalov
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and perfect conditions”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The idea for the stay Edingburg was to be closer to downtown so we can feel its atmosphere throughout the day. The apartment I found an eligible and email communication with its owner - Derek Gibb, my choice easier. Book three days and we were very pleased. It's really a very central location - opposite the cathedral Gill St., where you can go even walk to all the sights in the old and new town. The apartment is located on the first floor, a living room with a sofa that can be used for sleeping, a bedroom with double bed and wardrobe, fully fitted kitchen and bathroom. Distance from railway station is about 10-15 minutes away, not a problem even with 1-2 suitcases. The day before our arrival we had a confirmation email from Mr Gibb, who was waiting at the agreed time and introduced us to what would serve us - the nearby tourist attractions, shops, transport, use of appliances, which even which are the best restaurants in the neighborhood. The conditions under which we were placed coincided entirely with our expectations, so we recommend this place to everyone who wants to feel like real citizens of Edinburgh. Serious credits for this has Mr. Derek Gibb who worked hard to make this apartment a nice place that has everything you need to feel better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the condition
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam
Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam
Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing