We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Ranked #102 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed for International rugby weekend and all apartments were full. Despite this, we did not hear any other guests. Fantastic 2 bed apartment, which we shared with friends. 2 beds, 2 immaculate bathrooms and fully equipped, kitchen, diner, lounge. Whole apartment was exeptionally clean and comfortable, what more do you need? All staff we encountered, both over phone and face to face were very personable and helpful. Will always use again when in the area and have no problem recommending, what a gem.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannybear2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    55
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
54
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We have stayed here a few times and have never been disappointed. This time we stayed in a self contained apartment with its own door on Grove Street and at the back of the property was a patio and decking area. Only thing missing was the sunshine. Will definitely be back. Perfectly placed for all amenetiesThank you

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Three of us visited in December 2011 and right from the off Fountain Court did not dissappoint. The penthouse suite we stayed in was ludicrously spacious and embarassingly well-equipped - the tv in the bathroom was a personal highlight. The immaculate apartment was decked out with comfortable furnishings and allowed us enough space to sprawl out. The service we recieved was pleasant and relaxed - on one occassion a light switch in the lounge tripped, and within minutes an electrician came to fix it. Overall Fountain Court was absolutely perfect - great value, convenient location, stunning hospitality and a fine base for exploring the beautiful city of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are slightly more expensive but are definately worth it, especially if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We paid for 3 nights in one of their studio apartments, but when we opened the door, we were pleasantly surprised to see a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment. The apartment had pretty much everything that we needed for a comfortable stay. We've stayed in self-catered apartments before and have had to bring things like salt/pepper, dish washing things etc etc. But this apartment had everything. There was ample secure parking at the rear for £8/day and there was free wifi (with good reception) in the apartment. There was also a safe which was big enough to hold at least 3 laptops. The furnishings were modern and comfortable and there was daily housekeeping to make the beds. The living room and the bedrooms each had a flat screen TV with freeview channels.

Just around the corner was a Tesco Express and a little further along was a friendly Malaysian restaurant called Kampong Ali. Edinburgh town centre is within easy reach and a 15-20 min walk can get you to the Royal Mile and the Castle. There are buses within a couple of minutes walk, but we didn't feel the need to take them.

Really enjoyable stay in Edinburgh and if we go back, we'll definitely try to book Grove Executive again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bikyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Clean, modern, stylish, up-to-date apartment, with about a 20min walk to the center. Easy accsess to everything and easy to find. Would highly recomend because we got upgraded. Made Edinburgh that little more special.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Grove Executive Apartments for a weekend in Edinburgh and managed to get a great price on a two-bedroom apartment. Being able to stretch out and have plenty of comfort and privacy - including a bathroom each - enhanced our short break and really helped us to relax.

The apartments are extremely clean, tastefully decorated and have excellent amenities including flat screen TVs (one in the living room and one in each of the bedrooms), DVD player and great sound system. Comfortable beds, crisp linens and pleasant toiletries in the bathrooms add to the sense that these are indeed 'executive' apartments, and having tea, coffee, sugar and milk already stocked in the kitchen was both thoughtful and convenient. Staff were very warm, friendly and helpful, which made for a pleasant welcome on checking in.

A few minor issues:

* The kitchen, technically, is very well equipped, with stove, hob, toaster, fridge, kettle, and even a dishwasher and washer/dryer. Glassware and cutlery where in perfect condition, but cooking implements were truly terrible: cheap, clapped-out frying pans and saucepans in which it was absolutely impossible to cook anything without it sticking and burning, and then terribly difficult to clean. Any non-stick coating had been scrubbed off - they were more what you'd expect to find in student digs than executive accommodation. Reasonably decent saucepans and frying pans aren't that expensive; if the management of Grove Executive are going to buy the cheapest possible options in cooking implements, they should at least be replaced when so worn as to be useless.

* The omission of bath robes seems strange when the accommodation in general is quite high-spec. Providing them would be inkeeping with the standard of the apartments and would add to the comfort of guests, especially given that booking an apartment rather than a hotel room means you are likely to want to spend more time in the accommodation and want to feel comfortable while doing so.

* The wifi was free and fast, but not overly useful because any streaming - BBC iPlayer, radio apps, Skype, even YouTube - was blocked. It's the first time I've encountered such a prohibitive internet policy, and would be a real problem for guests expecting that they could make overseas calls on Skype or use multimedia for work. A little odd and surprising, and not especially convenient.

Overall, however, these apartments are of a very high standard and our stay was extremely pleasant. Only 15-20 mins walk to the heart of Princes St (and Waverley Station) and a Tesco Express just round the corner make them convenient for shopping, sightseeing and picking up provisions. And, overall, much more relaxing and spacious than a hotel - I've no hesitation in recommending them even given the issues outlined above.

Room Tip: As someone else has already mention, the apartment doors do not self-lock - you must lock them from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmataH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My boyfriend and I booked a last minute trip to Edinburgh and got a great deal for a three night stay in a one-bed, one-bathroom Grove apartment (£170), only to find we had been unexpectantly ungraded to a two-bed, two-bathroom Grove Executive apartment! The apartment was spacious, clean, modern and had everything to make your stay 'homely' and comfortable, with complimentary and replenished toiletries, tea, coffee and sugar. The apartment also came fully-equipped with fridge/freezer, all cooking facilities, dishwasher, microwave, washing machine, iron, hair dryer, flat screen T.Vs in lounge and both bedrooms, dimer switches on the lights, sound system and free WIFI. The rooms were very well cleaned every day...even the water marks on the shower screen and pots!!! The location was perfect with all attractions being within walking distance. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only slight negatives were the two single mattresses on the 'double bed' and the carpark views out of every window (but what do you expect in a city centre?!), nevertheless these don't make the slightest dent on the 5* overall rating I've given. Although we stayed as a couple, these apartments would also be ideal for those on business, families and lone travellers. A very enjoyable stay and all round excellence!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
#111 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#64 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#62 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive

Property: Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Address: 121 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to our own specification, the contemporary and bespoke collection of apartments provide an open plan lounge/dining area leading to a fully fitted kitchen. Stylish bedrooms and luxury bath or shower rooms with toiletries complete the package.All our two bedroom apartments incorporate a separate or bathroom for each bedroom - perfect for our corporate guests, and our two penthouse apartments have a 'loft like' living space, providing truly spacious and well appointed accommodation. Our 3 studio apartments all have a clever and stylish glass partition feature wall to separate the bedroom and living area. Needless to say, both living and sleeping spaces each have a flat screen television.Apartments benefit from the latest technology, with complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat screen satellite televisions in the lounge and bedrooms, and a full entertainment system including a DVD player and i-pod docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing