We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$299
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$245
US$204
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
US$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$566
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$299
US$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$135
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
139
67
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
67
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese apartmentswashing machinetwo bedroom apartmentbedrooms and two bathroomssugar and milkgated car parkdog bedtrue home from homevery helpful reception staffhour receptiontesco expressfully fitted kitchengreat apartmentsnice apartmentsatellite tvliving areacity centre
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 224 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and have never been disappointed. This time we stayed in a self contained apartment with its own door on Grove Street and at the back of the property was a patio and decking area. Only thing missing was the sunshine. Will definitely be back. Perfectly placed for all amenetiesThank you

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Three of us visited in December 2011 and right from the off Fountain Court did not dissappoint. The penthouse suite we stayed in was ludicrously spacious and embarassingly well-equipped - the tv in the bathroom was a personal highlight. The immaculate apartment was decked out with comfortable furnishings and allowed us enough space to sprawl out. The service we recieved was pleasant and relaxed - on one occassion a light switch in the lounge tripped, and within minutes an electrician came to fix it. Overall Fountain Court was absolutely perfect - great value, convenient location, stunning hospitality and a fine base for exploring the beautiful city of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are slightly more expensive but are definately worth it, especially if you're travelling as a family.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We paid for 3 nights in one of their studio apartments, but when we opened the door, we were pleasantly surprised to see a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment. The apartment had pretty much everything that we needed for a comfortable stay. We've stayed in self-catered apartments before and have had to bring things like salt/pepper, dish washing things etc etc. But this apartment had everything. There was ample secure parking at the rear for £8/day and there was free wifi (with good reception) in the apartment. There was also a safe which was big enough to hold at least 3 laptops. The furnishings were modern and comfortable and there was daily housekeeping to make the beds. The living room and the bedrooms each had a flat screen TV with freeview channels.

Just around the corner was a Tesco Express and a little further along was a friendly Malaysian restaurant called Kampong Ali. Edinburgh town centre is within easy reach and a 15-20 min walk can get you to the Royal Mile and the Castle. There are buses within a couple of minutes walk, but we didn't feel the need to take them.

Really enjoyable stay in Edinburgh and if we go back, we'll definitely try to book Grove Executive again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bikyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Clean, modern, stylish, up-to-date apartment, with about a 20min walk to the center. Easy accsess to everything and easy to find. Would highly recomend because we got upgraded. Made Edinburgh that little more special.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Grove Executive Apartments for a weekend in Edinburgh and managed to get a great price on a two-bedroom apartment. Being able to stretch out and have plenty of comfort and privacy - including a bathroom each - enhanced our short break and really helped us to relax.

The apartments are extremely clean, tastefully decorated and have excellent amenities including flat screen TVs (one in the living room and one in each of the bedrooms), DVD player and great sound system. Comfortable beds, crisp linens and pleasant toiletries in the bathrooms add to the sense that these are indeed 'executive' apartments, and having tea, coffee, sugar and milk already stocked in the kitchen was both thoughtful and convenient. Staff were very warm, friendly and helpful, which made for a pleasant welcome on checking in.

A few minor issues:

* The kitchen, technically, is very well equipped, with stove, hob, toaster, fridge, kettle, and even a dishwasher and washer/dryer. Glassware and cutlery where in perfect condition, but cooking implements were truly terrible: cheap, clapped-out frying pans and saucepans in which it was absolutely impossible to cook anything without it sticking and burning, and then terribly difficult to clean. Any non-stick coating had been scrubbed off - they were more what you'd expect to find in student digs than executive accommodation. Reasonably decent saucepans and frying pans aren't that expensive; if the management of Grove Executive are going to buy the cheapest possible options in cooking implements, they should at least be replaced when so worn as to be useless.

* The omission of bath robes seems strange when the accommodation in general is quite high-spec. Providing them would be inkeeping with the standard of the apartments and would add to the comfort of guests, especially given that booking an apartment rather than a hotel room means you are likely to want to spend more time in the accommodation and want to feel comfortable while doing so.

* The wifi was free and fast, but not overly useful because any streaming - BBC iPlayer, radio apps, Skype, even YouTube - was blocked. It's the first time I've encountered such a prohibitive internet policy, and would be a real problem for guests expecting that they could make overseas calls on Skype or use multimedia for work. A little odd and surprising, and not especially convenient.

Overall, however, these apartments are of a very high standard and our stay was extremely pleasant. Only 15-20 mins walk to the heart of Princes St (and Waverley Station) and a Tesco Express just round the corner make them convenient for shopping, sightseeing and picking up provisions. And, overall, much more relaxing and spacious than a hotel - I've no hesitation in recommending them even given the issues outlined above.

Room Tip: As someone else has already mention, the apartment doors do not self-lock - you must lock them from the inside when you're in, and use to the key to lock them from the outside when leaving, otherwise your apartment is completely unsecured. An important security issue which should perhaps be better flagged in room information.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmataH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews