We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate and homey apartment in wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Castle View Apartment - exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle View Apartment - exterior view
Location, location, location! Castle View Apartment Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
142 reviews
Castle View Apartment - exterior view
Location, location, location!
Castle View Apartment Living Room
A good dram of single malt awaits our guests: Slanj!
Castle View Apartment Living Room
Castle View Apartment Living Room
Castle View Apartment Living Room
Castle View Apartment Kitchen
Castle View Apartment Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 2
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 2
Castle View Apartment Bathroom
Castle View Apartment Bathroom
Castle View Apartment Bathroom
Edinburgh Castle from the living room window
Castle View Apartment: New Year Fireworks Over Edinburgh Castle (photograph taken from living room window)
The Grassmarket
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 142 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Immaculate and homey apartment in wonderful location!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our second stay in castle view apartment now - we have spent a week over winter and a week over summer, both weeks were wonderful and Pete is a fantastic owner to deal with. The apartment is both immaculate and homey with all needed appliances and utensils of excellent quality. We hope to stay a third time! Thanks Pete!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy W
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment was spotlessly clean, and very well equipped. It was in an ideal location in the Grassmarket, just behind Edinburgh castle. The owner Peter was very friendly and informative. We will recommend this apartment to friends and we hope to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppaluga
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Perfect Location & Apartment”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved this apartment and would definitely stay here again! It was exactly as advertised - including a view of the castle from the front window - and exceeded our expectations. The owner was fabulous and even had some excellent whisky (free) in the apartment for us. I cannot say enough about this place. You need to stay here!

Less than a 5 minute walk to the castle and the Royal Mile.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness.
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred_1...
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Feeling at home in Edinburgh's old town!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This beautiful apartment in the west area of the old town is about 1 minute walk away from the Grass Market. So it is perfectly situated for visiting the city by foot. Just that you understand how "central" it is situated: when you look out the window in the livingroom, you look directly up to the castle, which is, I guess, about 200 meters away. - perfect.

It has two very nice bedrooms, a beautyful bathroom and an open, but still very cosy livingroom with open kitchen. The whole apartment is lovely decorated, which makes it feel like a private apartment which you're offered to stay at.

The apartment was fully equipped with everything you might or might not need during your stay (wi fi, dish washer, oven, stove, microwave, tv,...towels, hairdryers(!), even an iron was there). Everything was in perfect condition.

Booking and payment worked perfectly easy. At the end of our stay we had to check out basically in the middle of the night, but due to our great landlord even that was no problem at all.

Summing up I can absolutey recomend this accomodation - especially if you travel with your family (which was a party of three in our case).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was way nicer than we expected
Liked least: the partying students can be pretty
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA USA
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
margarita...
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was a great place and a great location. Everything was very new and up to date, and was clean and comfortable. It lived up to its name of "Castle view", as the castle can be clearly seen from the window.
Peter was very personable and gave us great recommendations and tips for our stay. He met us at the front door and carried our luggage up the steps for us. He even provided us with a booklet of activities, places, and helpful guides for our stay.
With its great location, it was easy to get to all of the major "tourist" spots as well as local areas including the farmers markets and small shops.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking to immerse themselves in Edinburgh for the week!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland USA
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing