We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but Stirling was better”
Review of Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle
Ranked #7 of 393 things to do in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh Castle is a world famous icon of Scotland and part of the Old and New Towns of Edinburgh’s World Heritage Site. It was recently voted top UK Heritage Attraction in the British Travel Awards and is Scotland’s number one paid-for tourist attraction. This most famous of Scottish castles has a complex building history. The oldest part, St Margaret's Chapel, dates from the 12th century; the Great Hall was erected by James IV around 1510; the Half Moon Battery by the Regent Morton in the late 16th century; and the Scottish National War Memorial after the First World War. The castle houses the Honours (Crown Jewels) of Scotland, the Stone of Destiny, the famous 15th century gun Mons Meg, the One O' Clock Gun and the National War Museum of Scotland.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We went during the height of Storm Barbara, thought the windows were going to bust but the castle was good. Not the best I have seen because you only get to see a few rooms but we bought the explorer pass and it paid for itself. Not sure I would pay for it unless you visit the other castles on the explorer pass. It is stunning though when it was lit up in red for Christmas!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank jasongreska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"o'clock gun"
in 1,208 reviews
"the scottish crown jewels"
in 1,103 reviews
"war memorial"
in 698 reviews
"mons meg"
in 330 reviews
"military history"
in 372 reviews
"audio guide"
in 1,628 reviews
"lots of history"
in 506 reviews
"great history"
in 374 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 363 reviews
"few hours"
in 726 reviews
"royal mile"
in 1,421 reviews
"free tour"
in 556 reviews
"tickets"
in 3,174 reviews
"cannon"
in 1,912 reviews
"queue"
in 2,315 reviews
"prison"
in 1,378 reviews
"destiny"
in 565 reviews
Filter

11,108 - 11,112 of 44,381 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2017

We came here in December. It was freezing cold so make sure to dress warmly. It provided a great view of the city and the history behind the castle is quite interesting. We tried to go with the free tour which leaves at designated times throughout the day but the crowd was too big and we could hardly keep up with the tour guide so we decided to ditch the tour midway.

Make sure to visit the crown jewels as well, must see when you're visiting the castle.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Beanysweets726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We visited the castle during our New Year break and it is a fantastic experience. The castle is well looked after and offers plenty of photo opportunities for the experienced to the not so experienced photographer.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

Have been twice now with friends and family. An interesting tour of very different things. The prison, the museum of the battalions stationed there, the one o'clock gun firing every day, the stone of destiny and Crown Jewels, all worth a look.
Highly recommend a guide book and, if you can afford one each, the audio tour.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Edinburgh castle sits on a high rock, and even today its visible for miles as you approach the city. The old city sits on the same rock astride Main Street, and its full of historic character, amazing buildings and sights (and far too many tourist claptrap shops).
You could enjoy the historic centre without going to the castle itself but that would be mistake. The actual castle itself is still an obvious stronghold. The cobbled route leads you onwards and upwards to the main square where you can view the city or go view the many exhibits including the 'Crown Jewels'. I would advise to try and avoid the crowds by choosing a early or late start.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank martinf2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh Castle also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing