We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$212
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$517
US$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$153
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$151
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$297
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,061)
Filter reviews
3,061 results
Traveller rating
1,896
807
215
91
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,896
807
215
91
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungemood lightingcastle viewrooftop poolthermal suitesquare restaurantlighting systemusher halledinburgh castlemodern hotelhotel barprinces streetfantastic hotelroyal milespghydropoolconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,326 - 2,331 of 3,061 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

food, service value and luxury in the heart of edinburgh. the pool is just something that makes yoy feel like royalty. the doormen won't even let you carry a small bag from the taxi to the hotel..

Room Tip: unfortunately the location doesnt allow for views ,so any room is good
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aodhan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel was perfectly located as we needed access to the Exhibition Centre and it was next door. However it was a 5 min walk to Princes Street, so very central.

The hotel was marvellous, we had a problem with parking as our vehicle was too large for the underground parking, they accommodated us without any issues whatsoever.

The room was lovely, the spa and rooftop hydro pool was lovely, the restaurant and bar was lovely! The service was incredible, nothing was too much trouble. I think this is also to do with the fact that everyone in Edinburgh is so kind and friendly.

We ate at two superb restaurants too - Angels & Bagpipes and Ondine. Both excellent, book ahead though.

Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HFoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We visited on the weekend of 17th Feb 2012 and were definitely caught out here. We have stayed here several times before, although not for a few months, and as a consequence like all hotels I know well I never bother to read TripAdvisor reviews for places I'm familiar with. Sadly, the construction work has rendered much of the hotel out of use. Reception is a Portakabin in the car park, and access is via the Spa - it's a bit maze-like and our room was quite a journey! On site facilities apart from the spa are, well, minimal although there is a car park... and that's about it. On checkout, Jude tried to persuade me their Santini restaurant was an adequate replacement for all the bars, seating areas, restaurants that are not available - not so. Also, entry and exit for pedestrians is via the vehicle ramp on to the Western Approach Road - not a very pretty route, and not nice at all at night. As ever the staff were all very friendly, and the rooms are pretty good - large and well appointed. As an SPG member I was on a good deal but had I been charged full whack I would have not paid up. Apparently all work is due to be done by the end of Feb so hopefully this is just me getting it off my chest as opposed to a warning to others!

Room Tip: Not on 5th floor as this is thoroughfare for spa access
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and I couldn't fault it if I tried !! Even though the hotel has some work getting done this did not effect our stay even slightly. The staff were the most friendly and helpful we have ever came across. Not one of them walked by us without greeting us and were happy to help with any enquiry. Room service was beautiful. The room itself was also lovely. Booked the spa and didn't want to leave was so relaxing and has plenty facilities. Overall our stay was so good we are looking to stay again very soon. Thank you for a lovely stay xxx

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhand90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My partner and I have just returned from here for a weekend away, and found it to be fantastic. Yes, there are construction works going on (due to finish in March) but they didn't interfere with our stay at all. We had a castle view club room, which was clean,spacious and on the top floor so quiet and uk disturbed. Floor 5 seems to be used as a thoroughfare to the spa so wouldnt recommend that! Club lounge was OK (good canapés in the evenings and breakfast choice was good even at the end of the serving time). Spa was relaxing and didn't feel busy at all - although they did recommend we go down beforehand and check how busy it is before booking in, definitely a good idea on the weekends. The only minor complaint was the lack of signs both to the hotel and around the hotel and spa - confusing at times, non-existent at others! Overall though, a great hotel in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chimpy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us in one of our Club rooms with a view of Edinburgh Castle, I am delghted that you enjoyed your stay and all the benefits that the Club package has to offer. I am sorry that you felt our signage was inadequate, I have asked the team to review this to ensure that this is rectified. We are almost at the end of our refurbishment programme and very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us when next in Edinburgh.
Thank you once again for this review.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews