We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel with excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel with excellent facilities”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Great from moment of checking in, very courteous staff with a good professional air.
We had a suite on 6th floor that had great views of the castle. Lovely room if a trifle dark with plaid wallpaper. Great bath room and mood lighting that took ages to learn how to use, but a fun feature! Nice sitting area too.The club lounge on 6th floor was fabulous. They do great starters and the breakfast was amazing.
The spa was also fabulous with different areas to work through. Only had an hour, but could easily have spent 3 in it to get the most from it. Lovely large pool and another pool half inside and with infinity view outside. Great. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Not sure if you can pay to use club room if you are not entitled, but would be worth it. Allow plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noddie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,685
    725
    195
    88
    42
See reviews for
352
1,304
107
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

food, service value and luxury in the heart of edinburgh. the pool is just something that makes yoy feel like royalty. the doormen won't even let you carry a small bag from the taxi to the hotel..

Room Tip: unfortunately the location doesnt allow for views ,so any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aodhan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel was perfectly located as we needed access to the Exhibition Centre and it was next door. However it was a 5 min walk to Princes Street, so very central.

The hotel was marvellous, we had a problem with parking as our vehicle was too large for the underground parking, they accommodated us without any issues whatsoever.

The room was lovely, the spa and rooftop hydro pool was lovely, the restaurant and bar was lovely! The service was incredible, nothing was too much trouble. I think this is also to do with the fact that everyone in Edinburgh is so kind and friendly.

We ate at two superb restaurants too - Angels & Bagpipes and Ondine. Both excellent, book ahead though.

Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Kingdom of Fife
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We visited on the weekend of 17th Feb 2012 and were definitely caught out here. We have stayed here several times before, although not for a few months, and as a consequence like all hotels I know well I never bother to read TripAdvisor reviews for places I'm familiar with. Sadly, the construction work has rendered much of the hotel out of use. Reception is a Portakabin in the car park, and access is via the Spa - it's a bit maze-like and our room was quite a journey! On site facilities apart from the spa are, well, minimal although there is a car park... and that's about it. On checkout, Jude tried to persuade me their Santini restaurant was an adequate replacement for all the bars, seating areas, restaurants that are not available - not so. Also, entry and exit for pedestrians is via the vehicle ramp on to the Western Approach Road - not a very pretty route, and not nice at all at night. As ever the staff were all very friendly, and the rooms are pretty good - large and well appointed. As an SPG member I was on a good deal but had I been charged full whack I would have not paid up. Apparently all work is due to be done by the end of Feb so hopefully this is just me getting it off my chest as opposed to a warning to others!

Room Tip: Not on 5th floor as this is thoroughfare for spa access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and I couldn't fault it if I tried !! Even though the hotel has some work getting done this did not effect our stay even slightly. The staff were the most friendly and helpful we have ever came across. Not one of them walked by us without greeting us and were happy to help with any enquiry. Room service was beautiful. The room itself was also lovely. Booked the spa and didn't want to leave was so relaxing and has plenty facilities. Overall our stay was so good we are looking to stay again very soon. Thank you for a lovely stay xxx

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhand90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My partner and I have just returned from here for a weekend away, and found it to be fantastic. Yes, there are construction works going on (due to finish in March) but they didn't interfere with our stay at all. We had a castle view club room, which was clean,spacious and on the top floor so quiet and uk disturbed. Floor 5 seems to be used as a thoroughfare to the spa so wouldnt recommend that! Club lounge was OK (good canapés in the evenings and breakfast choice was good even at the end of the serving time). Spa was relaxing and didn't feel busy at all - although they did recommend we go down beforehand and check how busy it is before booking in, definitely a good idea on the weekends. The only minor complaint was the lack of signs both to the hotel and around the hotel and spa - confusing at times, non-existent at others! Overall though, a great hotel in a perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chimpy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us in one of our Club rooms with a view of Edinburgh Castle, I am delghted that you enjoyed your stay and all the benefits that the Club package has to offer. I am sorry that you felt our signage was inadequate, I have asked the team to review this to ensure that this is rectified. We are almost at the end of our refurbishment programme and very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us when next in Edinburgh.
Thank you once again for this review.
Kind regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a little Valentine treat. The modern decor of the room was lovely and very comfortable. Room was peaceful despite hotel being in the city centre and undergoing renovations. Hotel is big and signage not very good. Made use of the pool and thermal suite which was rather good although very busy on a Saturday. Also had to pay £30 each extra to use thermal suite (steam rooms, saunas, rooftop pool). The room just comes with access to the swimming pool, cleopatra baths and gym, unless it is a club room.

Dinner at Santini's restaurant was outstanding. Breakfast was average although plenty of choice.

Customer service is very attentive and friendly. However was not told about concierge parking despite phoning prior to arriving to enquire about disabled parking. The concierge will park your car in the car park if asked but we weren't told about it until after parking. Luckily found a space but the spaces are very tight and not usable if plenty space is required for getting in and out of the car. Again, signage here was poor.

Overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Check spa access with room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEdinburgh, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, including Escape at One and your special dinner in Santini. I am sorry that you were not made aware prior to your arrival that our Concierge team would have taken care of your parking for you, I have passed your comments to the team here to ensure that this is made clearer to other guests.
Thank you once again for sharing your memories, I hope that we can welcome you back to the Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa very soon, as a warm welcome awaits you.
Best regards.
JP Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Festival Square, Edinburgh EH3 9SR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand has been Edinburgh's gathering place for many years and it is the perfect place to discover this unique destination. From the moment you set foot inside the granite-floored lobby, you'll feel welcome. One Square, our restaurant and bar, serves a delicious range of classic British dishes all day long, while our beautiful bedrooms blend contemporary comfort and Scottish materials with cutting-edge technology. Of course, some things at the Sheraton have always been unbeatable, from One Spa's iconic rooftop Hydropool, to the breath-taking views of Edinburgh Castle. We can't wait to share them with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Grand Hotel Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel And Spa
Sheraton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Grand Hotel Sheraton
Edinburgh Sheraton Spa
Sheraton Spa Edinburgh
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing