We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do exoerience”

The Scotch Whisky Experience
Ranked #26 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Take a barrel ride as you actually become part of the whisky making process. Experience for yourself our regional whiskies and whether you like fruity, sweet or smoky flavours our experts will help you select your perfect dram.Enter the vault containing the world's largest collection of Scotch Whiskies and enjoy a special tutored nosing and tasting. Explore Scotland's whisky history from the very beginnings through to the global success of today.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Good for whisky drinkers and those who would rather not! Good fun, although be prepared for a queue. There is also a very pleasant restaurant downstairs with an amazing display of whiskys.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank colchesterain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"barrel ride"
in 586 reviews
"scotch whisky"
in 503 reviews
"silver tour"
in 432 reviews
"platinum tour"
in 180 reviews
"tasting room"
in 150 reviews
"whisky making"
in 107 reviews
"amber restaurant"
in 75 reviews
"sniff cards"
in 65 reviews
"largest collection of whisky"
in 49 reviews
"free glass"
in 49 reviews
"private collection"
in 44 reviews
"single malt"
in 93 reviews
"irn bru"
in 60 reviews
"distilling process"
in 43 reviews
"tasting session"
in 62 reviews
"wee dram"
in 65 reviews
"tour starts"
in 76 reviews
Filter

463 - 467 of 5,592 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

This was recommended. It's basically a super quick 'barrel ride' explaining how whisky is made, then some advice on what to look for in a good whisky and a tour of a room with the largest collection of whiskies in the world. It all seemed a bit rushed and not the 75 minutes advertised for the gold tour (although i guess the extra time over the silver tour is to drink the extra three whisky shots). The guide was informative but it was pretty obvious he does a ton of these tours every day. I'd go for the cheapest option and accept its the on the Royal Mile and the price will be high. The video screen showing the various areas was beautiful and expansive, i could have watched that for much longer, but we got moved along at all places pretty quickly! Felt rushed.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank CapeTownRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We went as a family, it was good to find a tour that was child friendly. We did have to queue for a while outside, although when we walked past on another day there was no queue, so depends on time, you can pre-book online.
We took the Silver Tour, which started with a barrel ride, talking through how whisky is made, and then into another room with an amazing screen and video of the whisky making areas of Scotland.
The scented card was a nice touch, and we were able to select whisky to taste, or Irn Bru for the under eighteens!
The "whisky" room was amazing, where we did the tasting, excellent photo opportunities in here and you get to take your glass away too.
Then you're taken through to a bar, where we stayed and tried another couple for good measure!
The staff were amazingly friendly and knowledgeable (Cara on the tour and Jacqui in the bar), and great with our young son, who was fascinated throughout.
Overall a great experience if you're in Edinburgh and like whisky.
There is also a well stocked shop, and another bar / restaurant downstairs.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank TheWestleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I will preface by stating that I do not like whisky. I went on this tour for the experience and to learn about this important part of Scottish culture. I was very pleased by this tour - it was engaging, informative, well organized, and fun! I highly recommend it, even if you don't like drinking whisky. Neat experience! You may need to go a tad in advance as there is sometimes a line to get in.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Carlo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

The Experience is a well run tour. It’s a perfect way to escape the cold and wet.

The staff are great - Andrew and Lucy were fantastic.
We did the Gold Tour which gave us a 4 drink sample in the bar at the end. It was a great way to end the tour.

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank adamhendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scotch Whisky Experience also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Scotch Whisky Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing