We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”
Review of High Street Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Street Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We were six travel agents used to good hotels who had to chose a hostel because all accommodation in Edinburgh was fully booked due to a rugby match. The location was amazing, 50 m from the middle of the Royal Mile and five minutes walk to Grassmarket. The rooms was cold and spartan, with nothing but beds - not even a chair - but a draughty window. No fridge, no coffee making facilities, and a 10£ deposit for each key. The bathrooms across the hall were dirty, and the showers were cold (and constantly occupied). Free wi-fi in the reception. Amusingly there were tighter security to enter this hostel than most 5* hotels! But hey, we were just there to sleep for a few hours betweeen pub crawls!

Room Tip: The Radisson is just around the corner... and stay away from the top floor as there is no lift here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    176
    54
    26
    16
See reviews for
16
49
122
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed at the High Street hostel in May of 2011. I found the location to be fantastic - walking distance to everything a traveller could want. The bathrooms were quite dirty and it was extremely loud, but that is to be expected. We didn't go there to get a 5 star experience, we went there to have fun. Unfortunately, my brother became extremely ill after having food poisoning in Germany, and our trip was therefore not what we expected. We checked out of the hostel while he was admitted to the hospital, and we had to find somewhere else to stay as we were not booked in for additional nights and there was no vacancy. The staff was extremely helpful, and let us return to use the internet for free to change flights and cancel reservations at other places, for as long as we wanted. It made our day a lot better while being stuck in a bad situation! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I chose High Street hostel because of the location, right in the heart of Edinburgh's' beautiful old town.

Checking-in: It is a short walk from Waverley station, so getting to it was very easy even with a heavy bag. When you arrive at the Hostel, you have to climb a small flight of steps to enter the reception. I was checked in straight away by an friendly young Polish girl. I was on the very top floor (of 5 in total including the basement kitchen/commons), in the three musketeers room. It was small, but comfortable with four beds and four lockers, large enough to fit in coats and a shoulder/handbag. After i got settled in, i went out to Explore. I asked the receptionist who helped me in to recommend somewhere to grab a bit to eat.

Sleeping: As i got back to the room quite late, i decided to crash immediately. I change then i went to the bathroom to wash. The bathroom was a decent size, considering there was only 4/5 rooms on my floor, it served its purpose very well. There were two shower cubicle, three toilets and two sinks. All were clean and well stocked with toilet rolls and hand-soap.
I found my bed comfortable, but the mattress was on the thin side and i could feel the underboard of the bunk bed when i was reading, leaning on my elbow.

All in all, very confortable and great value. I heartily recommend.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms have power sockets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmfield21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed both here and at the Smart City Hostel two blocks away, which I felt was much better and something like £ 2 more expensive. High Street Hostel has a "permanent guests clique" that hang out downstairs, this hostel suits "hobo travellers" who enjoy getting to know new people and just going with the flow. I simply wanted to sleep, so the late night beer drinking and influx of people in and out of the room (6 person room) wasn't what I was after. The shower stalls were tiny, not enough hooks to hang clothes and towels on. Many of the faucets were broken and the ladies' room door creaked loudly down the hall every time it opened. The air ventilation was poor, so either you stood out with stuffy air or you froze your stocks off with the window open.

It's cheap and often fully booked, the receptionists are usually busy. They have ONE guest computer that's linked to the web, which is of always in use by someone; bring your own laptop with you, the wifi's free! The community kitchen is big and free to use but the equipment is of varying quality and cleanliness.

Great location though and in a fantastic granite building, just off the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Io_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The High Street Hostel is perfectly located right of the Royal Mile and only a short walk from Waverly Station.

The hostel itself is a 500 year old building and that is used as an excuse for not having power outlets in the dorms. It is quite an annoyance to have to sit in the common room and wait while you electrical items charge (if its only your phone you can have it charged in the reception).

The showers were a bit small but clean and I didn't experience any queues for them.

All in all we had some nice days here especially due to the nice staff in the receptions that made us feel welcome every day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinotzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Towels and blankets smelled bad, they were dirty.
Showers were tiny as well as beds. Windows were opened the whole day so we just were frozen there! However, staff was very friendly and there are good facilities. The kicthen and lougne were very good and location too but there is a lot of noise from outside while you are sleeping.
I found it expensive for what you get.
I would stay in another hostel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveleree_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Great location, right on the Royal mile/high street. Free WiFi! Bed is clean / comfy. Nice & chill place. Most staffs are friendly. clean showers/toilets.

I stayed there for 4 nights, loved it. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oh_Vorapak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#38 of 205 in Edinburgh
160 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 205 in Edinburgh
1,488 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 205 in Edinburgh
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#14 of 205 in Edinburgh
395 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#22 of 205 in Edinburgh
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Hostel

Property: High Street Hostel
Address: 8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Street Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh. Relax, as a result of recent refurbishments we can assure guests of FREE HOSTEL WIDE WIFI and personal POWER POINTS next to EVERY bed. Thrive in the backpackers atmosphere and meet people from across the globe. 24/7 Hot showers, FREE tea, coffee, hot chocolate and unrivaled ambiance are just a few factors combining to make your stay here at High Street Hostel a unique experience. High Street Hostel operates inside a historical 470 year old building formally known as Morton House. The resident, Earl of Morton, was beheaded in 1581, a consequence of his involvement in the murder of Mary Queen of Scots' husband. These days, we operate with less beheadings and more beddings.. Hah.. However don't be mislead. Though the hostel may be 470 years old we possess state-of-the-art facilities that will make you immediately question the present century. Welcome to the future, it comes with wifi. In conjunction with our next-generation building-wide wifi we have included personal power points next to each bed. With this combination you can maximise your time spent in bed watching films on your device instead of exploring this seemingly pre-historic city. NOTE: Do not panic. If you do not have your own device to waste time, on you may rent a tablet, or use the PC in the reception area. In regards to location, High Street Hostel is one of the most ideally situated hostels enabling travellers to step out of the door right into the heart of the city. As time goes by it seems we are becoming flanked by restaurants, pubs, and live music venues from all directions, explore the likes of which during our weekly pub crawls, trivia nights and other various events. For the night owls, we boast a 24 hour reception and lounge area to hang out before you embark on or after you wake from the sleep befit for a King of Scotland. High Street Hostel boasts the most relaxing and reverie packed atmosphere in all of Blackfriars Street, winning the Blackfriars Street hostel of the decade award 3 weeks in a row! Enjoy a daydream in the lounge with the landscape mural or question your sanity in the reception with whatever dubious music choice the receptionist at the time entertains. Whatever your fancy, the team at HSH is here to ensure a fulfilling experience of UK's favourite city. For the frugal travellers, rest easy knowing our prices are the most competitive in the city. Not only this, but discounts are offered throughout the city to our guests for pubs to cafes to entertainment venues. If you don't like to eat out, we maintain a fully equipped kitchen that would cause Jamie Oliver himself to quiver in fear at the thought of the storm he could cook up in it. We have tables and chairs acquired from what was the local church so you may be inspired while impressing your friends or any new friends you might make during your stay with that one elaborately delicious and spiritually enlightening meal you know how to make. Sleep well knowing you may continue your lucid mental state come morning time by avoiding the hassle of embarking into the nightmarish cold weather and taking advantage of our £1.90 Buffet styled breakfast available until 10:30am. Important things to note for more scrupulous readers; -The rumours are true, we do have a pool table. -Showers and bathrooms are located on each floor and shared between the lads and ladies. -We do not accept guests under the youthful age of 18 due to our fears of irreversible corruption as a result of interactions with our staff team. Also for legal reasons. -We do not host stag or hen parties. We ask you to contact us directly before booking if; -You wish to stay for a prolonged period of time or any more than 14 days. -Your party/group/fellowship/bouquet of flowery friends is larger than 6 members. If you plan to have a busy day and don't want to spend hours drying naturally, we offer towel rentals for only £0.20 And why not take advantage of our laundry service costing £3.50 And clean a whole bag of socks. For our high rolling guests, enter the world of luxury as you step into the mahogany filled reception area where you can listen to or endeavour to play the smooth sounds of the piano while smoking your pipe on the antiquated rich leather couches we acquired from private sales across the globe. Disclaimer; we do not allow smoking inside the hostel under any circumstances. We do however invite you to pursue future diseases and lung problems by taking advantage of our smoking area conveniently placed outside, and accessible from, the lounge. We also have a fish tank Come have fun High Street Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your High Street Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Hotel Edinburgh
High Street Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing