We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant for backpackers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of High Street Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Street Hostel
Carlisle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant for backpackers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here as a last minute resort for a wedding we were going to. This is a perfect accommodation for the travelling world but definately not luxury!

The only down side to this hostel for 1 night stayers or long term backpackers is that there is no sockets in the rooms?!! Also they could really invest in buying new bedding as bedding and rooms smell a bit musty (not nice to wake up with a terrible hangover). Do not let this put you off staying here as it is situated in a beautiful setting on the corner of the royal mile. I would probably stay here agin if I was looking for somewhere just to crash my head for the night!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    169
    54
    26
    16
See reviews for
16
46
117
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

It would be a great hostel if it were not for 2 things: one, terrible wifi. Two, there's a guy at reception who's really unfriendly. Seems to think that bitterness is a good receptionist attribute. Real contrast to other macbackpacker hostels I've been (Fort William and Skye).

Other than that, the place is great! The rest of the staff is friendly, great common area with lots of people, good big kitchen, clean, lockers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Rooms were ok, smelt a little off but bareable. Rooms were warm which was great for winter. Showers are a bit small and dont have anywhere to hang towels or clothes. The sinks were also broken on our level so we had to use a different bathroom to brush our teeth. Location is great though and the staff were really nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicax0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stay anywhere but here, it would be impossible to find anywhere worse than here. The entire hostel smelled like faeces, no powerpoints in the rooms, rooms were dirty and tiny, showers and toilets were unisex, dirty and there was no hot water. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisastevo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Rooms were really cold, the windows wouldn't close. Had to share toilets and showers with everybody and were unisex. Beds were VERY uncomfortable. Smell wasn't great at all. No sockets or mirrors in the rooms which means you have to get ready on the hallway. I didn't enjoy my stay here at all, i only stayed one of the two nights! For the second night i went to a 5 star hostel down the road which had a lot better facilities and there wasn't much of a price difference!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We were six travel agents used to good hotels who had to chose a hostel because all accommodation in Edinburgh was fully booked due to a rugby match. The location was amazing, 50 m from the middle of the Royal Mile and five minutes walk to Grassmarket. The rooms was cold and spartan, with nothing but beds - not even a chair - but a draughty window. No fridge, no coffee making facilities, and a 10£ deposit for each key. The bathrooms across the hall were dirty, and the showers were cold (and constantly occupied). Free wi-fi in the reception. Amusingly there were tighter security to enter this hostel than most 5* hotels! But hey, we were just there to sleep for a few hours betweeen pub crawls!

Room Tip: The Radisson is just around the corner... and stay away from the top floor as there is no lift here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed at the High Street hostel in May of 2011. I found the location to be fantastic - walking distance to everything a traveller could want. The bathrooms were quite dirty and it was extremely loud, but that is to be expected. We didn't go there to get a 5 star experience, we went there to have fun. Unfortunately, my brother became extremely ill after having food poisoning in Germany, and our trip was therefore not what we expected. We checked out of the hostel while he was admitted to the hospital, and we had to find somewhere else to stay as we were not booked in for additional nights and there was no vacancy. The staff was extremely helpful, and let us return to use the internet for free to change flights and cancel reservations at other places, for as long as we wanted. It made our day a lot better while being stuck in a bad situation! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Hostel

Property: High Street Hostel
Address: 8 Blackfriars St., Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Street Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh. Relax, as a result of recent refurbishments we can assure guests of FREE HOSTEL WIDE WIFI and personal POWER POINTS next to EVERY bed. Thrive in the backpackers atmosphere and meet people from across the globe. 24/7 Hot showers, FREE tea, coffee, hot chocolate and unrivaled ambiance are just a few factors combining to make your stay here at High Street Hostel a unique experience. High Street Hostel operates inside a historical 470 year old building formally known as Morton House. The resident, Earl of Morton, was beheaded in 1581, a consequence of his involvement in the murder of Mary Queen of Scots' husband. These days, we operate with less beheadings and more beddings.. Hah.. However don't be mislead. Though the hostel may be 470 years old we possess state-of-the-art facilities that will make you immediately question the present century. Welcome to the future, it comes with wifi. In conjunction with our next-generation building-wide wifi we have included personal power points next to each bed. With this combination you can maximise your time spent in bed watching films on your device instead of exploring this seemingly pre-historic city. NOTE: Do not panic. If you do not have your own device to waste time, on you may rent a tablet, or use the PC in the reception area. In regards to location, High Street Hostel is one of the most ideally situated hostels enabling travellers to step out of the door right into the heart of the city. As time goes by it seems we are becoming flanked by restaurants, pubs, and live music venues from all directions, explore the likes of which during our weekly pub crawls, trivia nights and other various events. For the night owls, we boast a 24 hour reception and lounge area to hang out before you embark on or after you wake from the sleep befit for a King of Scotland. High Street Hostel boasts the most relaxing and reverie packed atmosphere in all of Blackfriars Street, winning the Blackfriars Street hostel of the decade award 3 weeks in a row! Enjoy a daydream in the lounge with the landscape mural or question your sanity in the reception with whatever dubious music choice the receptionist at the time entertains. Whatever your fancy, the team at HSH is here to ensure a fulfilling experience of UK's favourite city. For the frugal travellers, rest easy knowing our prices are the most competitive in the city. Not only this, but discounts are offered throughout the city to our guests for pubs to cafes to entertainment venues. If you don't like to eat out, we maintain a fully equipped kitchen that would cause Jamie Oliver himself to quiver in fear at the thought of the storm he could cook up in it. We have tables and chairs acquired from what was the local church so you may be inspired while impressing your friends or any new friends you might make during your stay with that one elaborately delicious and spiritually enlightening meal you know how to make. Sleep well knowing you may continue your lucid mental state come morning time by avoiding the hassle of embarking into the nightmarish cold weather and taking advantage of our £1.90 Buffet styled breakfast available until 10:30am. Important things to note for more scrupulous readers; -The rumours are true, we do have a pool table. -Showers and bathrooms are located on each floor and shared between the lads and ladies. -We do not accept guests under the youthful age of 18 due to our fears of irreversible corruption as a result of interactions with our staff team. Also for legal reasons. -We do not host stag or hen parties. We ask you to contact us directly before booking if; -You wish to stay for a prolonged period of time or any more than 14 days. -Your party/group/fellowship/bouquet of flowery friends is larger than 6 members. If you plan to have a busy day and don't want to spend hours drying naturally, we offer towel rentals for only £0.20 And why not take advantage of our laundry service costing £3.50 And clean a whole bag of socks. For our high rolling guests, enter the world of luxury as you step into the mahogany filled reception area where you can listen to or endeavour to play the smooth sounds of the piano while smoking your pipe on the antiquated rich leather couches we acquired from private sales across the globe. Disclaimer; we do not allow smoking inside the hostel under any circumstances. We do however invite you to pursue future diseases and lung problems by taking advantage of our smoking area conveniently placed outside, and accessible from, the lounge. We also have a fish tank Come have fun High Street Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your High Street Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Hotel Edinburgh
High Street Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing