We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Street Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Inn on the Mile(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Inn Place(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
190
199
62
27
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
199
62
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomroyal milegreat locationbed female dormbathrooms and showerspower outletsbed roomtop bunkfree wifitrain stationyour luggageten minute walklight sleeperfringe festivalenjoyed my stayno liftcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

It would be a great hostel if it were not for 2 things: one, terrible wifi. Two, there's a guy at reception who's really unfriendly. Seems to think that bitterness is a good receptionist attribute. Real contrast to other macbackpacker hostels I've been (Fort William and Skye).

Other than that, the place is great! The rest of the staff is friendly, great common area with lots of people, good big kitchen, clean, lockers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Rooms were ok, smelt a little off but bareable. Rooms were warm which was great for winter. Showers are a bit small and dont have anywhere to hang towels or clothes. The sinks were also broken on our level so we had to use a different bathroom to brush our teeth. Location is great though and the staff were really nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicax0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stay anywhere but here, it would be impossible to find anywhere worse than here. The entire hostel smelled like faeces, no powerpoints in the rooms, rooms were dirty and tiny, showers and toilets were unisex, dirty and there was no hot water. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisastevo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Rooms were really cold, the windows wouldn't close. Had to share toilets and showers with everybody and were unisex. Beds were VERY uncomfortable. Smell wasn't great at all. No sockets or mirrors in the rooms which means you have to get ready on the hallway. I didn't enjoy my stay here at all, i only stayed one of the two nights! For the second night i went to a 5 star hostel down the road which had a lot better facilities and there wasn't much of a price difference!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicola o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We were six travel agents used to good hotels who had to chose a hostel because all accommodation in Edinburgh was fully booked due to a rugby match. The location was amazing, 50 m from the middle of the Royal Mile and five minutes walk to Grassmarket. The rooms was cold and spartan, with nothing but beds - not even a chair - but a draughty window. No fridge, no coffee making facilities, and a 10£ deposit for each key. The bathrooms across the hall were dirty, and the showers were cold (and constantly occupied). Free wi-fi in the reception. Amusingly there were tighter security to enter this hostel than most 5* hotels! But hey, we were just there to sleep for a few hours betweeen pub crawls!

Room Tip: The Radisson is just around the corner... and stay away from the top floor as there is no lift here.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews