We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here if you actually want to sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #115 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you actually want to sleep!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Possibly the worst hotel experience I have had. Excellent location, but that was the only good point. Room was fine, clean with functional furniture. The main problem was that it was full of drunken groups, shouting screaming etc and generally making noise from about 2 am onwards. Just ridiculous! They need to put couples away from these groups. This was a cheap deal on last-minute.com for £50, but it certainly wasn't worth that. I would not stay here again if you paid me.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    1,445
    882
    359
    186
See reviews for
899
1,316
179
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed couple of nights. Standard double room facing the train station. Can hear the trains at night. Standard Scottish breakfast. Disappointed no free wifi for the price you pay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YeeSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is not a luxury hotel. I stayed in this Jurys Inn for 4 nights for a business trip and have previously stayed in more expensive hotels, but this was fine, The outside of the building is ugly and the hotel's bar and restaurant lack character but the location is central and an easy walk to most places of interest and the hotel is close to Waverley railway station and the airport and city buses. My room was at the back of the hotel on the sixth floor was clean and bright, with a reasonable bed and an excellent shower.There was a little noise at night from the close that runs through the hotel. Food in the bar and restaurant were both better than ok as was the breakfast. Reception staff were friendly and knowledgable. I will go back to this hotel

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might prefer a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights last year. Its in a superb location, by Waverley Street station and the back of the hotel is a staircase leading into the Royal Mile.

The hotel offers all of the standards of service I have come to expect of this good quality chain of hotels, I had no grumbles whatsoever...being city centre Edinburgh you need to bar ein mind the cost of car parking when looking at some of the excellent rates that Jurys Inn can offer. Its near the Waverley Street car park and you get a discount being a hotel guest which was a bonus.

Overall a very good venue for a stay, with consistent standards in terms of food, room, appearance, etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Where to start, great stay in Jurys Inn, Edinburgh. Great location just off the royal mile. Front office staff are an asset to the Hotel, Ela & Alan were very helpful. Rooms have come along since the last time I was in the hotel, beds were extremely comfortable with lovely comfortable pillows and duvet & good toiletries. Only little thing is that the shower needs a bit of pressure, otherwise everything else was good. Loved the free pint of Guninness on Paddies day when you wore some Shamrock, great craic in the bar with Kris and Norman on Paddies night. Definitively will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14sunflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is good budget hotel and well worth a stay if in Edinburgh.
We stayed here for two nights. We had a room on the front which had a nice view but was a bit noisy with the traffic and nearby railway station. The room was rather cold and we had to call reception to see if they could turn the heating on. A portable heater was sent to the room within minutes. The heating only seemed to be on in the early evening and even then the room was cold. With the portable heater it was ok though.
The room was clean and spacious with a good shower in the bathroom. We arrived early and were given a room straight away. The staff were very nice and helpful and all our requests were met. The breakfasts were very good and varied with the usual hot breakfast along with fresh fruit, cereals, nuts, yogurts, cheese, toast and jams as well as a varied amount of croissants. We paid £110 for two nights which was great value. The location cannot be faulty its right in centre only minutes from the station, shops and the royal mile. There are lots of restaurants nearby we went to Monteiths this was an excellent restaurant find, very reasonably priced with great food. (Try the Haggis Neeps and Tatties .)When you leave the hotel turn right up the steps on to the royal mile then turn left and you will find the restaurant down a small passageway. Also the tea shop on the steps Forsyths has great cakes. The amber restaurant in the whiskey experience was also very good. The food in the castle restaurant however not so good and served cold could not recommend.

Room Tip: The roms on the front have nicer veiws but can be a little noisier. Take soom ear plugs if your a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Just arrived back from a night in Jury's. We chose this hotel due to the location which was excellent. However the hotel room was extremely cold. We were unable to put on the heating and the staff informed us the heating was on a timer. They gave us a portable heater but were unable to advance the timer. We spoke to others in the lift who had the same complaint. At the beginning of March we felt it should be left to guests to regulate their own bedroom radiators. At 7 pm in the evening no heat had come through. Due to this we would not stay here again and feel if a hotel cannot afford to heat the hotel efficiently they should close down.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing