We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #115 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Runcorn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average Hotel Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Room was average, looked a little tired, Shower was not the best, shower curtains very annoying and bath very small. Fortunately I wasnt there for pleasure as the view out of my window was off the bins - very nice.....
Room was very cold when I arrived - soon noticed that the heating system was switched off, room warmed a little when I switched it on however still didnt feel very warm.
Bed wasnt that comfy and the duvet quite thin, Above all it was an average hotel for an average ammount of money - I wouldnt necessary recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    1,431
    865
    348
    183
See reviews for
881
1,294
179
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I had a great two day staying here. Fantastic Views, excellent service, clean spaces room.
All for a great price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeynuts82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

It was excellent! Never been happier! Used this hotel, because my family and I need to catch an early train in the morning. Room very clean and big, food was good and really good standard for the price we've paid.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Only round the corner from the airport bus which terminates at Waverly station which is a plus .
The same for Princes street and just up the stairs at the back to the Royal Mile.Took notice of previous reviews and asked for a room at the back .Not sure now that this is necessary as the front has a better view and the noise from the street is not excessive so long as you go to floor 5 ,6 or 7.
The staff at reception, housekeeping and breakfast were very pleasant, helpful and efficient .The breakfast had a very good selection.
Only a few down sides .
The bar and restaurant area are dated and need refurbishing,we found them unwelcoming.The music in the bar and TV programmes are very loud and seem to relate to the taste of whoever is serving . Would definitely not take a room above the bar.
The room we had, 506, had a musty damp smell that did not go away even when the windows were left open.This had to be noticable to hotel staff.
Internet is too expensive and by todays standard should be readily available.It reminds me of when using the telephone in a hotel cost as much as the room.
Overall though I think it was value for money and its location will always win out.

Room Tip: Go to floor 5 or above try the front rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Possibly the worst hotel experience I have had. Excellent location, but that was the only good point. Room was fine, clean with functional furniture. The main problem was that it was full of drunken groups, shouting screaming etc and generally making noise from about 2 am onwards. Just ridiculous! They need to put couples away from these groups. This was a cheap deal on last-minute.com for £50, but it certainly wasn't worth that. I would not stay here again if you paid me.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed couple of nights. Standard double room facing the train station. Can hear the trains at night. Standard Scottish breakfast. Disappointed no free wifi for the price you pay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YeeSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is not a luxury hotel. I stayed in this Jurys Inn for 4 nights for a business trip and have previously stayed in more expensive hotels, but this was fine, The outside of the building is ugly and the hotel's bar and restaurant lack character but the location is central and an easy walk to most places of interest and the hotel is close to Waverley railway station and the airport and city buses. My room was at the back of the hotel on the sixth floor was clean and bright, with a reasonable bed and an excellent shower.There was a little noise at night from the close that runs through the hotel. Food in the bar and restaurant were both better than ok as was the breakfast. Reception staff were friendly and knowledgable. I will go back to this hotel

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might prefer a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#103 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing