We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,004)
Filter reviews
2,005 results
Traveller rating
823
741
300
81
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
823
741
300
81
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal mile great location st mary's street travel lodge room was clean family room budget hotel shower curtain train station few minutes walk holyrood palace would stay again buffet breakfast stayed here for one night good nights sleep short break hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 2,005 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2017

I've stayed at the Edinburgh Central Travelodge several times now, and each time it has been up to standard. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the rooms clean and the breakfast is good.

The hotel itself is in a great location just off the Royal Mile, with loads of lovely cafes, bars and restaurants nearby (try Reekies Smokehouse!)

I'll definitely be back next time I'm in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is quieter, I believe.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

We checked into the hotel to be told that our room had 2 beds, as we were travelling as friends for the rugby.

Room only had 1 double so back down to reception to be told by the very "tactful" receptionist that there was nothing they could do as that is what we had booked despite us definitely booking a spare bed.

Manager got involved after some length of conversation & rectified the situation by bringing another bed to our room which sorted the issue straight away & also offered us a free breakfast & an e voucher for a further stay.

Went out for the night & came back about 12 to find the key wouldn't work in our door so back to reception to rectify this & into our room to find 2 strangers asleep in our beds!

Reception apparently had booked them into the wrong room, the room with all our valuables & bags in!

Reception quickly cleared them out & to their correct room before remaking our beds for us.

In the morning we got our free breakfast & a full refund.

Hotel was farcical only saved by a few members of staff, manager & night receptionist, who acted swiftly & effectively to resolve the issues they had created.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank NeilA1973CP1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Thank you for your review of our Edinburgh Central Travelodge and taking the time to share your experience with us. We're really sorry to learn of your disappointment with your overall stay. We want our customers to enjoy their experience in our hotels so we are sorry to learn that you did not receive our high standard of service on this occasion, on a brighter note we're pleased that when this was brought to the attention of the hotel team and a full refund was given. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is really close to the Royal Mile. It is central.
Edinburgh is beautiful. This hotel kept us in the ambience of the city.
It was quiet. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was very good for breakfast. It was great value for money.
We'll be back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Markmark1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

We are really pleased to hear that your experience with us in our Edinburgh Central Travelodge hotel was positive. Please allow us to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We aim to provide our guests a comfortable and relaxing environment that is perfect for getting a great night’s sleep. That is why we're quite thrilled to hear that the comfort of your bed and the high standards of cleanliness helped achieved this for your time with us. Your comments are invaluable and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile

The hotel was in a very convenient area hence being in the centre of Edinburgh, shops were situated nearby and the stay was very pleasant.

We stayed at this hotel because we visited Edinburgh as part of a break in the half term. The hotel served breakfast in the mornings which was to a decent standard and the room was clean, with a bathroom containing a bath/shower. Ironing boards, hairdryers and extra tea and coffee was available from reception and a vending machine was on ground floor of the accommodation for a drink later in the evening.

Breakfast consisted of crossaint, full English, fruit salad, toast, cereal and spreads with branded names like Nutella to go with the food. It was a self service setup.

Check in was easy. Parking wasn't so helpful as it was a pay and display car park which was quite expensive per 24 hours. We stayed for 2 nights and overall the stay was to a good standard.

We could easily go out for lunch and dinner as restaurants were positioned nearby and daytime attractions were also nearby.

Staff were friendly and reception was open 24 hours. Dinner was also served in the hotel.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Haz0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Thank you for submitting your review. We're so pleased you found our hotel in a very convenient location for your visit to Edinburgh and you were positively impressed with our bar/cafe breakfast choices. We will ensure the hotel team receives a copy of your kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

A great location and well-presented hotel. Wi-Fi would be better if it was free of charge, otherwise all expectations were met.
If you want a great value hotel which is close to all of the main tourist attractions, look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank IanDStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews