We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #103 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Hotel is in ideal situaton for sightseeing, shopping and railway station. Room was stylish and very well equipped. Staff were helpful and meals were very good. Surprisingly quiet considering it is on the main street and tram lines are still a work in progress. First class Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Another great review and there is little I can add excpet a big "Thank You" to this reviewer.
Hope to see you again....
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,057)
There are newer reviews for The Old Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,365 - 1,371 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Only 2mins walk from the main train station. Staff were friendly (and allowed me to check out a bit later than the advertised time), room was clean and a reasonable size. It's not luxury, but at £50 a night was excellent value.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank tvjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

We do strive to offer a quality service at all times and a perception of value for money is key - so I am gratified to learn that this guest was not disappointed.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My 4-days stay in Old Waverley hotel was really very good. Friendly staff, good cuisine, and everything just in walk reach. Scots try to built tram in the center and therefore the main street is closed but ... inspite that it was great stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The hotel was clean, quiet, and was in the perfect location to experience Edinburgh. Check in was great and leaving your key at the desk when you leave was a nice security feature. The hotel sits above several retail shops. The train station is just across the street along with a shopping mall including several great places for breakfast. Accomodations were comfortable. Breakfast was extra and we did not partake in that. The Royal Mile was just across the Waverley Bridge and up a hill.

Room Tip: For couples, we had a corner room which was most comfortable including a small vestibule before the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jahoesafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Lobby is difficult to access with too many stairs for anyone who is not fit. The wall paper, curtains and carpets are worn and badly need updating and repairs. Way over priced for what you get. I guess you are paying for the location, but money needs to be reinvested in the property. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Great location but tired and worn out decor. Don't let the hotel staff assist you in connecting...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after taking the sleeper train up from London. Though our rooms were not available when we arrived at 8AM, the front desk graciously stored our luggage for us as we went out to explore the town and grab some breakfast. Edinburgh is so small you ca
Our room was on the smaller side (I assume it's because this building is really old), but very cozy and the bathroom was quite large. Breakfast was included in the rate we booked online so we enjoyed a full breakfast buffet which included haggis! The dining room had a great view of the Edinburgh Castle and the Scott Monument. All of the staff members we encountered were really helpful and kind - especially the gentleman at the front desk that was working most mornings (I can't remember his name, I believe it started with a G?)
The only negative I can think of is that sound travels between the room and the hallways very easily. We could hear everything going on in the hallways and when you're in the hallways you can hear the sounds of TV's on in every room! However it was very quiet at night and and we had a great sleep both nights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Fantastic praise for the Old Waverley and wonderful to read. Many thanks to this guest and I will pass on his comments to the team especially Gyorgy, Receptionist extraordinaire, who was so kindly singled out for a special mention
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel is in a very good location in Edinburgh, on Prince Street and close to Old Town. The hotel is old, so you'll be hearing the floorboards creaking from people walking in your room and adjacent ones. Room was nonetheless comfortable and spacious, and the service was great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

A great review and my thanks to this guest for the wonderful comments regarding our service and location. Built in 1848 there is no denying that the Old Waverley has been here for a long time - although you would not neccessarily see that from the inside as we constantly strive to keep our product looking fresh, but this means we have had 160 years to perfect our level of quality service, which I hope is evident from our other great reviews.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,334 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $133 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing