We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic for a budget hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #75 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic for a budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Recently stayed here three nights on a girls weekend. Although the hotel is small the rooms were very comfortable. The small touches were really nice - a proper hairdryer supplied for once, Elemis toiletries, LCD TV, steam iron and ironing board. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast selection was very good and well cooked. Staff were very friendly. It is a short walk to Princes Street approx 15 mins. Hotel was being renovated while we were their but did not interfer with our stay in any way. After a night out in Grassmarket the staff in their sister hotel kindly called us a cab and allowed us to wait in comfort even though we had not spent any time in the hotel. Cannot praise Apex enough and will use this chain again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    403
    137
    54
    19
See reviews for
86
413
59
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over a long weekend in March. On entering the hotel it was not very inviting. Decor dark and dull corridors and breakfast room also painted in dark colours. No where to sit whilst checking in.

However, all this might not have mattered if service had been better. We did not feel well received at reception. Also although we were officially put in a non smoking room the room had clearly been used for smoking and my husband and I woke up with headaches and sore throats in the morning. We were given another room but no apology made.
The on the second day at breakfast 10 minutes after ordering I was told the there was no syrup for the pancakes. I therefore ordered an omlette. 30 mins after originally ordering no omlette. I asked a waitress what had happened but she wouldn't answer. I walked out in disgust.
To be fair our room was OK and bed comfortable but bathroom contained the smallest bath I have ever been in!
We loved Edinburgh but we will not go back to this hotel. Would also look for somewhere more central another time.

Room Tip: If you wat non smoking make sure it really is non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 883sallyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne Lincs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for a Friday night game at Murrayfield, which is a short walk away. The recptionist was excellent and made sure we new about the discounted food offer. All the desk staff during our stay were friendly and helpful. The room was small but had everything we needed. Large king sized bed, plenty of twoel and pillows, Bottled water was replenished during our stay, good choice of teas, coffees, chocolate etc. The only negative point was how poor the restauarnt staff are. Unfriendly and unhelpful in the evening. Food in the restaurant was good but was spoilt by dreadful service, even though we were the only people in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel and rooms near the lift which would be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BourneTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel was fine, it is a bit impersonal in that the reception is very small with a lack of public areas, bit soulless to be honest, the room as very small which may have reflected the small price we paid for the night stay, having said that everything you would need has been shoe horned in, the bathroom was well small and compact, not sure what was going on with the sink it was so so low down it was really a pain to use and i am only 5ft 9, We found the lift to be really interesting on the way up it had a sort of bungie movement during which time you were not sure if you would get to the 4th floor or career to the basement at great speed, I really enjoyed taking the risk however my good lady opted for the stairs, the traffic noise was an issue as usual in most CC locations, on the plus the nice things were good toiletries, plenty good towels, fridge with complimentary water, good biscuits, tea & coffee, also the telly was huge or was it the room that was small, we were also very lucky to get parking as the car park has a max of 10 spaces, for the price we paid it was good for the rack rate no way .........enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is not central to the hub of the city but as a more economical option it is a great choice as standards were high & we did not encounter any problems.
It took us about 15 mins to walk , however the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from a train station & the trains very reliable and saved the feet!
The room was comfortable, quiet & the housekeeping was good. The staff were always pleasant and helpful, breakfast was always generous & delicious, I especially liked the way breakfast was managed. We never had to wait for a table, we were seated each time and our order was taken. Tea/coffee, toast & cooked breakfast was brought by a waiter & fruit, cereals, rolls, juice etc was self service. We never felt rushed and were well looked after.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowchickawowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The only con I can muster up is that it is a little off the "main" part of tourist central, the bustling Haymarket Square. It is about a 15 min walk. My husband and I walked it each night we stayed, and every morning as well. We felt very safe and the walk was for the most part beautiful. Our friends were staying at a hotel in Haymarket square, and they said it got a bit loud at night there. Our hotel was quiet and had absolutely gorgeous views. Breakfast there was delicious with a huge selection. One morning I had their vegetarian haggis, yum!! Staff was very helpful and knowledgable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank em r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Didnt know what to expect before we arrived so relied on TA.

We were very impressed. Hotel was modern, friendly staff and good rooms. Free wifi was a bonus. Our room was slightly smaller than we'd have liked but that's was probably just bad luck.

Location is just a few minutes walk from haymarket station. Several buses stop outside but does seem to be a building site like a lot of Edinburgh due to the heavily delayed tram building works (tram won't come right outside hotel but they still seem to dig up road).

As I say a good hotel in a good location which is about 15 mins walk into the west end. Breakfast sounded pricey at £10 each but I'd recommend cafe milk which is 5-6 mins walk away and does really nice stuff. Finally I would have liked to have seen a few leaflet racks about Edinburgh attractions but thats me just been picky.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#50 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Property: Apex Haymarket Hotel
Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing