We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“what a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #13 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“what a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

from the moment we walked in, gemma at reception made us feel very welcome, relaxed atmosphere, amazing building, room delightful. Bar had hibs fans in and being a Hearts fan that was a shock but im assured its not the norm. Food incredible, good value to set meny prices. The service is exemplary and has a personal touch. great location and the building is incredible, each room different. One tiny flaw, the car park could do with being better signposted from main road, other than that, perfect, and we'll be back!!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 12121874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    308
    75
    23
    16
See reviews for
128
768
62
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

We arrived late and got last space in car park and that's where it stayed for 3 days as it's a easy walk into the centre of town and the bus stop is right outside if you want to take that. We had paid for a superier double and it was underground. Ok it did not have a view but the room was everything we needed and had a bath and shower and big tv. However we also had another sitting room the same size which i did not notice when i came into our room which also had a tv with a bed sitee. That will be for our son on our next visit. The cooked breakfast was the best i've tasted - everything was spot on and the service from the barman, receptionists and smiling chef was again spot on. We had our meals across the road in the sister hotel and everyone was so friendly. Ok i'm sure there are more beautiful hotels but you've got to look at the whole picture. Taking into consideration the proximity to the city centre, room, price, parking, food and staff i think it just about deserves it's 4 stars and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footsore71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

One can easily overlook the location of the hotel (situated about 10 minutes away from the central attractions) thanks to quality of its rooms. The rooms are spacious and well-equiped, clean, with high-quality products for the guests (soaps, shampoos, etc.) There is also a lovely common area in the basement for informal meetings.

Excellent range of produce provided at breakfast, with comfortable dining settings.

The staff are friendly and efficent, but can be a tad inflexible with accommodation arrangements (though given the situation it is difficult to fault them.)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank map_maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel with our young daughter and couldn't have been made more welcome. All members of staff were really friendly and went out of their way to make our stay great. The hotel is in a very convenient location, only a few mintes walk from the city, or use the bus stop just over the road for frequent services.

Breakfast is excellent, definitely sets you up for the day ahead, but we didn't use the restaurant in the sister hotel so can't comment.

ll in all great value for money amd I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula24jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

We stayed for three nights and were well looked after. The staff were very helpful and the rooms comfortable enough though our bathroom was very tiny. All rather dark with low power bulbs and we took the shade off the bedside light but it was still really too dark to read in bed.
The food in the restaurant was good but the service was very slow at times.
Very conveniently located for exploring the city and we would certainly stay here again if in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgendDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We arrirved in the evening after a long day driving "free parking at front ", we were made to feel like royalty by the staff as soon as we arrived and a beautaful big luxurious room awaited us. A quick freshen up and over accross the road to the Dunstane House for a great meal and few drinks to round off the evening, the restaraunt uses lots of produce fron the owners homeland of Orkney Isles. All in all highly recommended, will definatley be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunstane dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of our bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing