We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Apex City Hotel Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #41 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Had a girl friends weekend away from 3 to 5 March.
Hotel just great from staff on reception to lovely room but a tight fit for 3 and quite expensive rate for B& B. (breakfast was of a really high quality though and would keep you going for the day..)
Good points included excelent staff, fab location to all attractions, taxi rank at door, loads of excellent restaurants at door step. We has areally fun time enjoying the atmosphere and the genrral good fun on all pubs and restauents. and some rally gorgeous shops selling QUALITY SCOTTISH & ENGLISH GOODS...
Advice look for room at side or back of hotel if you want to open window and not have too much noise....
I would love to return here..

Room Tip: rooms to side and back and on higher floors are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,544)
There are newer reviews for Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,750 - 1,756 of 2,545 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

The staff were great, the hotel was lovely, the sound of distant bagpipes woke us up in the morning - all good. However, the rooms were very warm, even with the heating off - and the pillows were extremely soft, which was less comfortable than it sounds.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becca_RGC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Spent three nights here recently and cannot find fault with anything in the hotel. Location is great and close to all main sightseeing attractions whilst rooms are very peaceful and comfortable.

Breakfast was very good and cooked fresh to order. Bar food also good.

Overall one to try and I certainly thought it was superb overall.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annaihr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We travel to Edinburgh a few times a year on business and to see family. More often than not now we use the Apex for it's fabulous location on the Grassmarket. Lots of bars & restaurants are a stones throw away and the hotel bar has a great view of Edinburgh Castle. The staff here are always friendly and helpful and the food freshly cooked and always good. Rooms very comfortable-prices are not too bad either. Would highly recommend the hotel for business or holiday.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms at the rear of the hotel have no view but are quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in February 2012. The staff wre really friendly and helpful, the room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfasts were delightful. If you are going to Edinburgh then check this one out.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluecaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Had booked up to stay 29 th feb. for a surprise get away to propose to my boyfriend. Had contacted the hotel reception before hand to arrange the ring being brought with room service and the correspondence was excellent they could not have been more helpful. Our room as upgraded to superior and that's exactly what it was. The room was actually two rooms, one room with couch, table chairs, desk etc large flat screen tv, mini fridge etc, second room huge double kingsize bed, another 42 inch plasma tv, bath and separate shower room. The rooms were spotless clean and modern. The little extra personal touches added to the enjoyment of our stay, from our cosy bath robes and slippers to our apex squeaky duck, jelly belly beans and ear plugs!! The view of the castle was amazing. We chose to go downstairs for our breakfast in the morning, although we could have had room service and ate at the table in our room. Breakfast choices were brilliant, continental,cereals,fruit juices,fruits,yogurts etc or full English all fresh made and wonderful service, great tasting food for really reasonable price.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the superior and castle view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummymummy031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Situated on grassmarket the hotel is ideally situated for all the city centre sights and is within view of the castle.
The room itself was lovely, though we did have two single beds pushed together rather than a double which was a bit strange and the windows were not very soundproof. The first night i was woken several times in the early hours by people who had obviously had a few but then the second night (a saturday) was completely fine. We had a room on the 4th floor to the side.
The tv in the room was huge, and the free wi-fi came in handy to plan trips.
The walk in shower in the bathroom was really nice and hot and overall we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the front and side of the hotel!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,537 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,195 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,662 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
983 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $123 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing