We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Come Ben the Hoose

Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Portobello Beach,  within walking distance 20min  (approx 1mile) Fully fitted ktichen, complete with welcome pack
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Portobello Beach,  within walking distance 20min  (approx 1mile)
Fully fitted ktichen, complete with welcome pack
Master bedroom, a lovely sunny room with twin beds builtin wardrobes and coathangers
Lounge features two chairs, plus a sofa and Freeview TV plus DVD
Dinning table folded away when not in use.
Light sunny lounge with book case and information leaflets
View as come in the front door, stairs to the 2 bedrooms
Bright Galley kitchen
Sky Light single bedroom with a built in wardrobe and childrens games .
Optional fold-up bed is available, or  travel cot
Shower room with wash hand basin and WC.  Shelving for toiletries
Fireworks from Edinburgh Castle
One of the many Street Performers in the Edinburgh during the Festival in August
Dunbar Harbour, East Lothian is also nearby and worth a visit
My grandson and myself sledging in the local park
Portobello beach looking towards Musselburgh with its harbour, shops and coastal walk way
Fireworks from Edinburgh Castle with spectators at the Military Tatoo on the castle espanade
Come Ben the Hoose, come in the house your welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Christine...
Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Staying at Ben the Hoose was like being at home with friends next door. The accommodation was everything we required with a lot more included. Being from Edinburgh we knew the location was well suited to sightseeing and travelling around Edinburgh / Scotland. Ann & Gordon were the icing on the cake, thank you for your hospitality and nothing is a problem attitude. We will certainly recommend Ben the Hoose to our relatives / friends in Australia.

Christine, Colin & Lynsay Minors
Perth, Western Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thank you Christine, Colin and Lynsay, for your lovely review. It was great having you stay at Come Ben the Hoose on 3 occasions on your return to you home town. We enjoyed your company and chats. I hope you are all well and settling back into life in Perth. We hope to see you again on your next visit. Sorry it has taken so long to reply Busy, Busy here. Best wishes Ann : }
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelCa...
Setubal, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Apartment”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic apartment, 15 minutes of edinburgh city center on bus.
Ann is a great host.
The house is great and the location perfect, transports and supermarkets nearby, it was perfect for us.
This is the best choice that we make for 5 days in Edinburgh.
Emanuel Candeias Setúbal (Portugal).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Come Ben the Hoose and I hope you enjoyed Edinburgh too bring in 2015. If you come back in the spring or summer you will you will see a different Edinburgh and Scotland. Thank you for your lovely Portuguese wine. Haste aye back. ( Old Scots, come back soon.)
Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
Yekaterinburg, Russia
1 review
“The loveliest place”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent 4 nights at this small comfortable home. The host Mrs Ann McDonald said, that we were first guests from Russia. Definitely excellent location. Perfect place for quiet holidays. Mrs Ann gladly explained where are the closest shops, bus stops and road to the beach. We were really surprised by wellcome pack included bottle of fine red wine and some food for lunch.
The kitchen is small, but have all facilities for cooking. There are plenty of booklets about entertainments in the city and some maps, that are useful for individual sightseeing tours. As other visitors, we left road map of Scotland. Hope, it will help someone;)
Wonderful home, hospitable host, great location! Hope to return sometime! Strongly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you for being wonderful guest and our first from Moscow. I look forward to meeting you again. Best wish to you all.
Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medavies2...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“nothing too much trouble.”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was possibly one of the best holiday homes I have ever stayed in! The owner Ann was there to greet us, went through everything but had it all written down just in case. The home was clean, well stocked and warm. The local facilities were easy to access and the bus service (a two minute walk to bus stop) took you in to the city. I was after something that I couldn't find, after mentioning it to Ann it appeared the next day after she had seen whilst out. Service above and beyond! My youngest son is now looking at it for a holiday with his partner for a short city break. The home is located in a quiet residential area but after the hussle and bussle of the city it was just what we wanted.
!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, would give more stars if I could
Liked least: the parking was a bit tight at times.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased you loved Come Ben the Hoose and enjoyed using our local bus service to get around Edinburgh. I hope you are both keeping well and hope to see again soon Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C
1 review
“Great little place to setup camp and tour the Sights.”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Hoose is a nice little place away from the city center but close to everything Edinburgh has to offer. For the adventurous, one can take a nice hike in the Holyrood park and climb over the hill for some great views and drop into the city center. For the less adventurous, three major bus stops surround the Hoose with direct buses to all the sights. If you're looking for a place to set up camp and are willing to not be smack in the city center, then this is the place to stay. If you need to step out of the door and into the city center, this is not the place for you.

The owners of the Hoose were great and I'd definitely stay here again. For those up for a walk, head to the beach. Tons of good eats and away from the tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners.
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
It was lovely having you stay at Come Ben the Hoose. I am so please you enjoyed our sandy beach and the shops at Portobello only 15 minutes walk away. I look forward to you making a return visit. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyMetc...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fan little place and fantastic host”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a lovely four nights here. We had our 16 month old with us and Ann supplied everything we needed for him, even loads of toys. Ann had provide food and bits for us which was very welcome. The accommodation was perfect for us and location was spot on- only ten min drive into city centre and the bus is also very convenient. Portobello beach is lovely too and lots of cafes/restaurants in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Come Ben the House, and Edinburgh and that the toys came to good use. We try our best to make your stay enjoyable. Best to you all. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milly26
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't Fault It!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just the best, the welcome was lovely as was the welcome pack that took the pressure off getting food. Great position with a Tesco Express down the road. The house was very clean and tidy with every gadget you could possibly need. Very friendly and knowledgeable hosts who respected your privacy. Has wifi but tends to full off the net so difficult to use. Excellent bus service into town made shopping and sight seeing a breeze. I cannot recommend Come Ben The Hoose more strongly, you will not go wrong staying here. Great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds
Liked least: WiFi access
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2014
It was lovely having you staying at Come Ben the Hoose. I was not aware that you had a problem with the WiFi I will get someone to check it.
Enjoy the rest of your travels and have a safe journey back to NZ.
Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing