We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nymz
Leeds, United Kingdom

Great value and friendly staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 20, 2021
Loved this place. Stayed one night before a tour and found it perfect for our needs. Our room had everything with a lovely big bathroom as well.

Staff was really friendly and helpful. Covid meant that there was no breakfast bar however this worked wonderfully for us as breakfast was delivered early to our door and we could take our packed breakfast with us. Super happy about that!
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review
Responded Jul 12, 2021
Dear adventuresinsolitude,
Thank you for a wonderful feedback. Hospitality sector has been badly effected with Covid and we are trying to provide the best service possible with all the current restrictions and financial implications. Thank you for your understanding and the encouagement.
Kind Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$389
C$336
  • ibis Styles
    C$335
  • Expedia.com
    C$336
  • Hotels.com
    C$336
0.9 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$169
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
1.0 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
C$213
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
C$159
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior view
C$360
  • Booking.com
    C$361
  • Expedia.com
    C$360
  • Hotels.com
    C$361
1.0 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$302
  • Expedia.com
    C$302
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$264
  • Hotels.com
    C$302
13.8 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$138
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
13.3 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
C$184
  • Priceline
    C$155
  • Expedia.com
    C$193
  • Agoda.com
    C$193
1.1 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Premier Inn bedroom
C$186
C$129
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$134
  • StayForLong
    C$186
  • Algotels
14.2 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (1,754)
Filter reviews
1,754 results
Traveller rating
574
641
311
120
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
574
641
311
120
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews playhouse theatre single room continental breakfast omni centre city centre calton hill leith walk minute walk tea and coffee train station would stay again the ground floor reception staff bars and restaurants reception area comfy bed royal mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 1,754 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2021

Once we got our bearings we found the hotel was in a good location - it is walkable from the train station, but it was a bit far for us to walk. But it was only short bus ride from the stop at the end of the road, to the sights.

The hotel is a good value hotel with friendly staff. Our 3 bedded room was very comfortable for 3 adults. The room was very clean, comfy beds and very well equipped. There was no maid service due to Covid and a continental breakfast was delivered to our room each morning.

Only negatives were the shower pressure was very poor and there was no visible bar service due to Covid.

We would stay again.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joannes808
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Dear joannes808,
Thank you for a wonderful feedback. Hospitality sector has been badly effected with Covid and we are trying to provide the best service possible with all the current restrictions and financial implications. Thank you for your understanding and the encouagement.
Our hotel is centrally located and all the facilities are in walking distances. Our rates are reasonable compared with the market and we offer a great value to our guests.
Kind Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2021

Booked for one night and paid extra for the Superior room . Room. Was tiny having to squeeze between the bed and wardrobe. The wardrobe had no doors as if it had you wouldn't be able to open them. No chair to sit as no space for one. Hairdryer provided but unusable as no socket near enough to mirror to use. Minimalist tea/ coffee tray which took up one of the bedside tables as guess what no space or other table to put it on. Kettle on other bedside table. So don't go for Cairns Superior room they are anything but

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank alexrD4273PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Dear alexrD4273PM,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are sorry that your experience at Cairn wasn't a good one. Our sincere apologies. We are a budget basic hotel and offers a great rate and value to our guest. Our superior rooms hold a most recent refurb compared to other rooms. Some of the rooms have size issues. We are a Georgian house conversion hotel and some rooms are smaller to others. But understandably our rates reflect in what we offer. We have a lot of repeated custom.
We are sorry that we could not meet your expectation.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2021 via mobile

I generally was happy with priceand the room was spacious enough for one night. Reason I booked was the added advantage of free street parking after 5:30pm on Friday and the free Saturday and Sunday. Could have booked 2 nights but the reason I did not is because tv did have hdmi but did not work and when I mentioned this they said nothing they can do. Also no chair in the room asked if I could take chair from downstairs told no. And found it cheeky to charge me 10 for extra hour delayed checkout

Room tip: Parking hotel charge 15 per day street parking free after 5:30.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Dear Maj G,
Thank you for your valuable feed back, We understand that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take every comments seriously and committed to improve. We are a basic hotel and have some challenges in providing all our guest needs. But we are consistently committed improve.
In regards to the late check out, we have limited housekeeping staff and late check out meaning more hours needs to be paid to clean the rooms. At this moment, it is not financially viable to offer this service for free. I hope you understand especially when you say it was a happy price you paid.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2021 via mobile

Very welcoming on arrival, easy check in process. Room very clean and had everything required for our stay, thoughtful bottles of water, snacks, tea and coffee provided along with a couple of bottles of wine to enjoy. The room was immaculate, bed very comfortable and the shower was super hot and great pressure! The breakfast was a bag dropped at the door and it was full of lovely things including porridge, yogurt and pastries, great start to the day!Easy to find the hotel and close to Playhouse area which has lots of great restaurants around. Couldn’t have had a better experience for our first trip in a long time, already recommended this place.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank expatbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Dear expatbairn,
Thank you for a wonderful feedback. Hospitality sector has been badly effected with Covid and we are trying to provide the best service possible with all the current restrictions and financial implications. Thank you for your understanding and the encouagement.
Kind Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2021 via mobile

Not sound proof at all which is frustrating. Not very clean. Staff ok, one lady was very nice. Good to have a big window but couldn’t open it at all. Poor ventilation especially during Covid and this is a concern. Make sure the windows can be opened properly please

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Oxana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2021

Dear Oxana K,
Thank you for your feedback. We take every comments seriously and committed to improve. Apologies for any inconvenience caused. The windows are restricted due to the safety protocols.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews