We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Joestravels1408
Manchester, United Kingdom

Couple weekend away

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 11, 2021via mobile
Visited Edinburgh July 2021 for a weekend with my partner. Stayed at Cairn Hotel for 1 night.
Overall really nice hotel for the money and good location for sightseeing. We got taxis to the old town and back but probably only a 10-15 minute walk if you’re not as lazy as us! It’s also a 20 minute taxi away from portobello beach which is also worth a visit for a change from the city.

Hotel is basic but has everything you need, the room was well equipped with hair dryer, iron, kettle and had a really large wide bed. Bed and pillows were average comfort, good enough for a night or weekend. Shower good power and easy to use, shower screen leaked the water on the floor a little but this seems to be common in a lot of hotels.

We managed to park outside the hotel in the street, we were here on the weekend so it was free parking and no limitations but it is permit holders or Max 4 hour stay during the week and you have to pay.

Lots of nice cafes and restaurants nearby, we went to Mamma Roma which is a lovely Italian restaurant I’d definitely recommend.

Overall good hotel, good location and worth a visit to take in the Edinburgh sights!
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review
Responded Jul 12, 2021
Thank you Joestravels1408 for your feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$389
C$336
  • ibis Styles
    C$335
  • Expedia.com
    C$336
  • Priceline
    C$336
0.9 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$169
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
1.0 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
C$213
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
C$159
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior view
C$361
  • ibis
    C$360
  • Expedia.com
    C$360
  • Hotels.com
    C$361
1.0 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$302
  • Expedia.com
    C$301
  • Vio.com
    C$265
  • Hotels.com
    C$302
13.8 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$138
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
13.3 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
C$184
  • Priceline
    C$155
  • Expedia.com
    C$193
  • Vio.com
    C$193
1.1 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Premier Inn bedroom
C$186
C$129
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$134
  • StayForLong
    C$186
  • Algotels
14.2 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (1,754)
Filter reviews
1,754 results
Traveller rating
574
641
311
120
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
574
641
311
120
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews playhouse theatre single room continental breakfast omni centre city centre calton hill leith walk minute walk tea and coffee train station would stay again the ground floor reception staff bars and restaurants reception area comfy bed royal mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,754 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2021

The lady with blonde hair that mostly works in the morning is the WORST. Very rude.
I’m not sure what’s her problem with us. Maybe because we’re ASIANS? Can’t help but think this way because evrytime I or we make inquiries with her she always give us that face and 1-liner answer but with locals or white customer she’s very accomodating with all smiles.
RUDE. UNPROFFESIONAL. RACIST

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KentoyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Thank you N5248MLkenm for your feedback.
We are sorry that you felt our service were not upto your expectation. The lady at the reception was only trying to explain and follow the covid protocols. I can assure you this wasn't a personal statement from her.
Our sincere apologies
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2021 via mobile

Having booked a superior room via booking.com me and my partner was really disappointed with room and facilities. The room was more like a small double there was nothing superior about it. We had to shuffle down beside the bed to get into it, the kettle had to be boiled on the bedside table as there was no plug facility where the actual tray was with your tea and coffee in it which was on a table, your breakfast was just left in a brown paper bag outside your room. Given what we had paid for 2 nights it was a very poor experience and when we also read the description of a superior room on their actual website, our room was nothing compared to what was stated on there. We also asked at reception if it was, but felt like we was fobbed off as the lady said it was and that it was due to it being an old Georgian building 🙄

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lougem009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Dear lougem009,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that our room were not upto your expectation. We are a budget 3 star property and our rates reflect in what we offer. Our sincere apologies if the room descriptions were misleading for you.
We take every comments seriously and committed to improve.
Kind Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2021

Loved this place. Stayed one night before a tour and found it perfect for our needs. Our room had everything with a lovely big bathroom as well.

Staff was really friendly and helpful. Covid meant that there was no breakfast bar however this worked wonderfully for us as breakfast was delivered early to our door and we could take our packed breakfast with us. Super happy about that!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adventuresinsolitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Dear adventuresinsolitude,
Thank you for a wonderful feedback. Hospitality sector has been badly effected with Covid and we are trying to provide the best service possible with all the current restrictions and financial implications. Thank you for your understanding and the encouagement.
Kind Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2021

Once we got our bearings we found the hotel was in a good location - it is walkable from the train station, but it was a bit far for us to walk. But it was only short bus ride from the stop at the end of the road, to the sights.

The hotel is a good value hotel with friendly staff. Our 3 bedded room was very comfortable for 3 adults. The room was very clean, comfy beds and very well equipped. There was no maid service due to Covid and a continental breakfast was delivered to our room each morning.

Only negatives were the shower pressure was very poor and there was no visible bar service due to Covid.

We would stay again.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joannes808
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Dear joannes808,
Thank you for a wonderful feedback. Hospitality sector has been badly effected with Covid and we are trying to provide the best service possible with all the current restrictions and financial implications. Thank you for your understanding and the encouagement.
Our hotel is centrally located and all the facilities are in walking distances. Our rates are reasonable compared with the market and we offer a great value to our guests.
Kind Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2021

Booked for one night and paid extra for the Superior room . Room. Was tiny having to squeeze between the bed and wardrobe. The wardrobe had no doors as if it had you wouldn't be able to open them. No chair to sit as no space for one. Hairdryer provided but unusable as no socket near enough to mirror to use. Minimalist tea/ coffee tray which took up one of the bedside tables as guess what no space or other table to put it on. Kettle on other bedside table. So don't go for Cairns Superior room they are anything but

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank alexrD4273PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Dear alexrD4273PM,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are sorry that your experience at Cairn wasn't a good one. Our sincere apologies. We are a budget basic hotel and offers a great rate and value to our guest. Our superior rooms hold a most recent refurb compared to other rooms. Some of the rooms have size issues. We are a Georgian house conversion hotel and some rooms are smaller to others. But understandably our rates reflect in what we offer. We have a lot of repeated custom.
We are sorry that we could not meet your expectation.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews