We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nessie
Bangkok, Thailand

Great value in a good location.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 18, 2021
We just returned from our trip to Scotland, and stayed at the Cairn Hotel the first two nights and the last night of our trip. We were pleasantly surprised at the comforts of this 3-star hotel and found it to be a very good value.

The hotel is reasonably close to the train station and center of town, if you don't mind a short walk (otherwise it is a short taxi ride). Our family of three managed just fine with 4 suitcases and 2 backpacks. The lobby is not impressive and the reception area made me think more of a hostel than a hotel, so I was weary of what our room would be like. Our first two nights, we opted for the two-bedroom apartment. At check-in, we were surprised to hear our rooms were across the street and the apartment up a narrow staircase (be aware that there is no elevator). However, when we got upstairs we found a comfortable apartment with two bedrooms (one with a double bed and one with two twin beds), a bathroom, a hallway with a long table and bar stools, and a little kitchenette with a fridge, stovetop, sink, kettle, and tea, coffee, bottled water, and snacks. There was fans in each room which was very convenient as it was quite warm). The rooms looked out onto private gardens and homes and we didn't hear any outside noise our whole stay.

When we returned, we downgraded to a three-person room, which was in the same building as the reception, and were pleasantly surprised yet again at a spacious, modern room with a double bed and single bed. Everything has clearly been renovated and is modern and comfortable.

The hotel will hold suitcases/bags for £1 a bag after the 11 am check-out.

We didn't get the breakfast as we preferred to eat in the city and didn't try the bar, but had a very comfortable stay and would recommend this to anyone visiting Edinburgh.
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your custom and committed to improve and takes every comments seriously.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$428
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$428
0.6 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
C$186
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$184
  • Booking.com
8.9 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Inn bedroom
C$90
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
14.2 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis Styles
    C$447
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$406
  • Expedia.com
    C$449
1.7 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$165
  • Priceline
13.8 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis
    C$329
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$204
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Britannia Edinburgh Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$114
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (1,752)
Filter reviews
1,752 results
Traveller rating
574
639
311
120
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
574
639
311
120
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews playhouse theatre single room continental breakfast omni centre city centre calton hill leith walk minute walk tea and coffee train station would stay again the ground floor reception staff bars and restaurants reception area comfy bed royal mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 1,752 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2021 via mobile

Very good location, quite close to the Old town and Royal Mile, yet quiet. My room (210) and toilet/shower were very clean. Although I didn’t like that the floor had no carpet and breakfast was continental (brought every morning to my door), but that is understandable, as one of the COVID 19 restrictions. I’d highly recommend this hotel to budget tourists. I’d stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Vladimir_Led
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2021

Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your custom and committed to improve and takes every comments seriously.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2021 via mobile

Visited Edinburgh July 2021 for a weekend with my partner. Stayed at Cairn Hotel for 1 night.
Overall really nice hotel for the money and good location for sightseeing. We got taxis to the old town and back but probably only a 10-15 minute walk if you’re not as lazy as us! It’s also a 20 minute taxi away from portobello beach which is also worth a visit for a change from the city.

Hotel is basic but has everything you need, the room was well equipped with hair dryer, iron, kettle and had a really large wide bed. Bed and pillows were average comfort, good enough for a night or weekend. Shower good power and easy to use, shower screen leaked the water on the floor a little but this seems to be common in a lot of hotels.

We managed to park outside the hotel in the street, we were here on the weekend so it was free parking and no limitations but it is permit holders or Max 4 hour stay during the week and you have to pay.

Lots of nice cafes and restaurants nearby, we went to Mamma Roma which is a lovely Italian restaurant I’d definitely recommend.

Overall good hotel, good location and worth a visit to take in the Edinburgh sights!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joestravels1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Thank you Joestravels1408 for your feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2021

The lady with blonde hair that mostly works in the morning is the WORST. Very rude.
I’m not sure what’s her problem with us. Maybe because we’re ASIANS? Can’t help but think this way because evrytime I or we make inquiries with her she always give us that face and 1-liner answer but with locals or white customer she’s very accomodating with all smiles.
RUDE. UNPROFFESIONAL. RACIST

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KentoyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Thank you N5248MLkenm for your feedback.
We are sorry that you felt our service were not upto your expectation. The lady at the reception was only trying to explain and follow the covid protocols. I can assure you this wasn't a personal statement from her.
Our sincere apologies
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2021 via mobile

Having booked a superior room via booking.com me and my partner was really disappointed with room and facilities. The room was more like a small double there was nothing superior about it. We had to shuffle down beside the bed to get into it, the kettle had to be boiled on the bedside table as there was no plug facility where the actual tray was with your tea and coffee in it which was on a table, your breakfast was just left in a brown paper bag outside your room. Given what we had paid for 2 nights it was a very poor experience and when we also read the description of a superior room on their actual website, our room was nothing compared to what was stated on there. We also asked at reception if it was, but felt like we was fobbed off as the lady said it was and that it was due to it being an old Georgian building 🙄

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lougem009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Dear lougem009,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that our room were not upto your expectation. We are a budget 3 star property and our rates reflect in what we offer. Our sincere apologies if the room descriptions were misleading for you.
We take every comments seriously and committed to improve.
Kind Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2021

Loved this place. Stayed one night before a tour and found it perfect for our needs. Our room had everything with a lovely big bathroom as well.

Staff was really friendly and helpful. Covid meant that there was no breakfast bar however this worked wonderfully for us as breakfast was delivered early to our door and we could take our packed breakfast with us. Super happy about that!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adventuresinsolitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2021

Dear adventuresinsolitude,
Thank you for a wonderful feedback. Hospitality sector has been badly effected with Covid and we are trying to provide the best service possible with all the current restrictions and financial implications. Thank you for your understanding and the encouagement.
Kind Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews