We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nexthol
Glasgow, United Kingdom

Excellent stay, great value.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 3, 2021
We booked for one night using an Itison voucher. Situated in a residential street a 5-10 min walk away from Princess St it was a bargain. Ideal location for The Playhouse etc. Great little hotel, clean and had everything we needed and more for a shopping trip. The male receptionist could not have been more friendly and helpful, he’s a credit to the hotel. He accommodated our request for a twin room, which was in an apartment directly across the small street. No lift but that was not an issue for us, our apartment was at the very top of the building so provided lots of privacy and space - don’t recommend for anyone with mobility issues though. Complimentary snacks, drinks and toiletries were included.
Recommend especially for families looking for economical but clean, modern accommodation in the heart of the city. Unable to comment re hotel rooms but reception area and bar looked fine.
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your custom and committed to improve and takes every comments seriously.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$361
C$312
  • Booking.com
    C$312
  • Expedia.com
    C$312
  • Hotels.com
    C$312
0.9 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$154
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
1.0 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
C$175
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
C$121
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior view
C$362
  • Booking.com
    C$362
  • Expedia.com
    C$362
  • Hotels.com
    C$362
1.0 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$213
  • Expedia.com
    C$213
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$182
  • Hotels.com
    C$213
13.8 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
C$218
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
13.3 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
C$209
  • Priceline
    C$200
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$174
  • Expedia.com
    C$216
1.1 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Vio.com
    C$249
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn bedroom
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$123
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
14.2 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (1,754)
Filter reviews
1,754 results
Traveller rating
574
641
311
120
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
574
641
311
120
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews playhouse theatre single room continental breakfast omni centre city centre calton hill leith walk minute walk tea and coffee train station would stay again the ground floor reception staff bars and restaurants reception area comfy bed royal mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 1,754 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2021

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the cairn hotel, the hotel is located on a quiet street close to both the old and the new town, the staff were welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble , the room was clean and comfortable with everything you could need for stay, we had the continental breakfast delivered to our room , it was more than enough and tasty, hoping to return in the future

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2021

Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your custom and committed to improve and takes every comments seriously.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2021

Stayed here recently for a last minute overnight trip to Edinburgh. The hotel is well located (10 minute walk to Princes Street). The room was small and spotless clean. All COVID-19 measures in place. The facilities were really good. Kettle with tea/coffee etc, biscuits, crisps, bottled water. In the wardrobe there was an iron/board and a fan which was welcome during this hot spell of weather. En-suite was shower only, which suited us - toiletries provided. Cannot comment on the breakfast as we were there on a room only basis. We will certainly use this hotel again.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2021

Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your custom and committed to improve and takes every comments seriously.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2021

Stayed here with a friend and was pleasantly surprised. Hotel is in a quiet area but within walking distance to the main shops and has plenty of cafes bars and restaurants near by. Staff in the hotel were very pleasant and accommodating, the room we had was small but perfectly adequate . Breakfast at the minute is a Grab n go bag which isn’t worth it , much better to eat in one of the nearby cafes . I would definitely recommend this hotel .

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Ladieswholunch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2021

Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your custom and committed to improve and takes every comments seriously.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2021

We stayed here for one night and it was ideal for us. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and lovely, double bed was comfy with extra pillows available. Also, you had the standard hairdryer, full length mirror and from the waist up mirror in the room, plenty of hanging space for your clothes and shelves, iron and ironing table available. Kettle facilities with tea/coffee/sugars/sweeteners/UHT milk/crisps/biscuits and tele on wall (swing arm). Shower room was also clean (no bath which suited us), standard toiletries available, clean fluffy towels, good lighting and mirrors and plenty of toilet roll. We received a complimentary bottle of red merlot wine and breakfast was left outside in the morning for us which was a couple of grab and go paper bags, each one contained, pot of porridge (just add water), croissant, pain au chocolat, jam portion, yogurt, apple, paper plate, plastic knife, spoon and napkin - ideal for us. Finally, if you need a taxi (which we did several times) there is a device at reception that either you press or the staff and the taxi company are alerted, you receive a reference number and taxi was there within a few minutes. Location wise, you are walking distance to the new St James Quarter shopping centre, Edinburgh Playhouse and Waverley Train Station. I would recommend this hotel and would happily stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2021

Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your custom and committed to improve and takes every comments seriously.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2021

Had a very relaxing and enjoyable w/e stay in The Cairn Hotel. Quiet side street setting. Approximately 35 - 40mins from airport in taxi - £30.
Helpful and accommodating staff.
Breakfast is in a 'grab & go' bag. Not worth upgrading to. Plenty of cafes across the road.
No lift in hotel, only an issue if you have a heavy suitcase & on 3rd floor. Would definitely go back.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank jollydaysout
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2021

Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your custom and committed to improve and takes every comments seriously.
Regards
Kannan Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews